2010 Topps Heritage Preview

21 11 2009

Below is a preview gallery of 2010 Topps Heritage. While we won’t be seeing it in hobby shops until late February, this is now four Topps previews of 2010 releases. We have yet to see even one from Upper Deck.

In my opinion, Heritage look a lot better than the flagship brand and with another year of all on-card autographs, expect this release to be among the most popular of 2010.

Product Details:

Release date – Week of February 22nd, 2009

Configuration – 24 packs per box, 12 boxes per case

100% all on-card autographs with one autograph/relic per box

Want to see the checklist? CLICK HERE


Actions

Information

29 responses

21 11 2009
lonestarr

Wow, I’ve never been into Heritage much, but I’m liking this a LOT. I won’t be buying a box, but if it turns out as good as it looks right now, I’ll be all over singles on eBay and will make sure to get the base of who I collect.

… And is that a new rookie logo I spy? I’m not sure if I like it, but it’s way less intrusive.

21 11 2009
madyankees

Wow…really nice. Agreed. Better than the 2010 flagship

21 11 2009
dayf

1961 Topps has never been my favorite design, but it looks like they did a good job with these. I’m happy that they brought back the stamps insert. I wonder if they will be ridiculously difficult to pull.

21 11 2009
Tonymac

This set looks awesome!
Topps heritage was the whole reason I got back in to collecting after 10 years away and I’ve been working on this set since May, its not easy collecting baseball cards when you live in the UK so its taking ages!!
There seems to be a problem with the checklist that you provided, most of the names are not visible, anyone else having the same problem?
The only thing from this set that I dont really care for are the stamps but the new clubhouse collections look great.

21 11 2009
houstoncollector

Gratz on the preview, Mario. I need to get more info from Topps on that so I can do mine.😀

21 11 2009
Paul

I’ve always found the 1961 Topps design to be a bit boring. I don’t think I’m going to go nuts for these.

And that new rookie logo is hideous, especially on a vintage-style product.

21 11 2009
Diddy

Heritage has always been a favorite of mine, Simple clean vintage look. I’m looking forward to this set for sure!

21 11 2009
Bryan

I love Heritage, but I’m not a fan of the 1961 design.
I guess I will just finish up my 2009 Heritage set.

21 11 2009
John Bateman

I don’t know I am starting to like the new rookie card logo. I don’t know this set feels more like 2009 O-Pee-Chee rather than 1961 Topps. The Chase 61 card looks like something out of Topps American Pie.

21 11 2009
chemgod

Fucking AWESOME!

21 11 2009
kris

With all of the completely pointless lawsuits floating around, I smell another one. If Topps can sue for the OPC, then UD can definitely sue for those crappy stamps resembling 2009 Legendary Cuts.

How can you find the 2009 RC Logo uglier than the previous incarnations? Somehow the MLB Logo is uglier than some gold, ugly-ass, home plate logo?

21 11 2009
night owl

The 1961 Topps design is one of the dullest on record. It looks like Topps improved on it a bit, but probably not enough for me to collect the set.

21 11 2009
dylansharek

What a beautiful set.

21 11 2009
rosschrisman2003

looks like some really good stuff. that mantle/maris cut is insane. the triple bat looks great too.

21 11 2009
Seattlesportssigs

I like everything I see, except one thing perhaps. Did they stamp that logo on the original 61T? Cringe!!!

2005 Topps Heritage got me back into the hobby after several years away because 56 Topps is my all time favorite design. Most of my other favs are in the 60s & early 70s so I’ll be building most the next 15 years of so of Heritage Sets.

21 11 2009
oldschoolbreaks

I think I’ll stick to singles as well. I’m one of those who didn’t care for the ’61 design, but the inserts look terrific!

21 11 2009
Jay

Simplicity couldn’t have came at a better time. I can’t wait to pull a black refractor.

21 11 2009
Jay

Can you imagine how cool a real one red ink auto would like on a black refractor from this release.

Sick

21 11 2009
gobigpelf34

nice preview mario! Im just happy that Mike Pelfrey is in this set!

22 11 2009
SteveTX

’61 is one of my all-time favorite sets. Yeah, some people say it’s “boring”, but keep in mind, when this design came out it, it was at the height of the modernism movement in America, so it’s only natural this set would reflect that asthetic.

It’s totally coincidental, but with “Mad Men” one of the most popular shows on TV right now, it seems like Topps’s timing couldn’t have been better for this release.

Anyway, regarding the 2010 set, I’ll likely buy a few blasters of this, but I’m unsure whether I can say the same about hobby boxes. In my opinion, the Heritage line has gotten kind of stale the past couple of years and the inserts don’t really do much for me either.

22 11 2009
Eggrocket

I’ve always loved the 1961 design. Not gawdy at all. Pure baseball cards. I’ll definitely collect these. I don’t mind the new rookie logo, but it looks a bit strong on these. It would be nice if they could mute the colors a bit for the Heritage.

22 11 2009
RNCoyote

What the screwed up with next year’s baseball set they made it up with Heritage set

22 11 2009
nico critelli

Do I dare say that these cards are sexy?! I heard cards being called cute before but these are sexy

22 11 2009
JBob

The stamps seem to be a really good addition. The Pujols card should be redone though, its a pretty ugly pic. Chase ’61 is also a nice touch

23 11 2009
Casejonz

61s were always one of my favorite cards, for some reason you can always find cards in great condition. Crisp clean look. The Musial is absolutely the most beautiful card. I look forward to this Heritage set, and might actually try to put the set together. Personally, I don’t like the chrome version. I like the cheap cardboard look, so the shiny chrome just flys against the spirit of this collection. Cant wait!!

23 11 2009
SteveTX

Oh, I forgot to add one thing: If Topps is going to revive oddball releases (Topps Stamps, for example) as inserts in the Heritage line, why not also Topps Deckle Edge?

I absolutely love the fact these cards look like a miniature photo (with a deckle edge, of course) and include a colored facsimile autograph of the player. Even though these were released in 1969, it instantly gave the cards the feel of a pre-WWII era set. This is kind of cool, especially when you think about how utterly generic and forgettable 1969 Topps baseball is/was.

Here’s a link to a good article from SCD on “Deckle Edge”, including pictures: http://www.sportscollectorsdaily.com/latest-sports-collecting-news/1969-topps-deckle-set-may-test-your-sanity.html

23 11 2009
Phil Keim

Hey, any vintage design is better than the Topps of today. For twenty years, Topps has had “action” shots. I hate them. I remembered all my cards as a youth from the pictures. I loved the posed throwing pictures, and posed fielding pictures, and I could tell you what the player the pose was year for year. Tell me with Topps today, what did the 2003 picture of Randy Johnson look like? Who knows? I look forward to all the Heritage years

23 11 2009
Don

Holy cow, I love this set! Everything about it is fantastic; I wonder if Topps is finally listening to us.

24 11 2009
Biagio

thank you Topps

Leave a Reply

