A Day of Fun at the Dania Card Show

7 02 2010

Author: Mario Alejandro

For a collector of sports cards, there’s just nothing quite like attending a well-organized and active card show. As popular as collecting is on the Internet thanks to popular message boards and blogs, it just isn’t that huge in every state.

For example, in the early 90s I had four card shops within a 30 minute drive for me to choose from. Today, there is just one within 30 miles and 75% of the shop is dedicated to comic books. That’s why I absolute love checking out the monthly Dania Card Show run by Lou.

My only time attending the show was early last year. Unfortunately, it was under the worst of circumstances. For starters, I only had about $15 dollars to spend and thanks to the facilities’ awesome nachos, I was left with about $7 dollars to work with.

After hours of going through boxes hoping to find a Jose Canseco card I needed (I found one the entire day), I severely injured my back thanks to hours of crouching over short tables and ended up at a local hospital barely able to move all the while getting bitched out by my significant other.

This time around, I was fortunate enough to have a fresh C-note to work with just in case by some miracle someone brings along a box of Jose Canseco cards I might need. I also went sans the significant other and while that may be just a little depressing, at least I can take comfort in those nachos.

Show Review:

Atmosphere – B+

Lots of collectors, young and old and a surprising amount of females made their way to the Dania Card Show. Some of the dealers seemed less than thrilled to be there, though.

Variety of products – A

Tons of new, unopened box and “junk” wax to be found, as well as modern and vintage cards. There were even unexpected items like G1 Transformers and original GI Joe figures, as well as sports related books and signed memorabilia.

Overall – A

This show was much bigger than the one I attended in May of 2008 and had plenty of collectors buying and selling. As expected, new wax was overpriced but there were plenty of deals to be found on autographs and game-used relics. If you collect popular guys like Ripken Jr. and Pujols, you could have spent thousands of dollars.

Below is a few of the pictures snapped by my trusty camera. Thanks to Lou for putting on another awesome show for South Florida collectors. You can expect some much better photos from the 2010 Marlins Fan Fest next week.


Actions

Information

16 responses

7 02 2010
waxwombat

Those DO look like good nachos…

7 02 2010
deal

hmm. I guess your card show didn’t get cancelled because of snow. I am only sulking a little.

7 02 2010
ny_hitman_23

It’s been years since I’ve been to a card show:-/

7 02 2010
unclemoe

I like the GI Joe photo where the dude crossed out Japanese and replaced it with Chinese. Nice.

moe.

7 02 2010
hallofdehere

I was mad I missed the video game show that they had last weekend. I saw the remnants of some of the games stored there this week,and it would have been AWESOME to play all of those games again.

7 02 2010
wickedortega

looked like fun…. hopefully we’ll run into each other @ Marlins Fanfest next weekend!!

7 02 2010
hoopography.com

Gotta love the G.I. Joes. Goooooooo Jooooooooooooooooe!!!!!

8 02 2010
Tim H.

Definitely good looking NACHOS. My son would have them eaten in about 2 minutes. My daughter….30 secs.
I see a lot of 1st generation transformers on the table. I would’ve been there in a heartbeat as those are some of my favorites.

8 02 2010
30-Year Old Cardboard

It’s great to see you collecting again Mario! I missed this card show, but I do plan on attending in March. Maybe we can meet up…

8 02 2010
Jeff

Gotta love those dealers that are less than thrilled to be there!!!! Then they complain that sales are slow or about something else about the show.

8 02 2010
Jacob

Card shows are always fun because they can satisfy some of the immediate desire to see a lot of different cards and sports memorabilia. In Charlotte where I live, there is a show every 2-3 months I attend. The only downside is the crick in my neck for a day or so after the show. But I have fun every time.

9 02 2010
J Nunez

Can’t wait for Marlins Fanfest this weekend! BTW… For the folks here in south Florida, the fish will be at the Dave and Busters in Dolphin Mall this Wednesday from 6 to 9pm… Hope to see you guys out there…
-J

17 02 2010
DDoubleplay/Paul R. Destralo

Mario welcome back my friend! I found something that you might like send me your mailing address and I’ll send it.( Yes its Jose Canseco)
Cheers Paul

17 02 2010
Eggrocket

I miss the days when you could find a pretty decent show every month. Shows were an event.

16 03 2010
Mike

Hi the Dania Jai Alai monthly sports show has now expanded into an all out collector’s show with Sports, Toys, Comic Books, Dolls and much more! join my facebook to keep updated!
http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?ref=profile&id=100000613742510
Mike =)

18 03 2010
jesse crusade

super mario!
I have not been around in forever, thought you gave it up.. good to see you writing

Leave a Reply

