What Are YOU Thankful For?

25 11 2009

First of all, I would like to wish everyone a happy (early) Thanksgiving. Aside from the really important stuff like friends, family, health, etc., what are you thankful for in 2009 when it relates to this hobby of ours?

I am personally thankful for all the support Wax Heaven receives from collectors and the card companies. We may not always agree but I feel like this site is still one of the best when it comes to generating interest in collecting.

Over the year I have received many great cards from friends of the site but I’d have to say that I am most thankful for the trade between myself and Kory from eBay Card of the Day.

Kory went out and purchased three of the four most hard to find 2007 Finest Andrew Miller cards and sent them my way in exchange for some random autographs and game-used relics. Although he was pleased with the offering, I am forever in his debt.

So there you have it. This is what I am thankful for hobby-wise. What would be on your list? A once in a lifetime pull? A “hot box”? Maybe a super-rare retail autograph? If you got something to be thankful for, let it be known!

Contests & Giveaways

If you haven’t joined the Social Network, now may be the best time to do so. We are nearing 200 members and I have already given away tons of stuff. We may not have the clout to receive cases of Exquisite Basketball from Upper Deck, but the prizes have not been too shabby.

Check out what deceased WWE superstar’s autograph Jamoke pulled from the box of 2009 Topps WWE I gave away last month. In my opinion, that’s one o the best autographs in the entire product.

That’s not all, check out the huge lot of cards Lonestarr won. It includes a very coveted Tools of the Trade Prime Jersey #’d to 5 Deion Sanders I pulled from a Panini sample box a while back.

You can expect many more giveaways before 2009 winds down.

-Mario Alejandro


Actions

Information

11 responses

25 11 2009
Newspaperman

I’m thankful for my Jon Lester auto relic you sent me:

http://cardboardicons.com/2009/11/25/big-thanks-to-wax-heaven/

25 11 2009
jl

Theres really no being thankful for the same old things, but something that is worth giving thanks is that the card companies are reading many of the blog sites to get a feel for the collectors wants. Hopefully in 2010 at this time the companies will revamp and give collectors something to give great thanks to the hobby.

25 11 2009
the sewingmachineguy

Thankful for Brandon Inge and Curtis Granderson. Two of the classiest guys in sports.
Thankful for retro-themed sets. UD Goudey and Heritage brought me back to collecting.

25 11 2009
Bryan Fitzgerald

I am thankful for Jamie Micheliche’s Jose Canseco website. It has resparked my interest in collecting Canseco cards again. I have added over 100 inserts and parallels to my collection over the past few months…………Canseco collectors beware….IIIII’mmm Baaack!!!!

26 11 2009
toriihunter

I am thankful for my 4 case hits in 5 boxes and this site

26 11 2009
DDoubleplay Sports/Paul R Destralo

I’m thankful for being able to chat/interact with you and all the members on this site! Thank You for having me!! Enjoy your Thanksgiving!!!

26 11 2009
Beaverman3001

Thankful for the Masterpieces case I busted yesterday that I’ll be reviewing tomorrow🙂

26 11 2009
lonestarr

Well, first of all, thank you for all the cool cards you sent me, and the 21 (and counting) blog hits from the link.🙂

I am thankful for all the card bloggers in general, because my life would be emptier and suckier without all of you. So thank you everyone.

27 11 2009
Adam

Mario,
I’ve been a faithful reader of your site (and member of your social group) for a few months now and I appreciate your fair, straight-forward approach. Thank you for taking out your time to give us all something to read everyday.

30 11 2009
jk

ALthough I wish the industry would place more emphasis on hobby themed products in retail loctions, I have gotten lucky this year:

Both of these occurred at different Targets: Bought a 2008 topps Mayo pack on sale for $1.59, and pulled an Archie Manning Auto.

Bought a 2007 topps turkey red baseball, also on sale for a $1.59, and pulled an Alex Rodriguez Auto.

I have wriiten about this before, but in order for the hobby to grow and become more popular and viable (just half of where it was in the late 80’s would be great), I believe the hits need to be scaled back BUT made more accessable…in other words, the hobby only boxes at card shops, where the prices are too high and the owners out of touch (they need to log into Ebay or online stores every so often) need to be made accessable everywhere….there shouldnt be this Retail/Hobby scenario. there should be one product, available any place. Catering to the 500 hobby shops left is not wise.

1 02 2010
Don

Mario did you ever get my bubble mailer for the Panini basketball cards I won, I sent it out a week to you before Xmas and still havent received it back.

Leave a Reply

