The Wax Heaven Official Brand

6 12 2009

While I’m not exactly thrilled to be walking away from Wax Heaven, I have to say I am somewhat relieved that I won’t be able to do my End of the Year special, titled ‘The Waxxies’. It’s just a lot of work.

Rather than focus on the best of 2009 I figured it would be good to write about the best product of all-time, in my humble opinion. While it would be hard not to give the award to Pinnacle Brands for their many great releases, I’ve decided to think outside the (wax) box.

I believe the best brand ever to be released came from Fleer / Skybox. The first release came in 1995 and was simply titled ‘Emotion’. The following year it was ‘Emotion-XL’ but it was in 1997 that they really came into their own as E-X 2000.

To this day, I have never seen a trading card quite like it. It truly is one of the greatest, most artistic releases to come out of The Hobby and although Upper Deck now owns the name, I don’t think they will ever be done “right” again.

You can check out a box break of 1997 E-X 2000 HERE. You can also more coverage here. E-X returned in 1998 with a design that was way over the top and not quite as great as the years before. Although the magic was clearly gone, parallels from the 1998 release make a killing on eBay.

Below is a sample gallery featuring the ‘Emotion’ brand. Each year is represented and today you can find unopened boxes hovering for around $40 dollars on eBay and sometimes even less at card shows. If you love great photography and truly unique card designs, any of these four issues are sure to please.


Actions

Information

4 responses

6 12 2009
JT

I like the original Emotion (far left), but I’m not crazy about the design of the rest.

6 12 2009
John

1995 Emotion is my first completed set… It’s not worth anything to collectors monetarily, but truly the first design that really got me hooked, I could never let it go. … the weight of the cards, the glossy overlam… great photography and the bold design… truly unique!… I was Hooked.

and as a Clevelander it was made better by the best year my Indians ever had – coupled with Cal Ripkin’s great achievements, the collection reminds me of how much baseball is a part of my psyche …

6 12 2009
sanjosefuji

I agree… I love this Fleer/Skybox line… I never broke any Emotion baseball, but I still have my 94/95 Emotion basketball set somewhere. I love how it eventually evolved into the EX line. The acetate cards from EX are some of my favorites of all time.

6 12 2009
JBob

I love the 97 but the paralells are too expensive for my taste

Leave a Reply

