Prospect Battle: Tristar vs. Panini

3 11 2009

Just last month, the prospect collectors in The Hobby were crying about a lack of products being produced in 2009. This year we were treated to Tristar Projection & Obak, Bowman releases, and not much else.

Missing from the scene this year was the extremely popular Donruss Elite Extra Edition and Razor’s several baseball releases, which took collectors by storm in 2008 and then vanished into thin air a few months later, at least with the prospect market.

Surprising many, Panini America announced today that it would bring back Elite Extra Edition for the 2009 calendar (in January) and just last week Tristar announced Prospects Plus to be released at the end of November.

Below are two cards in the sell sheets of Elite Extra Edition and Tristar Prospects Plus and as you can see there are quite a few similarities. For starters, it appears that both companies used the same photograph, not to mention stickers.

Given these two early previews, which would you rather have?

(thumbnail leads to a full-size image)

Somebody Said Prospects?


Actions

Information

19 responses

3 11 2009
csmtampa

That Tristar card is sharp!

3 11 2009
Chris gilmore

The tristar brand can’t stack up to the donruss legacy. I will take the Elite any day of the week.

I do think that is the best looking tri star card to date, but I still prefer the elite.

3 11 2009
Mr. Scott

I don’t think i’ll be buying either product but if I was to buy one it would be TriStar

3 11 2009
Kris

I bet most people looking at those cards didn’t even realize the lack of a UNC Logo, which means Tri-Star did one hell of a job.

I guess Donruss is in a rush before April first when the UD NCAA agreement kicks in.

Nards at UD for that one.

3 11 2009
Anonymous

man.. 1st time Ive said it in a while but I like both!🙂

3 11 2009
Paul

I like the TriStar one better, but I won’t be buying either product until the inevitable markdowns.

3 11 2009
Gellman

Tristar definitely looks better, but Elite will out sell it three or four times over.

3 11 2009
Drew

Elite, that card is real nice

3 11 2009
chemgod

Neither, I like my customs I got back from him.

3 11 2009
Mario A.

Chemgod, gotta drop a link!

3 11 2009
dayf

Elite is nicer, but Tristar is cheaper.

And if/when Dustin makes the show, some one needs to anoint him with the nickname “Eggs”.

3 11 2009
Bryan

Elite… it has the UNC logo
I will be collecting Ackley, btw.

3 11 2009
Justin

Neither. Both are ugly ass cards, and I (as normal), don’t care for the stickers.

3 11 2009
gobigpelf34

Id rather have the tristar, I like the photo that is smaller and less cropped.

3 11 2009
calicokidcards

TriStar, cleaner design.

4 11 2009
johnlaf

I dont care for minor league and prospect cards, but the elite auto is much nicer than the tri star – which looks kind of cheap, like classic brands

4 11 2009
RNCoyote

Give me Tristar at any time. The cards look clean and the design aren’t over-the-top.

4 11 2009
Lonestarr

The Elite looks like crap, I’ll take the Tristar.

4 11 2009
toolboxroom

Tristar has had some nice designs in recent years. Projections has been great the last two years.

Tristar has a much cleaner look, but I am sur ethe Elite will sell for a lot more.

Leave a Reply

