…and so it begins (again)

10 10 2016

It’s been 6 long years since I wrote a blog on the original Wax Heaven. A lot has happened since then. I am not here to bore you with the rise and fall, that’s for another day. Instead, I am writing the first post to say that, I really don’t care about baseball cards anymore. I barely even care about Jose Canseco. Yeah, I still have my thousands of cards but I have finally moved on. Well, I guess not really because here I am at Midnight writing a post about, you guessed it, Jose Canseco and a baseball card.

Just when I thought I was out …

Below is a card of Jose Canseco that belongs in my collection. No, not the insanely awesome Buyback Autograph but the orginal worthless Topps Ames card produced in 1989. Does anyone reading this even remember Ames? I do. I purchased my first Jose Canseco from one of their stores in South Florida in 1990. I thought I was buying a pack of playing cards but instead found a pack of Ames All-Stars and one card in particular stuck out to a 10-year old kid who never watched a game of baseball or knew who Jose Canseco was. I was more into wrestling but Jose’s bulging muscles looked better suited in the WWF (now, WWE) than in MLB, anyway.

The card below was released a year before my baseball card (and Jose) obsession began. It was worthless. This was the type of card you’d get in a trade or something you’d buy if you couldn’t afford a product like Upper Deck. The glossy finish was nice, if I remember correctly and the design is actually kinda neat 17 years later. Keep in mind I haven’t seen a baseball card design in about 2 years. Sometimes less is more. In this case, this card actually looks awesome despite the lazy photograph.

As for the 2016 version with Jose’s worthless signature. I mean, c’mon, he signs all the time …. I really don’t want or need it. I’m happy with my 1989 version for now. I used to be a “completist” but with the amazing custom cards being produced by Tan Man and the insane amount of parallels and rare cards released in the past 5 years, that mission is 100% impossible.

For now, I am back. I wrote 145 posts in October of 2008. That’s an insane amount of time to devote to baseball cards, which is why my ex left me. I now have a very good life and a beautiful daughter so don’t expect numbers like that ever again. I may post once a month, maybe more but for now, Wax Heaven is back yet again.

-Mario A.




2 responses

10 10 2016

Nice! That Ames design is damn sweet for an oddball.

Welcome back to the cardsphere!

11 10 2016
Tim Hertzog

MARIO!!! Missed ya buddy! Sorry to hear about the life changes (I can certainly understand and relate) but it does sound like things are working out better for you and that is good news! How could you ever forget the ames, jamesway, and kmart series of those cards. On a weird note how many people actually remember those stores?

Leave a Reply

