Updates & Highlights Surprises

15 10 2009

While it’s not exactly my cup of tea, 2009 Topps Updates & Highlights has been live for a few days and doing surprisingly well on the secondary market.

Topps’ Updates & Highlights is selling for about $50 dollars online and offers one game-used memorabilia or autograph per box on average.

The best single card sold on eBay so far has been a jersey patch of Albert Pujols. The 4-color relic sold for just under $250 dollars despite not being game-used. It clearly states that it’s an All-Star Workout Jersey.

Proving once again just how rabid Topps set builders are, one 24-card SP Variation set sold for a whopping $379 dollars. That’s 24 cards that lack game-used relics or certified autographs.

Some of the better autographs in ’09 Updates & Highlights include Gordon Beckham, Tommy Hanson, Matt Holliday, Vladimir Guerrero, Rick Porcello, and Andre Ethier. All are stickers, not on-card.

Take it in the Poojols


Actions

Information

11 responses

15 10 2009
jesse

5 years from now the ackley/hernandez dual will be worth more, you shall see😉

16 10 2009
Will

I’m so sick of gimmicky Variations!

16 10 2009
seattlesportssigs

Don’t forget this set includes Raul Ibanez first GU card and first Topps auto issue. I already have most on the way to my collection.🙂

16 10 2009
JBob

Why do Pujols collectors get all the cool stuff?

16 10 2009
Kris

The legends short prints are actually pretty cool, variation wise. To be honest, I think they’re actually my favourite part of Flagship. I think topps figured this out, and inserted them at a higher ratio in Series two..

At some point, I’ll have to buy a box of this stuff but I’m currently spending my money on yellow by the letters of Yankees and Cardinals.

Am I the only one that’s realized the colors of upper decks by the letter signatures a) look as cheap as they’ve ever looked b) don’t even come close to matching the team’s colors?

Why have people been pulling “A” for Phil Coke…

Do I really want to spend money to collect a bright yellow “YANKEE”

My god…

http://cgi.ebay.com/PHIL-COKE-2009-SP-AUTH-BY-THE-LETTER-ROOKIE-AUTO-65_W0QQitemZ360198411428QQcmdZViewItemQQptZUS_Baseball?hash=item53dd7f94a4

At least Baltimore’s orange and Toronto’s blue..

my head..

16 10 2009
Charlie

That Pujols patch is nice, but they had these in Series 1 & 2 as well, and they were actual game used patches of a wide variety of players. Much nicer imho.

16 10 2009
ManOfSteal

There’s actually a Rickey card in this set, as well as at least two short-printed relics, which definitely has me excited! He hasn’t had a new card since 2007!!

16 10 2009
Beandip

Isn’t this the set with those propaganda art cards? I just want a set of those.

16 10 2009
packaddict

I really like the variations. Variations are much better than short prints too IMO.

16 10 2009
Mr. Scott

Kris

I believe all the rookie letter patches spell SP AUTHENTIC. That might be worse then Yankees.

20 10 2009
Chris

Does anyone know if Topps will issue the update set in a factory set like they did in 2005 through 2007 or will collectors need to hand collate the set? I really like the factory sets just because of the box design.

Leave a Reply

