A Hair Cut from a retail box!!!

31 08 2008

I went to Target after the rain killed my chances of going to the Flee Market and/or a Marlins game and bought two $19.99 boxes of Upper Deck Artifacts and pulled a Jackie Kennedy Cut Signature/Hair Card! I also got a Joe Mauer and Price Fielder relic cards.

This is easily the best luck I have ever had busting wax. I actually had a box of Topps Chrome in hand but since there was only one and I wanted two of one product, I put it down and picked up the only two boxes of Artifacts at the store.

Video coming soon!

You cant steal it this time, guys...

You can't steal it this time, guys...

Actions

Information

25 responses

31 08 2008
Jeff W

Huge pull! I’d sell it though, something about other people’s hair really bothers me. Especially dead people.

31 08 2008
Mario A.

Thanks man. I am wondering if I should redeem first and then sell or just sell now.

The video is almost done.

31 08 2008
bapple2286

Mario-
Sorry that the Swap Shop was rained out. There is a card show next weekend at Dania Jai-Alia. Follow the link if you’re interested in attending…
http://www.daniascardshow.com/index.php
I’m going to try to stop by to see what they have to offer.

31 08 2008
Jason

Holy crap, dude. Great pull! Proof that retail /can/ have good things. Then again, I pulled an Alex Gordon AU from 2006 Topps, but unfortunately sold it just before the news of the cutout card hit. 🙂

31 08 2008
Brandon

That is an amazing pull! I’d probably keep it, but that would also depend on the offers received. The Kennedys are (obviously) very popular. I’ll be curious to see what you end up deciding. Congrats!

31 08 2008
rosschrisman2003

thats crazy congrats!!!!! i remember my first big pull like that. it was a willie mays auto #’ed 1/1.

31 08 2008
Mario A.

Wow, do you still have that card?

31 08 2008
jv

I would definitely sell if I pulled it.

But, I’ve never considered selling the redemption cards themselves. That’s a really interesting idea.

It’s twice as risky to redeem the redemption and sell it because it’s twice as likely that something could happen to it in the mail. Also, there’s the worry that you might not get the actual card you redeem but a replacement instead. Say, a Walter Mathau relic card of socks he wore in Dennis the Menace…

(That also brings up an interesting point I’m not sure of, do card companies ever replace redemptions of these high end celebrity cards with other cards the same way that they do with sports specific stuff?)

But, if you were to try to sell the redemption card itself, would buyers look at the above mentioned risk the same way and therefore be willing to pay even less for it?

Decisions, Decisions…

Either way, outstanding pull! Good luck with it however you decide to approach it…

31 08 2008
Bryan

holy cow!
I can’t believe you got that pull from a retail blaster!

31 08 2008
dayf

Dude! Epic pull! Congrats! I gotta watch that video, thats crazy you actually managed to get it on camera.

31 08 2008
rosschrisman2003

mario, no i sold it after a few weeks. i’m going to watch your video right now. looks fun.

1 09 2008
Ryan Cracknell

Congrats on the nice pull but unfortunately it’s not quite as cool as the redemption states. It’s still a 1/1, you still get the Jackie-O hair, but there’s no autograph. UD announced the redemption error back at the end of June:
http://tradercracks.blogspot.com/2008/06/bad-hair-day.html
http://sports.upperdeck.com/news/article.aspx?aid=4367

Sorry to be the bearer of somewhat bad news.

1 09 2008
Gellman

Holy crap, that is beyond awesome! I have never had that kind of luck.

All of these redemptions will be made, so I would factor that into your decision.

1 09 2008
UD

There will NOT be an autograph on the card. They announced this printing mistake on the redemptions not long after the product launched.

http://blogs.orlandosentinel.com/sports_sportsstuff/2008/06/upper-deck-piec.html

1 09 2008
Mario A.

Ryan, I think I remember now. Wonder if it will look something like this…

1 09 2008
Rob

In my opinion I would let Beckett auction it off with the other expensive items. They attract more attention and advertise the card. Take the money and run….I dont know about you but I am not into dead peoples hair.

2 09 2008
William Noetling

Congratulations on the pull.

Of course, the question is really, do you want to see the card and have it in your possession before you sell it?

If you are going to sell it that is, and I certainly would. ANYTHING related to the Kennedys, especially Jackie and JFK will have a certain intrinsic value, even DNA strands.

I’d be torn myself. Sure I’d like to see the card itself and hold it in my hand, but then again, the potential value is such that I wouldn’t want ANYTHING to happen to my possible rewards.

Plus, let’s face it, if I pulled that card, I’d sell it in a heartbeat, Baby needs a new pair of shoes!

2 09 2008
William Noetling

Besides, the JFK 1/1 sold for THREE GRAND! I dunno about you, but as a young father, wow that kind of bread could help out a lot.

2 09 2008
JBob

I wanna say keep it, since it’d be hard to pull a better card in a limetime but being a father with a history of car trouble i wouldn’t fault you for selling it.

2 09 2008
Mario A.

Jbob, I am going to redeem it, get it graded as “authentic”, spark up a little publicity and finally throw it up on eBay. At this time, it appears it’s no cut signature and just a hair ( 😦 ) but I am hoping I can get anywhere from $500-800 considering one of Jackie O’s dinner plates sold for $200 a few weeks ago.

*crosses fingers*

13 01 2009
ToddUncommon

This definitely has lasting appeal for some people, and I’d love to see what it looks like once you indeed receive it. If I were you, I absolutely would send it in to redeem it, and get it graded in preparation for an auction sale. Good to know that “[i]tems that contain human hair (such as lockets) as well as skulls and skeletons that are used for medical purposes may be listed on eBay”.

As an alternative, you could try to contact some wealthy nut jobs directly. After all who wouldn’t want to clone another Jackie O for a second time around of super fun fashion times? However, it seems that their results so far are dubious.

Can’t wait to hear the updates after the human remains card arrives!

13 01 2009
Mario A.

Todd, the card arrived and went on eBay with one fatal error: I talked about how ugly it looked and did zero promotion for it on Wax Heaven which resulted in a $200 sale price on eBay.

13 01 2009
ToddUncommon

Hi Mario. I agree–totally disappointing for such a great pull. I can’t see not having *any* appreciable card design at all. I mean, there are more photos of Jackie O in the world than that of UFOs (and that’s saying something).

I’m partial to this one. She seems happy, and happier than in any image they would likely put on a card with a piece of her hair.

I imagine that they may have tried to secure some image rights, but then gave up on cost. (That much more money than acquiring some of her HAIR? Odd.)

Who knows, maybe you could have sold it to Razor for more than $200. I’m sure that they could cut a signature from a genuine Jackie O Walgreen’s prescription or dry cleaning credit card receipt, cut the UD specimen out, and make a super-rare dual-relic Frankencard out of it.

22 06 2009
jesse

wow mario, ive been reading this blog and loving it, but after watching that video above i know this ones the best! PANTERA!!!! 😀 😀 😀

22 06 2009
Mario A.

Thanks, Jesse!

Leave a Reply

