My 2009 resolution (and a new gig)

31 12 2008

First and foremost, I wish everyone a happy new year. Despite all the issues I faced in 2008, I have my friends, family, and puppy Bailey at my side. I would like to thank everyone for their well-wishes, e-mails, and comments left last month on the whole situation with Beckett Media. As you can see from my last few posts, I am going to cover a more “innocent” side of the Hobby from now on, while occasionally throwing in the product previews and reviews everyone has come to expect.

Another big change is going to be the amount of time I spend working on Wax Heaven. For the last eight months I have written at least 100 articles but I can tell you right now I will no longer be doing that. That doesn’t mean I am going to become the new Ben Henry or Chris Harris, though. You can still expect many new articles per week as something is always popping into my head related to our Hobby.

The big news I have to share is that starting today I am writing for the Examiner as their ‘Florida Marlins Examiner’. My goal is to write about the ins and outs of the Marlins franchise while continuing to pursue photography. They will even work with me to help obtain press credentials, something I have been trying to do for quite some time now.

You can find my page on the Examiner.com by clicking HERE. As of now there is nothing more than my introduction but I have an article in the works for Monday. If you enjoyed my Marlins coverage at Wax Heaven or my photography please check in with the Examiner as they will be posted exclusively on their site.

In a month I will be attending both a Marlins golf tournament as well as the 2009 Fan Fest, as last year’s was a blast. Thanks to everyone who has supported me through Wax Heaven and ultimately my new gig with the Examiner.

Actions

Information

24 responses

31 12 2008
deal

Congratulations, that is great news for the New Year. It is good to see all of your hard work has paid off. This is all very much deserved – good luck with everything and keep the good stuff coming, I am looking forward to the new season and another year of your pics.

31 12 2008
Matt F.

Wow, great news Mario! I wish you all the best!

31 12 2008
cardboard Addiction

That’s Great news. Congrats on the new gig!

1 01 2009
Ryan Cracknell

Congrats, Mario!

Is the examiner an online magazine or are they print?

1 01 2009
dayf

Cool, congrats!

1 01 2009
Mario A.

Ryan, it’s online only as far as I know.

1 01 2009
Joe M

Awesome~! I wish you the best of luck with the new gig

1 01 2009
MetsManiacinNH

That is totally cool! Congrats Mario!

Now try to take it a little easier on my Mets. 🙂

1 01 2009
JRJ

Congratulations – that’s a great opportunity.
Does this mean my chances of reaching the Heavenly Seven are dead!?! Say it ain’t so!

1 01 2009
jl

Mario, what a way to start 09, I know you love the Marlins, so this is a good fit, doing something you like. As for waxheaven, maybe have some commentary form others that way keep fresh and don’t have to worry about losing ground on this great hobby site.

HAPPY NEW YEARS everyone lets keep it save no Barkley’s tonight.

1 01 2009
Anonymous

Congrats Mario…from the short time I’ve been coming to your site, I’ve seen a great insight that you will be able to bring to the examiner. Good luck and Happy New Year!

1 01 2009
Rob AKA Guido

A well deserved congratulations. Best of luck in your new venture.

1 01 2009
Aron

Congrats Mario!

1 01 2009
Sooz (A Cardboard Problem)

that’s awesome.

I can tell you first hand that some of the most exciting times I’ve had at work have revolved around covering my favorite team. I’ve made memories that are going to last a lifetime.

It’s great knowing that while you are working, it’s actually doing something you love. Doesn’t feel like work so much after.

Congrats and good luck with everything.

1 01 2009
Dylan

congrats man- as an english major i envy you. and i’ll be in your position son enough if all goes well in 2009.

1 01 2009
Peter

Congrats Mario, I hope the opportunity brings you great success.

1 01 2009
DDoubleplay Sports/Paul

Excellent Job Mario.
Looks like 2009 will be even better for you! Best of Luck!

1 01 2009
Todd

Is that a paid gig?

1 01 2009
Mario A.

Yes.

1 01 2009
Jeff W

Money to do something fun? Awesome.

1 01 2009
Mario A.

….and if I get press passes I will be in heaven!

1 01 2009
Submarine Shane

Congrats….You deserve it. You also know from our emails that Press and Photo Passes do rock (no pun intended)…

Later,
Submarine Shane

1 01 2009
Eric Slette

Hey, congrats man! That’s awesome; now the non-card collecting, sports-loving public will get the benefit of your excellent writing, too. Nice work!

2 01 2009
kimaloo

Congrats Mario! Good luck with the new gig. :o)

Leave a Reply

