Win A Box of 2009 Topps WWE

30 10 2009

I just finished bustin’ a fresh box of 2009 Topps WWE and was surprised by the generosity of Topps. Along with a sample box for review, they threw in another sealed box to give to one lucky reader of Wax Heaven.

My official review won’t be ready until later this weekend but for now check out the Triple H “event-worn” relic I pulled from my sample box. In case you’re wondering, that’s authentic blood all over that piece of relic.

To be eligible to win, leave a comment stating your all-time favorite wrestler and why. Contest will officially be closed on Sunday night. Winner will be picked through Random.org and I will cover all shipping fees. Good luck!

For those that can’t wait till Sunday, you can find 2009 Topps WWE at Target, Wal-Mart, Toys ‘R Us, and other retail outlets. You can find more on 2009 Topps WWE here.

Contest closed – Jamoke is the winner!

Blood In, Blood Out ...


Actions

Information

70 responses

30 10 2009
rosschrisman2003

I’d say Hulk Hogan. Its cool those cards have the same design as the Topps Baseball.

30 10 2009
nathanieledwards2013

Favorite wrestler? Cap’n Lou Albano, though more for his masterly portrayal of Mario in the Super Show than anything else.

30 10 2009
Drew

Hmmmm…. well I don’t watch much but I have liked guys like the Undertaker, Jeff Hardy, Triple H, and John Cena a lot. By the way, I saw Lou Albano at a card show a long time ago, didn’t know who he was so didn’t get the autograph. Too late now.

30 10 2009
Bryan

My favorite wrestler… that’s hard.
I did name my black lab after the wrester Sabu, though.

30 10 2009
Beaverman3001

The Undertaker, dude was badass.

30 10 2009
jl

It’s not so much as my favorite wrestler, it’s my favorite tag team, Legion of Doom. Not only have they held all major tag team titles, they defined the tag team division in the 80’s and 90’s. They were the greatest to grace the ring. Always imitated never duplicated. What a Rushhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

30 10 2009
Michael

My favorite wrestler was Sgt. Slaughter. You can’t go wrong with the sarge!

30 10 2009
Rod

my all time favorite wrestler is the one the only Roddy Piper

30 10 2009
Jason C

As a kid I liked Brutus the Barber Beefcake for his carisma (though I wouldn’t have known what carisma meant back then). Cuttin and a struttin.

30 10 2009
30-Year Old Cardboard

Macho Man Randy Savage – He was the first WWF wrestler I remember that made being a bad guy cool. Oh Yeah!!!

30 10 2009
Mike

My all-time favorite wrestler is Arn Anderson. Not the flashiest guy in the world, but he didn’t mess around in there, and always made his opponents look great, too. Still has the sickest spinebuster I’ve ever seen, and even broke it out a few years back at a WrestleMania. Plus, the man could hold his own in promos with The Nature Boy, and that’s got to count for something.

30 10 2009
Bryan

Mike, I’m with you “Double A” was a great tag wrestler and singles wrestler.
He also gave great interviews.

30 10 2009
Derek

Hulk Hogan because of his ability to pump up the crowd and deliver epic match-ups.

30 10 2009
Mike

The Hot Rod Roddy Piper….why?….because he hit The Superfly in the head with a coconut and and! came here to chew bubble gum and kick ass. And he’s all out of bubble gum

30 10 2009
Thorzul

“Rowdy” Roddy Piper, without a doubt. That guy knew how to work a crowd. Whether heel or face, you were guaranteed to be entertained watching him.

30 10 2009
jesse

and if youre not down with the New Age Outlaws we got 2 words for ya…

30 10 2009
jesse

30 10 2009
ig4mer

My favorite wrestler in the 90’s was Mick Foley. He had some sick hardcore matches.

But recently I have been watching wrestling again especially TNA and of them the Motor City Machine Guns stand out the most and quickly becoming my favorite. They are the most exciting tag team I ever watched.

30 10 2009
the sewingmachineguy

I liked Chris Benoit. Full out effort every timer.

30 10 2009
Dan

Hornswoggle even though he doesnt wrestle much but he is HILARIOUS and soo entertaining to watch….

30 10 2009
Matt Harwood

My favorite wrestler was THE GENIOUS with him poetry reading and was so so smart.

30 10 2009
Mojo

JYD Hands Down,

One of the most gifted talents to ever step in the ring. WIth his trademark chain, and THUMP There will never be another wrestler like him. Im quite sure he was the only wrestler to ever body slam King Kong Bundy.

Mojo

30 10 2009
the sewingmachineguy

I forgot about Doink…yeah, it’s Doink.

30 10 2009
Jon

My all time favorite wrestler is Mick Foley. While never masterful at the technical agility based moves, he always gave (or just gave the appearance of) his full effort. His death matches in Japan versus Terry Funk take classic ring psychology and dab in a healthy dose of lethal looking situations, from barbed wire to explosions.

His legendary bumps in the Hell in the Cell vs the Undertaker helped the WWE cement their company as something special. The Rock, Austin and HHH certainly carried the torch more upfront for the most part, but Foley worked to elevate midcarder and high end talent alike. Not too many people *cough Hogan *cough* are willing to take one for the company.

30 10 2009
Brian

I grew up watching the Von Erich family wrestle in Dallas. Kerry wrestled in the WWF as the Texas Tornado. Thanks for the contest.

30 10 2009
Ian

Ken Shamrock was the best. I always waited for him to snap in the ring and kick the crap out of somebody. Even though he struggled to put a sentence together with the mic, he didn’t need more of a gimmick other than being a legitimate tough guy.

30 10 2009
ned

there are so many great ones from harley race to ric flair but the guy who risked injury every match the most insane wrestler ive ever seen SABU would be my favorite isaw him break his back in philly still dont know how much of that was real but they carried him out in a stretcher and he left in an ambulance

30 10 2009
o62omega

im going with Rickey the Dragon Steamboat!! we sat next to him in a Chinese restaurant when i was a kid!! Very cool day for me back then.

30 10 2009
Paul

Steve Austin

30 10 2009
stangy24

My Favorite is the Hulkster. Just the memories of watching wrestling in the 1980’s with my dad (with Hulk being the main man), bring a smile to my face…

30 10 2009
Shane Davis

Hacksaw Jim Dugan… HOOOOOOOOO, or the Bushwackers.

Other good ones:
JYD – The Junkyard Dog, or Hillbilly Jim, maybe Sunka.

Remember the old rubber wrestling action figures?

30 10 2009
wickedortega

Scott Hall brother!!! aka Razor Ramon NWO 4 LiFE!!!

30 10 2009
Shaun

I gotta go with Bill Goldberg. His intensity was unmatched. Back in his WCW days he would pull off unbelieveable moves. I remember one match where in one swift motion he put Raven in a figure four leg lock while they were both standing. Too bad WWE had to ruin his character.

30 10 2009
Tim

My favorite wrestler of all time is Tito Santana. Rick Martel was a douche, and Tito always fought for what was right.

30 10 2009
William Noetling

Bret “the Hitman” Hart – because he simply really was The Best There Is, The Best There Was and The Best That Ever Will Be.

31 10 2009
Kerry

Jerry “The King” Lawler – because he is a great wrestler with excellent mic skills…

31 10 2009
meuandthelot

Youkon Moose, noooo..Dick the Bruiser..Took and dished out more chairs than anyone. I’d really enjoy a chance to break this..Thank You

31 10 2009
Sean

Chris Jericho, hands down. He was always my favorite, even back in the old WCW days when he was doing his “Conspiracy Theory” gimmick, being managed by another legend in Ralphus, and squaring off against Dean Malenko and the other cruiserweights. Then he came into WWF/E, and blew up, deservedly so, too. First Undisputed Champion, and amazing on promos whether as a face or a heel. Just a great wrestler all around.

31 10 2009
AdamE

Jerry “The King” Lawler- I grew up in Western Tenn, enough said…

31 10 2009
Todd S

I’m going with the first third generation star The Rock. His mic work was amazing and still is if you saw the Smackdown Anniversary show and you gotta love the original People’s Champ. Thanks for the contest Mario!

31 10 2009
Lonestarr

Booker T is my all-time favorite, because he was the first guy I ever saw with an offense based around impact kicks. And the Harlem/Houston Hangover is about the coolest move I’ve ever seen.

Also, that Triple H relic gives the term “sick patch” a whole new meaning.😛

31 10 2009
seand

Going with the Von Erichs as well…Sunday mornings, first Speed Racer then Wrestling at the Chase on KPLR – Kerry Von Erich with The Claw! We’d be squeezing each others faces the rest of the day…

31 10 2009
jamoke

Hulk Hogan. He made wrestling mainstream. His three demandments were words to live by for a prebuscent boy growing up in the 80s. He played the hero and the cad with equal passion and moxie. I still love the painted on shadow beard and shades wearing Hollywood Hogan best.

31 10 2009
Tim H.

Welcome back Mario! My favorite wrestler of all time is STING. From the funky bright colors to his crow like appearance now.

31 10 2009
Tim H.

Mario,
Wouldn’t blood on a card like that be a health hazard/issue to the public?

31 10 2009
Billy

As bad as it may sound Kurt Angle. The one wrestler I got to meet in person. Very polite individual. I am not going to even get what he is done. It is a personal level for me as he took time after his match early in his career (way early) to go above and beyond a meet and greet. Not only did he do the usual signing and photo ops but his trainer along with Kurt were kind enough to treat my friend and I to lunch. We talked about stuff from fitness and training clear up to the politics. That is truly something I will never forget. And, man, he can pack away some food!

31 10 2009
dayf

Jake The Snake Roberts.

Why?

31 10 2009
dayf

BIG ASS FRIGGIN SNAKE!

31 10 2009
Chris

i really liked the hot pink bedazzled costumes they would wear in the early 90’s. it was all about the ultimate warrior when i was a kid.

31 10 2009
Jamie

Eddie G. He was the total package showmanship and the wrestling talent.

31 10 2009
calicokidcards

All time favorite is Jummy “Superfly” Snuka. Had the poster on my wall. I was at the match where Snuka jumped off the top of the cage for the first time againt Don Moraco at MSG. I will always remeber that. If I can find the pictures, i will scan them and put them on Ning.

31 10 2009
stormthestreets

The late, great Mitsuharu Misawa. The man looked like he was actually in a fight in most of his matches. His battles with Kenta Kobashi are the stuff of legend. And who can deny the Tiger Driver ’91?

31 10 2009
Justin Halbersma

okay my favorite wrestler as a kid was Koko B. Ware but that was because he was a high flyer and had a parot.

My favorite wrestler as a youth/young adult was Chris Jericho. He played the perfect heel with his arrogance and wit and all that despite actually being a really nice guy in real life.

31 10 2009
fly29

My was Hulk Hogan because he was the first wrestler to get an autograph from…🙂

31 10 2009
sneakymuffin2010

My favorite would have to be Stone Cold Steve Austin because he had the best entrance and was so entertaining and just all around BA

31 10 2009
J Nunez

All time favorite is Sg. Slaughter, he rocked! The character was awesome… And a total badass!

31 10 2009
Offy

The best there is, the best there was, the best there ever will be: Bret Hart.

1 11 2009
brian

stone cold and bret hart

1 11 2009
Mojo

Im hoping that relic is fake blood, and not the real deal. Im sure we have all heard of bloodborne pathogens. That freaking thing is gross man! What a great relic to own!

Mojo

1 11 2009
Brian

The Hurricane, because he had the best secret identity.

1 11 2009
Andrew V

Ultimate Warrior. He was crazy.

1 11 2009
toolboxroom

My favorite wrestler to watch was Bradshaw from the Accolytes, specifically when they started their protection agency. I remember a match back in 1999 when Bradshaw was giving Crash Holly an axe handle slam, he tossed him down so hard my friend sitting next to me turned and said “I guess no one told him this is supposed to be fake.”

I am also partial to Ricky the Dragon Steamboat from when I was a kid. I saw him in a tag team with Hulkster against King Kong Bundy and Bobby Heenan when I was a kid, it was awesome.

1 11 2009
Tim

My favorite wrestler of all-time is The Undertaker. 17-0 at WrestleMania. A streak that will (probably) never be broken.

1 11 2009
RoofGod

I’m a HHH (First DX era) guy.

1 11 2009
Fuji

My favorite wrestler of all-time is Ricky “The Dragon” Steamboat. I started watching wrestling in the mid-80’s when Hulk Hogan, Andre the Giant, and the British Bulldogs ruled the WWF. However, the main reason I watched it was because of the Dragon. Why? Well, I grew up in a neighborhood that had just about every other ethnicity, except Japanese. So as a kid, I turned to sports to support my culture. There was Lenn Sakata and Ron Darling (didn’t know he was Chinese until later on in life) in baseball. Then there was Kristi Yamaguchi… I know… figure skating… seriously? But let’s face it… there weren’t any Japanese-American NBA players… or NFL players… or even NHL players back in the 80’s (at least I didn’t know of any). So yes… I was a Yamaguchi fan. Anyways, back to The Dragon. So, when I first saw this Asian (once again, back then I thought this guy was Japanese) guy on the WWF, I knew he was going to be my idol. In fact, I can still remember him teaming up with the Junk Yard Dog in a tag team match. Welp… sorry for the long story… but thanks Mario for giving me a chance to reminisce my childhood all over again.

1 11 2009
Ryan Cracknell

Favorite wrestler of all-time: I’ll go with old school Jake “The Snake” Roberts. Before he became a mess of an addict, Roberts was “attitude-era” WWF more than a decade before the official Attitude Era began. He’d come out kick some butt, drape his opponent with Damien and that was that. He could cut a promo just as good as anyone in the business. Plus, if it weren’t for his born-again comeback, we’d have never had the Austin 3:16 catchphrase, which came about in a response to Austin winning King of the Ring over Roberts. Sadly, Roberts’ life appears to be in shambles. I don’t know where he’s at with the wagon, if you will, but I hope for his and his family’s sake he takes care of his demons once and for all.

PS Even as a kid I hated Hulk Hogan. Every match was the same: Hulk hit, Hulk pummelled, Hulk hulks up, Leg Drop of Doom, game over. Lame, lame, lame.

PPS Thanks for the contest, Mario (and Topps).

2 11 2009
Slette

Favorite all-time – “The Loose Cannon” Brian Pillman – loved his “Rogue Horseman” gimmick in WCW, which evolved in ECW and into the WWF. Gone waaaaaaay too soon. Runners up are the British Bulldog and Mr Perfect. Sadly, all of my favorites have gone way too soon.

2 11 2009
Kory

All time favorite has to be the Hulkster. I had a bunch of friends over to my house to watch Wrestlemania VI. Even with all my friends there, I hid behind our couch and cried because Hogan lost. I was 5 at the time.

Close second is Jake the Snake just like Ryan.

2 11 2009
Sal

Nobody ever has, or ever will, combine charisma and athleticism together as well as Shawn Michaels.

2 11 2009
seattlesportssigs

Andre the Giant.
I have an odd obsession with Giants.




