A Special Thank You Contest

4 12 2009

Yesterday afternoon, I received a package from Topps Company which included sample boxes of T-206 and Heritage High Number Series. Unfortunately, I will not be able to write my usual reviews so instead I’d like to close out the year by holding one final contest.

Below is a 1/1 printing plate pulled from the box of T-206. It features some guy named Albert. I don’t have his stats available but I hear he’s supposed to be very good. He’s no 16-year old super prospect and probably very few people know him but at least’s it’s a 1/1, right?

Anyway, to enter the contest simply leave a comment with your name, location, and how long you have been reading Wax Heaven. There are no right answers or preferential treatment given, as the winner will be chosen through Random.org on Monday morning. Make sure to get your entry in by Sunday night for a chance to win.

PS.The Razor contest was never decided due to lack of time. I am sending all three prizes to non-sports card blogger, Trader Crack’s so that he may decide a winner.

UPDATE – The winner is SWAG


Actions

Information

236 responses

4 12 2009
Madyankees

Aik Sheng here from Singapore. Being reading wax heaven for a year now. Thx for the contest Mario

4 12 2009
The Ghost of Cory Snyder

Eric
Columbus, OH

Man, it seems like I’ve been reading for awhile. Since I got back into the hobby a couple years ago I do believe.

4 12 2009
JBob

Jason Hartigan, from Ohio. Ive been reading Wax Heaven since “where have all the donruss gone.” I still have an original Wax Heaven baseball card.

4 12 2009
Paul

Paul in Minnesota, been reading for two years I think.

4 12 2009
Joe from the D

Joe from MI. Been reading you for 1 1/2 years or so.

4 12 2009
Raymond Phillips

Bloomfield, NE

I have been following this blog for well over one year.

4 12 2009
Matthew Pollock

Matt from Kansas. I’ve been reading for about a year and a half now.

4 12 2009
Charlie

Charlie in Chicago. 1 1/2 years, but apparently that’s coming to an end. Wtf?

4 12 2009
Cesar T

Hey Mario! I’ve been readin Wax Heaven almost religously for about 2 years. Its been a great source of card information as well as hobby humor!
Cesar

4 12 2009
rosschrisman2003

Andrew from Selinsgrove, PA. I’ve been reading for almost 2 years.

4 12 2009
VOTC

Year and 1/2 bro. You and Gellman were the inspiration to start VOTC

4 12 2009
Chris Mays

Loganville, GA

I’ve been reading for two years I think, but I don’t remmeber for sure.

Thanks for the blog Mario!

4 12 2009
JoshSamBob

Hey Mario – JoshSamBob, from outside Boston, MA. I’ve been reading for over a year now… not sure how much longer.

Sorry to hear you won’t be blogging any more – as I’ve mentioned, yours is the only card blog I still read.

– JSB

4 12 2009
Dave

My name is Dave, I am from Toronto, ON, Canada, and I love this blog and have been reading it for a little over a year.

4 12 2009
Slette

Eric in St Paul – your blog is what got me back into the hobby 18 months ago.

4 12 2009
Peter

Peter from High Point, NC and I have been reading Wax Heaven for a year and a half.

4 12 2009
Bryan

Bryan
Charlotte NC
I have enjoyed reading Wax Heaven (almost every day) since I got back into card collecting in Jan. 2008

4 12 2009
Fraser Bartell

Fraser from Great Falls, Montana. Reader since April 2008. I’ve really enjoyed reading your posts, sorry to hear that you can not continue. Good luck moving forward.

4 12 2009
Greg Layton

Greg from Grand Rapids, MI. Been reading since I got back into the hobby around January.

4 12 2009
John

John Kovach
Eastlake, Ohio

Found your site only this last spring… I check it on average – 3 times a day … Part of my daily life already

Thanks for the best of the best

4 12 2009
beardy

Greg
Baltimore, MD
I have been reading since late 2007, and am sad to hear that Wax Heaven will no longer be around. Hopefully you are giving it up to move on to bigger and better things.

4 12 2009
Lbsbigbro22

Gunner from the East Bay in California. Been reading for about when I got back into cards September 09.

4 12 2009
Hackenbush

Hi, David from Chicago. I’ve been reading for about a year.

4 12 2009
GrandCards

Dan from Baltimore, MD–I’ve been reading for a year and a half, give or take. Good luck to you.

4 12 2009
Graham

Graham from Glasgow, Scotland. Been reading Waxheaven for about one and a half years.

4 12 2009
slangon

Slangon from New Jersey. I’ve been enjoying Wax Heaven for 8 months or there abouts.

4 12 2009
reoddai

Matthew, Ontario (Canada) & about 8 months. But I went back a little ways into the archives.

4 12 2009
reoddai

Matthew, Ontario (Canada) & about 8 months. But I went back a little ways into the archives. (forgot my contact info in the last post)

4 12 2009
Anonymous

Saket from Scarsdale, NY..Been reading for about a yr

4 12 2009
Adam

Adam from Broomfield, Colorado.

I’ve only been reading for a few months.

4 12 2009
Jay

Since you started.

What’s going on?

Hope everything is O.K man.

Email Me.

Mojo

4 12 2009
MetsManiacinNH

Chris from Swanzey NH. Been reading faithfully for over 18 months.

4 12 2009
johnlaf

John LaFreniere from Lubbock, TX… I have been reading for about 9 months now… everyday! I’m gonna miss it man!

4 12 2009
Derek

Derek from Fargo, ND. I’ve been reading your blog for approximately 10 months.

4 12 2009
jim (gcrl)

jim in saint paul, minnesota. reading for about 18 months.

4 12 2009
deal

Looking forward to hearing about the new endeavors.

Loyal Reader

Paul From Phungo
Wayne PA

maybe two years. can’t remember

4 12 2009
jl

Joe Morrisville PA reading the site since I found accidentally on youtube and been checking daily ever since about 1yr and a half, say it ain’t so that the heaven will be no more,

4 12 2009
JDs Daddy

Mike from Portland, OR.

Been reading since I started collecting in May. I am very dismayed to hear that you are leaving.

4 12 2009
chris OK

Chris from Malta, NY
Reading since May 09 so 7 months
Wax Heaven was my gateway to the blogging cardboard world
Thank you!, Thank you!!,Thank you!!!

4 12 2009
Ryan

Ryan Jones from Northern California…been reading for just over a year. Thx for the contest.

4 12 2009
metsthoughts

Brian from Brooklyn, NY. Been reading for about 18 months.

Best wishes, Mario.

4 12 2009
McCann Can Triple

Sarah from Edgefield, South Carolina

I have been reading for a few months now.

4 12 2009
Jnunez06

Julius Nunez
Miami Beach,FL
Reading since July 2009

4 12 2009
Carl Crawford Cards

Paul, Grand Forks ND, 8 months.

4 12 2009
kman

Kevin from Vancouver WA. Reading for almost 2 years. Say it aint so!

4 12 2009
Peter Graham

I have been reading Wax Heaven for about 2 years. Love the website. Thanks for having the contests that you always have. Keep up the great work. I live in Mundelein IL,

4 12 2009
Dustin

Dustin from Kalamazoo, Michigan. I’ve been reading Wax Heavan for only about three months. And what’s this about closing the site? Even though I’ve only been reading for a while, I will greatly miss it😦

4 12 2009
gritz76

gritz76 from IL
I’ve been reading since you’ve been writing or at least close to it.
Just remember if you quit, Beckett shall rule the hobby once more!

4 12 2009
SteveTX

Sad to hear you’re ending it all! This blog is one of the first stops of my morning and I’ve enjoyed reading your insight on the hobby over the last couple of years. Hope all is going well with you and we all support you no matter what endeavor you choose!

Steve E. (aka SteveTX) in Austin, TX
Reading for about 2 years now.

4 12 2009
Play at the Plate

I’ve been reading since I discovered the card blogosphere. I’m still shocked Wax Heaven is going away.

4 12 2009
Play at the Plate

Don’t count this one but in my shock I forgot to put my location. Dallas, Tx

4 12 2009
CPAdave

Dave in Stevens, PA (Lancaster area)
I’ve been checking out the sight for about 1.5 years.

It is shocking and saddening to hear you are closing shop at the end of the year. You will surely be missed by all.

4 12 2009
ibleedbrooklyn

Jesse
Pembroke Pines,FL

I have been enjoying Wa Heaven,i believe, since 07 which is the reason i started collecting again

4 12 2009
Tim

Tim from Bloomington, IN

I’ve been reading since about August of this year when I came back to the hobby. It seems a lot of people came back then, which is so cool (and a weiiird coincidence haha).

4 12 2009
Dan

Dan from Berkeley, CA

I’ve been reading Wax Heaven since you received that letter from Dick Perez (I think 2007)

4 12 2009
night owl

Greg from H20town, New York.

Since June 2008. You’re one of the originals that inspired me to start. And I’m sad now.

4 12 2009
Dan X.

Dan in Charleston, SC. I have been visiting for 1.5 years. This sucks as I checked in at least 2-3 times a day.

4 12 2009
TJ

TJ in Portland, OR. I’ve only been reading your blog for about a year, but you are one of the reasons I’ve been back it to collecting. It bums me out that you are shutting down and I hope everything is OK with you.

4 12 2009
Beaverman3001

Jeff from Jacksonville, FL. Been reading about a year since I returned to the hobby. This will definitely make things feel weird now.

4 12 2009
Newspaperman

Ben, Santa Clara, CA

Been reading about 18 months.

4 12 2009
Ben Goetting

Ben from Los Angeles.
I have been reading most of this year as I’ve gone from casually buying cards again to being a full blown collector. Sad to see you go.

4 12 2009
Andrew N

Andrew from Illinois
I’ve been reading since last July. Really good stuff, I’ll miss this blog.

4 12 2009
Slowdog

Wax Heaven has been my first electronic stop every morning for at least a year, with periodic readership for about a year before that. Thank you for turning me on to 1997 Pinnacle Certified and many enjoyable reads. Best of luck to you, Mario, I will miss the card comraderie.

Tom (Pittsburgh)

4 12 2009
RedMeansGo27

Dan from Champaign, IL.

I’ve been reading since June of this year.

4 12 2009
ManOfSteal

Brad in Sacramento, CA. I’ve been reading since December 2007, right before I started my blog.

4 12 2009
Matt

Matt from Modesto, CA. I’ve been reading for a little over a year since coming back to the hobby after being away for almost 20 years. Thanks for helping to rekindle the passion. My wife and bank account do not share that gratitude.

4 12 2009
Lambo

Lambo from Germany.

Reading till almost the beginning. I´m still proud I was part of one of your storys.

4 12 2009
calicokidcards

Joe in YO, NY

Been visiting for 2 years now.

4 12 2009
Zachary F

My name is Zack, I live in Apollo PA. I have been reading your blog for about a year and a half. Check it once a day to see your reviews, and opinions about the newest products, and the other things you cover. Thanks for the contest Mario…

4 12 2009
Nathaniel Edwards

This is Nate from Evanston, Illinois, and I’ve been reading for about six months.

4 12 2009
mike

Mike M. from las vegas i’ve been reading for about a year

4 12 2009
Bryce

Bryce
Connecticut USA
Reading 3 months

4 12 2009
Paul Kosman

I’ve been reading daily since October, 2008. Blogs like yours inspired me to go ahead with Wrigley Wax.

4 12 2009
o62omega

Erick
Canton, NC

Been reading since you were pimpin the site on myspace in the begining. Pretty sure we found each other on Dan LeBatards myspacepage.. hence my first Waxheaven name…FAKEHORSEMUFFINS.. Been Fun bro

4 12 2009
Mr. Scott

Mr. Scott
Montrose, NY
18 Months

The only blog I check daily… I will miss it…. Good luck Mario

4 12 2009
Matt

Matt
Huntsville, AL

I’ve been reading almost daily for 18 months or so.

I’m sorry that my most regularly-visited blog will be disappearing. It’s amazing how much your discussion of the pursuit of Jose Canseco cards made me nostalgic for the 80’s and 90’s.

4 12 2009
Everett Wensel

Everett Wensel
Erie, PA

been reading this blog for close to the last year now. I will miss reading this on a daily basis.

4 12 2009
ryanmemorabilia

Mike
Baltimore, MD

I have been reading Wax Heaven for about a year or so.

4 12 2009
Don

Don in Seattle WA, been reading over a year now. Love your site.

4 12 2009
RoofGod

Andy

Brighton, MI

I’ve been reading your blog since March of 2007.

4 12 2009
Salveste

Steve A. in Alexandria, VA
you’re the only blog I’ve read religiously for over a year now!
Best of luck in the future, you have been a huge inspiration to many!

4 12 2009
Alec

Alec, Lakewood, OH
I’ve been reading since sometime in the summer of 2008, and will greatly miss all of your well-written and incredible posts, and wish you luck with the rest of your life too.

4 12 2009
AdamE

Adam
West Plains, MO

About a year and a half.

4 12 2009
Tommy

Tommy, indianapolis indiana, ive been reading waxheaven daily for 1 year now! love it, keep blogging!

4 12 2009
Bryan Fitzgerald

Bryan Fitzgerald. Salem Oregon.
I have been reading Waxheaven since it was under a 1,000 page views.
Please keep Waxheaven going, you are an asset to the Hobby world and would be missed more than you realize.

4 12 2009
oldschoolbreaks

John from Arizona here. Like many others, I wouldn’t have a blog if it weren’t for you. I’ve been reading for more than 1.5 years now. Good luck Mario.

4 12 2009
wickedortega

Wow….. Closing the door huh?? You will be missed my friend. Thank you for a great read everyday…. I’ve been reading since Dec. 08, i wish you the best of luck in everything you do and i’m sure i’ll see you at a Marlins game here or there…. A tip of the hat to the number one card blogger out there!! Thanks Mario!!!

Alfredo aka WickedOrtega
My past time…. I love it!!
West Palm Beach,FL 561

4 12 2009
toolboxroom

Kevin from Waynesboro Va
Been reading for about a year.

4 12 2009
Brad Pinnick

Brad Pinnick from Billings, MT here. Been reading for a couple of years now and definitely will be sad to see you go.

4 12 2009
arfmax

Ethan, Vernon Hills, IL, I have been reading the site for about 18 months, and am saddened to hear that you will be shutting it down…

-arfmax

4 12 2009
Brandon

My name is Brandon. I am from California and have been reading your blog for roughly a year and a half. It is absolutely my favorite trading card blog and I always know I’m in for a great read.

4 12 2009
milwaukeeb

Matthew J. Prigge
Milwaukee Wisconsin
I have been reading for about a year… never miss a new post!

4 12 2009
grant

Grant From Vancouver,WA been readind since I got back into the hobby around one and a half years. It sucks the site is shutting down but I’m sure you have a good reason. Good luck with future ventures!

4 12 2009
Ted Dziuba

Mario, my name is Ted Dziuba and I live in Malden, MA. I have been getting back into cards in the last year and stumbled onto your site only a few months ago. I have been checking daily ever since to see what you have to say and I’m definitely bummed that you wont be posting anymore. Thanks for all the great content and best of luck in your future endeavors. Take care and God bless –Teddy

4 12 2009
dylansharek

Dylan Sharek
Charleston, SC
I think I’ve been reading since the beginning. Blogging is a demanding hobby and no one has done it better than you; no one has made it farther than you; no one has accomplished as much and become as recognizable and synonymous with the hobby. I wish I could attach a picture of my bookmarks bar… I haven’t collected baseball cards in years, but your blog is one of 8 links that I check every, single day. I hope all is well and that you might pop in and support our reading habits again some day.

4 12 2009
Ed

Ed. From Baltimore. Been reading about 6 months.

4 12 2009
Marvin Jung

Hi Mario – it’s me Marvin. I’ve been reading Wax Heaven for just about a year!🙂 I live in Dublin, CA.

4 12 2009
WildWill

Hi Mario, Will from The Budget Collector. I’m in Los Angeles and I’ve been reading about 18 months

4 12 2009
Sooz

Sooz from South Jersey!!!! (I still hate saying that).

I have no idea how long I have been reading. My guess is somewhere around one year.

4 12 2009
Jeremy stubbs

I’m Jeremy from Hudson Florida I’ve been viewing the sight for 2 years. I’ll miss the site. When it’s gone.

4 12 2009
worldwideed

Ed Wahlgren
Sedro-Woolley, Wa.
I’ve been reading the site regularly for about a year. Really gonna miss it.

4 12 2009
Brian

Brian from Watkinsville, Georgia

Been following your blog for 1 1/2 years. First I started reading Bad Wax and came to this website shortly after. Great blog!!! Sorry to see it come to an end. Good luck with your future endeavors.

4 12 2009
don grimes

been a follower(from Buffalo) for over a year…………….sorry to hear you are going to stop the blog!
Don

4 12 2009
tony mcdonald

Hi Mario, Tony from Newport, Wales in the UK. Been reading this since I got back into collecting in about May 09. Sad to see you go.
All the best.

4 12 2009
Fabe

Fabian from California & I’ve been reading the blog for about 4 months.

4 12 2009
Drew

Drew M from New York, the concrete jungle where dreams are made of! I’ve been reading for probably a year now, awesome blog, you’re the best Mario! Thanks for the awesome entries and hope to continue reading in the future

4 12 2009
Marty

Marty from Texas. Been back in the sports card hobby for about 6 months and I’ve been reading Wax Heaven for about that long.

4 12 2009
PunkRockPaint

Travis P. from San Diego, I have been reading your blog for about a week… for the the years before that I only clicked on it for the pictures.

You are one of my inspirations. If I only had your skillpower (skills and willpower, I created that word for you), I might post more than once a week.

4 12 2009
Matt Harwood

Hey Mario, this is Matt from Indiana you are the first blog I had ever read. What brought me in was a box break with your wife holding cards up to her chest. From there Wax Heaven has been my daily site hit. I have traded cards with you, I have exchanged emails. I really dont want the card you are giving away. I am just saddened by the news that your are shutting it down. Just wanted you to know how much your blog has added to my life. Thank you for two great years. It will never be the same without you around.

4 12 2009
Michael S.

Mike From Massachusetts, I have been reading for the past year and half daily.

4 12 2009
Sharpe

Jim, from Minneapolis, and I’ve been reading for 7 months

4 12 2009
Swanssy

John from Des Moines, IA. I have only been reading a month and very sad to hear the blog will be shutting down.

4 12 2009
sruchris

Chris from Ohio. I hope everything is ok with you and your family. I’ve been a loyal follower of Wax Heaven since the days when you and Tatiana would record box breaks. The card blogsphere will truly miss you!

4 12 2009
Michael

Michael from Ohio. I’ve been reading for about 6 or 7 months now. Very sad to hear you are stopping.

4 12 2009
Offy

Another Mike from Massachusetts. Been reading since 2007 when I got back into the hobby. Became a dedicated reader since somewhere in 2008.

Mario, you and Wax Heaven will be missed. Not many people have done as much for the blogging community as you have without very much personal gain. Good luck in whatever it is that you decide to do next.

4 12 2009
Brian

I’ve been reading several times a day for over a year. Sorry to see you go, this is by far the best blog i’ve come across😦

4 12 2009
Jordan

Jordan from Cherry Hill NJ,

I’ve been reading since January of this year. Sad to see you go, Mario. I’ll miss the blog

4 12 2009
Dave

Mario – I’m sad to hear that Wax Heaven is ending. I’ve been reading for almost 2 years (since about February 2008). I hope that everything is OK, and I wish you the best of luck in all that you do in the future! Thanks for keeping us all entertained and informed for so long.

Dave
Apex, NC

4 12 2009
ig4mer

Raymond from NYC. I have been reading this site for at least a year. Hope all is well.

4 12 2009
Tim Craft

Tim Craft from DuQuoin, IL. Been reading for about 2 years now.

4 12 2009
Anthony K.

Anthony from Tex…well, Germany right now😉

Love the blog…hate to see it go (if and when it does go).

Been following since the BMB.

4 12 2009
ddarko

Jason from LA.

Shocked and sorry to see this site go! It’s been on my must read list for the past 8 months or so. Whatever the circumstances, I wish you the best of luck Mario!

4 12 2009
voluntarheel

Russ From NC.

I hope there is a positive reason for the site’s ending. I only read it for the articles you know.

4 12 2009
Aaron S

Aaron from Iowa, only 6 moths, super bummed to hear you’re closing up shop

4 12 2009
Chris

Chris From Chicago. I’ve been reading wax heaven since December of last year. almost a full year now.

4 12 2009
jesse

Jesse, Washington state.. reading for about 10 months here. love the stuff, it sucks there will be no more wax heaven😥

4 12 2009
ernestreyes

Ernest from Costa Mesa, CA and I’ve been reading for at least a year and a half.

Thank you Mario for a great blog.

4 12 2009
dkrill

Dan, from Rochester, NY (nowhere near NYC!)

I have been a follower, reader and supporter for almost two years. Your blog is what inspired me to open my own, but it falls far short. Sorry to hear that you won’t be doing Wax Heaven anymore.

4 12 2009
Chris

Chris, Indianapolis, IN, About a year now. I enjoy reading the blog. Sad to see you go. Thanks and good luck.

4 12 2009
Brian

i forgot to say im from St. Louis, MO

4 12 2009
Chris

Chris
Chantilly, VA

Been reading everyday since Jan. I love this site and wish it won’t go away. Maybe have three or four contributing writers for this site and do an article every now and then?

4 12 2009
Ricardo

Ricardo from San Diego, CA

been here about 6 months or so…

4 12 2009
Tim

Tim
Orem, Utah

Been reading for a year and a half or so…going to be sad to see you go!

4 12 2009
Jon, Rapid City, SD

I’ve been reading for 8 months. I collected heavily from ’83-’91 (yay! junk!) – but when I stumbled upon your blog, I fell in love with the hobby all over again. I don’t want to say how much I’ve spent in these last months, but I’ve had a blast. Thanks for helping me rediscover my love of collecting!

4 12 2009
Tammy Montgomery

Tammy
Raleigh, NC

I have been reading Wax Heaven for a little over a year now..honestly, I hope you can keep things going…no matter what happens to the site, I wish you the best of luck in all you do…

4 12 2009
Joe L.

Joe
Buffalo, NY

I’ve been a fan of wax Heaven for about 7 months now, it sucks that you’re moving on, I hope everything is alright.

Thanks,
Joe

4 12 2009
Mark Mosley

Mark Mosley
Durham, NC
since Novemeber of 2007

4 12 2009
Anonymous

Mario, your request to shut down the site is denied. David Joseph Smith, Woodinville, Washington.

4 12 2009
gobigpelf34

Hi mario, Anthony A in East Rockaway NY, Ive been reading since early 2008.and its been fun. god bless and thank you.

4 12 2009
Sophie

Sophie from Ohio and I’ve been reading for about a year now

4 12 2009
Mike Newman

13 months…
Mike Newman
from CT!

4 12 2009
Jason C

Fellow Canseco Fan-
I’ve been reading your work on a daily basis for a little better than a year. I don’t want to figure out what I could do with time normally reserved for Wax Heaven so please don’t make me do it.

Jason C
Osseo, WI

4 12 2009
TGray

TGray – Overland Park, KS – Been reading for about a year…

4 12 2009
David

David in Westchester NY I’ve been reading for a Year!

4 12 2009
the sewingmachineguy

Say it aint so…
Been reading for a long time. You and Dayf brought me back to collecting.

4 12 2009
Tom

Tom D., k
Kelseyville, Ca.

Reading for almost a year.

4 12 2009
Jumper

Shawn from Chandler, Az. I have been reading Wax Heaven for just about a year. I am pretty sad to see that you are shutting down.

4 12 2009
Drew

Woah, already entered but didn’t notice you were leaving. Please don’t shut down the site, leave it up so we could at least read some older posts once in a while. That stinks for me, but for you, good luck with whatever comes to you next, whatever that may be. Drew

4 12 2009
Timmy

Tim Keegan, New York, 2 years

4 12 2009
Joel

Joel
Massachusetts
A year or so
Thanks!

4 12 2009
packaddict

I’m Dan from Portland, Oregon. Been reading for over a year.

4 12 2009
Karb916

Hey Mario, Robert B from ND. Been following for a little over a year now. Sucks to hear it may be ending soon.

4 12 2009
ned hall

I have been reading wax heaven for about a year and a half. I live in the fairmount section of philadelphia . thank you for the great blog mario good luck with your next venture.

4 12 2009
jesse again

oh yeah, and one other thing..

Ive had “Waxheaven4life” tatood on my balls for few months now. . . what do I do? please stay!

4 12 2009
Howard W

I have been reading this site for as long as you have been writing about collecting Canseco cards.

Hwilensky
Levittown, NY

4 12 2009
Jesse

I’m Jesse from California and I’ve been reading your blog for about a year, but after I started reading, I took a loot at most of the older posts.

4 12 2009
Ken

Hi Mario.
Ken from Seattle.
I’ve been reading for maybe a year. Your blog was the first one I found and it is one of the best.

I’m sad to hear you are leaving. I hope it’s not a health or family issue.

I wish you well. You will be greatly missed.

4 12 2009
giantsfan1000

Hi Mario,

Austin from California. I’ve been reading Wax Heaven for just about 8 months now and love it! Reading the constant new posts helps me get through the day…

4 12 2009
Max J.

max jackson bay area california
i have been reading since mid 2008 i will really miss it thanks for all the great posts

4 12 2009
dayf

Dave
Acworth GA
Since 11/05/07
Hope everything is all right and good luck in your future endeavors!

4 12 2009
Shue

Sean living in Arlington, VA. Between you, chemgod, and gellman. . . have been reading you guys every day this year. Enjoy getting back into a childhood hobby.

4 12 2009
Nick T

Mario I will miss the blog good luck in the future!!

Nick T
N Prov RI

4 12 2009
David Smith

Mario, this is David Joseph Smith from Woodinville, Washington again. I’ve been reading you for almost 2 years. As I wrote above, your request to shut down the site is denied. This decision is not subject to review.

4 12 2009
Robert

I am Robert in Albuquerque. I’ve been reading Wax Heaven for about a year.

4 12 2009
Submarine Shane

Submarine Shane from Winston Salem N.C…..I have been with you (Wax Heaven) for a good bit, I followed you with Beckett and I am the one and only “Man on the Street”. That moniker will have to be retired if the site goes away. I have shown off many box break results here and you got the exclusive on the Dr. Seuss Cut Signature…..way before Beckett put it in their magazine.

4 12 2009
30-Year Old Cardboard

Wax Heaven was part of my inspiration to get back into the hobby. Mario, you are a friend, and you will be missed.

I haven’t missed a post in 19 months.

Brian, Coral Springs, FL

4 12 2009
patsearcher

Greg, the Pat Searcher, from Elmira, NY

I’ve been reading Wax Heaven since June 2008.

4 12 2009
bob enlow

Bob E…Blaine Minnesota…about a year

4 12 2009
cardboard warrior

Gary from Wisconsin. Enjoyed reading for about 1-1/2 years.

4 12 2009
Roy-Z

Roy from New York. I’ll be honest, I’ve only been around for a few months. Wish I could have gotten to know Wax Heaven better. Best of luck.

4 12 2009
hallofdehere

Mike Safety Harbor Florida and this is a sad day……I hope everything is well, a reader of over a year…..

5 12 2009
Gavin

Gavin in Chicago. 1.5 years. Shutting down? You can’t be serious!

5 12 2009
kwa9501

Kyle from Washington……I have been reading for about a year

5 12 2009
Mark Aubrey

Mark from Tennessee. I’ve been reading your blog throughout all of 2009. Thanks for the ups and downs.

5 12 2009
Joe S.

Joe S. San Diego… Been reading regularly for about a year, been poking around a little longe than that. Best of luck with whatever you’re pursuing next! I truly hope you’re “leaving” for good reasons.

5 12 2009
nico critelli

I am Nico Critelli from Stamford CT, and I have been reading wax heaven for the last few months. Sorry to see it shutting down just as I was getting into the blogosphere

5 12 2009
Swag

Kyle from Wayne NJ.
Hey man. Its really sad your closing up. I’ve been readin your blog for about 6 months now. I just started my own blog, and its sad to see one of my favorites go. Goodluck in whatever you move on to.

5 12 2009
Newspaperman

I’ve been reading these comments just to see where all your readers are from. This is pretty amazing to see collectors from all over the country, and abroad. Awesome.

5 12 2009
Hoiles

I’m TM in Pittsburgh. Been reading for a long time, maybe the beginning. Just from reading this great blog and a few others, I get to enjoy much of the hobby without shelling out a lot of the big bucks for the cards.

5 12 2009
Adam S.

My name is Adam Smith, I have been reading for about 6-8 months and have made it a daily stop. I live in Rancho Santa Margarita, CA (orange county).

I hope all is well and wish you future luck. Gonna miss this blog!

5 12 2009
Frederick

Frederick W. from Myrtle Beach, SC.

It must be 3 years now. You’ll be missed.

5 12 2009
White Sox Cards

Steve from Oak Lawn, IL.

I’ve been reading this blog since it was Canseco Completist. We supported each other a lot in the early days of our respective blogs. I’ve watched this site grow into the powerhouse that it is today. I will continue to support whatever the future has in store for my friend Mario. While I am sorry to see this site end, I am very glad that it has produced a great friend. Good luck in your future endeavors!🙂

Personally, I hope you decide to return somewhere down the line.

5 12 2009
Mike

Mike V. Austin, TX. Been reading for over a year. Thanks for the contest Mario

5 12 2009
Sean

Sean Congdon, hailing from the town of Gowanda, New York. I’ve been reading for about a year now, and it’s one of the only card blogs I go to on a daily basis.

5 12 2009
will

i’m will from tampa, i’ve been reading waxheaven for a year and ahalf i think,,, i always enter contests and never win , so i might as well not win another one, love the site still of course, i’m just bitchin…

5 12 2009
Jeff

Jeff from Baltimore. Been reading for a little over a year. Thanks for the contest, and sorry to hear you’re hanging it up.

5 12 2009
Jordan

jordan, s.florida, 1 years. THANKS

5 12 2009
Daniel

Daniel from Raleigh, NC. I’ve been reading for, oh, a month or so now.

5 12 2009
AJ

Speechless….

AJ from The Motor City

I’ve been a reader ever since you posted up The Canseco King video…
😦 – What can be done to keep Waxheaven alive and kickin?

5 12 2009
David

David Roy, Apple Valley CA, and ive been readin wax heaven for about two years haha.

5 12 2009
Maine Mariner

Take care Mario. I wish you and your family all the best.

Rick

5 12 2009
Maine Mariner

I have been following since early 08. I’ll miss your commentary. Take care.

5 12 2009
madding

Kerry here, from Portland, OR. I’m going to guess around a year and a half because that’s around when I started up my own blog thing.

5 12 2009
jamoke

Justin F. in Las Vegas Nevada. I have been a daily reader for over a year and want to thank you for all the blood, sweat and tears you have invested in entertaining and informing us Mario! No single site has helped me pinch off more loaves than Wax Heaven. I just hope you are shutting her down due to being hired by a major card company or hobby publication. Wax Heaven will be sorely missed brother. Best wishes in whatever is to come!

5 12 2009
mattingly's mashers

I’ve been reading the site for about a year now. This was a really terrific site. It’ll be missed

5 12 2009
Pat

Been reading for about 6 months, really nice site.

5 12 2009
David

David/Tunguska
Brantford, Ontario, Canada

2008-09 OPC Hockey got me looking at collecting again, Wax Heaven introduced me to the collecting blogosphere. A little over 18 months later and we are losing one of the lynchpins of the hobby.
Good luck Mario, thanks for EVERYTHING and never stop fighting the good fight.

5 12 2009
iluvcards

Eli, New York. Iv’e been reading since early 08. Thanks!

5 12 2009
iluvcards

Your shutting down? Awwwww I love your blog. I read like 3 times a day! Well, Thanks for all the information, recigniton for old wax, exlusive preiveiws, Fun giveways, Humor, box breaks, reviews, and opinions. Wax heaven will be missed by all of your thousands of readers.

5 12 2009
Thorzul

Thorzul, Milwaukee: I’ve been a reader since the beginning. There will be an empty space on the internet now. I hope we can all work together to fill it.

5 12 2009
Chris

Chris, Salt Lake City, Utah.

I’ve been reading for about six months. I have really enjoyed reading!

5 12 2009
Michael A.

Michael Reuben from PHX, AZ

I’ve easily been reading Wax Heaven for 18 months at this point. It will be missed.

5 12 2009
Tony Garrett

Tony Garrett
Columbus, OH
I’ve been reading for a year and a half.

5 12 2009
Jeff

Jeff,
From Largo FL
I have been reading for about 6 months

5 12 2009
Bob

Bob from Villa Park, IL
Been reading for almost 2 years.
Thanks for all the info and enjoyment!

5 12 2009
Steve

Steve in Jersey City. I found your site shortly after I started collecting again in 2007 — blogs like Wax Heaven, The Baseball Card Blog and Cardboard Junkie definitely pulled me back into the hobby!

5 12 2009
Sal

Sal Rinauro, Fort Valley, GA. I’ve been reading since I got back into the hobby last spring. Thanks for everything!!

5 12 2009
towrleig

Tucker from Jackson, TN. I have been reading for just under a year. You helped spark my interest to get back into the hobby. Thanks.

5 12 2009
David Campos

David Campos
Irvine, California
I’ve read you off and on for a while and have seen you post on the same sites I visit occasionally. Probably about a year.

5 12 2009
Evan Webeck

Evan Webeck, from Snohomish, WA
Only found waxheaven a couple months ago, but i’ve read almost every post since!

5 12 2009
Alex Towbin

Alex in Cincinnati, OH
2 years, never a winner!

5 12 2009
John Velgos

John from Harrogate, TN. Been reading you for 1 year now.

5 12 2009
russ

Russell of a few places, now in Greenville, SC and Mario, you and I have been together since the beginning.

5 12 2009
Daniel Wilson

Daniel in Goodyear, AZ
About 6 months

5 12 2009
Scott

Scott n Baltimore MD – been reading for 1 Year.

5 12 2009
Todd S

Todd in Bondurant, IA and have been been here since just about the beginning, as my Heavenly Vixen card would attest too! Sorry to see you go Mario!!

5 12 2009
Kerry

Kerry from Pennsylvania…Reading Wax Heaven for one year…Thanks for the contest…

5 12 2009
amlsportscards

Aaron from Bethesda,

have enjoyed reading Wax Heaven for about a year.

5 12 2009
Corey J.

Mario, thank you for your insight and your take on all things related to the Hobby! I have enjoyed reading for the last 11 months.

5 12 2009
Corey J.

Mario–I forgot…I’m from Lexington, VA.

5 12 2009
Tiffany

Tiffany from Houston. Been reading Wax Heaven for 2 years. Thanks for the contest!

5 12 2009
Eric E

Eric from Las Vegas, Nevada, although I may be moving to Texas soon.

Every since Februrary 2nd, 2009, since the “Jose Conseco vs. Danny Bonaduce fight” post. About 10 months in other words. Thanks for all the blogging and contests Mario.

5 12 2009
Gerald (St. Louis)

Gerald (St. Louis)- Off and on for about a year.

5 12 2009
Dubbs

Sorry to hear you’ll be leaving us, it truly has been a pleasure reading your blog. You’ve helped me get back into the hobby, been reading your stuff for over a year and a half.

Best of luck in the future.

5 12 2009
Eddie

Eddie from NYC. Been reading for about less than a year.

5 12 2009
unclemoe

Larry from AZ

I’ve been a Wax Heaven reader for about 10 months.

6 12 2009
PAB

P.A. from Winston-Salem, NC
I’ve been reading Wax Heaven since it was dedicated entirely to Jose Canseco. I almost believe it was called Heavenly Collections. I found it off of a link from Card Board Junkie. I haven’t always agreed with what Mario has to say but wax heaven certainly has been something I’d at least skim through while I was bored at work. Thanks for helping me kill time. Best of luck

6 12 2009
JF

I’ve only been reading for about 4 months. I’m thrilled that my 7 year old has taken an interest, and you’ve been invaluable in helping me get re-acquainted to an old hobby. We’ll miss you. Good luck.

6 12 2009
sanjosefuji

Fuji from San Jose, CA – I’ve been reading your stuff for over a year… no doubt you have the most informative… interesting… and entertaining blog on the net. I also appreciate the fact that you enjoy 90’s stuff as much as I do. You’ll be missed.

6 12 2009
Jason

Jason from Tampa. ‘Been reading for about 8 months, I’ll miss the blog.

6 12 2009
Baseball Dad

Good luck with whatever you do and where ever you go. It’s been great reading.Thanks!

6 12 2009
jeremy

Hi, It’s Jeremy from Norman, OK. I’ve been reading since about middle of June this year. I’ll miss reading your blog.

6 12 2009
Jacob

Jacob from Charlotte, NC.

I have been following this site daily for the past year now. Mario, your blog has been the best of any I have read and I will visit frequently to read previous posts. I wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors.

6 12 2009
Jose

Jose from Santa Ana, CA— I’ve been reading for about 7 months. Great site, thanks for all the info and reviews… I will miss it.

6 12 2009
Jimmy

I’ve been reading for over a year. Great blog, you’ll be missed. Marietta, GA

6 12 2009
JT

JT from Fort Thomas, KY. I’ve been reading since late 2007/early 2008 (not exactly sure). You will be missed by the community.

Leave a Reply

