The Worst Card of All-Time? Maybe.

14 10 2009

To take some attention off the extremely heated debate found here, I thought I’d show what in my opinion just might be the worst baseball card ever produced.

I did lots of research and could only find out that this “Broder” issue was released in 1990. As you can see, Ken is holding up his 1989 Upper Deck rookie card.

I see two problems, though. The first is the size of the card. Unless Junior somehow shrunk to munchkin size, that card size is way off. There are jumbo versions of the ’89 Upper Deck but none came out in 1990.

The second problem is the photo itself. Does he look a bit young? I know Junior was only 20 during the 1990 season but that photo looks like something out of a high school year book.

My educated guess: Perhaps Upper Deck printed a larger version of the ’89 rookie for a publicity photo in 1990 and someone got a hold of the photo and printed their own card with it.

I contacted Upper Deck and was told they have never seen the card.

You can find it on Sportsbuy for two quarters.

What in the hell?


Actions

Information

11 responses

14 10 2009
Newspaperman

I think this card is a remake of a card Griffey posed for for a company named “Cardboard Gold” which sold supplies like card savers.

14 10 2009
Charlie

That looks like something someone printed at home😀

14 10 2009
jesse

that Griffey does suck, but I think the Yao Ming with the jersey completely blocking his face (that you showed on here a while back) is by far the worst

14 10 2009
the drizz

yeah but the card is hilarious!!!! a must-have for any griffey collector!!!

14 10 2009
Bryan fitzgerald

Whats funny is that card has Jose canseco on the back of it.. I own it.

14 10 2009
Collective Troll

Wow, worst card of all time is a pretty big title, but the card could be… That is awful looking! It looks like (like you said) a bad high school yearbook from the 70s. I thought it was someone from the Jackson 5 at first.

14 10 2009
Casey

Newspaperman is exactly right. I still have a box for that product.

14 10 2009
Beandip

Hehehe I have some different Griffey card that was a promo seller for supplies like penny sleeves and stuff.

15 10 2009
JBob

I second the why do i own this card mentality cause the Canseco on the back sucks just as much : )

15 10 2009
gobigpelf34

wow, that is the dumbest thing ive seen since those pubic hair cards you mentioned that they had in japan a while back!

15 10 2009
Mario A.

Someone better hook me up with a scan!🙂

Leave a Reply

