3 signs Beckett is getting desperate

22 12 2008

While it is clear that there are a handful of card bloggers who support Beckett Media, it’s painfully obvious that these guys are just not well-liked by many collectors on the Internet. This is not just the blogosphere because it is also prevalent in the collecting forums.

Beckett Media has a chance to respond to all the “hate”, as Cardboard Icons puts it but instead they have decide to do everything in their power to sweep it under the rug while giving the “anti-Beckett” bloggers the middle finger with one hand and stroking the “Razor Shines” of pro-Beckett blogs with the other.

Below are 3 signs of Beckett’s desperation:

Sign #3

Dave of Fielder’s Choice is one of the most well-spoken members of the blog community. Put him in a suit and tie and he’d fit right in as the C.E.O. of Beckett Media, it just so happens that he can’t stand anything about them. If it helps, Dave’s face is less “rotundus”, as one anonymous, Texas-based IP address wrote it on Gellman’s blog (link) so you’d think he’d get a little respect from the good ol’ boys in Texas. Nope.

Dave created an icon for bloggers to put in their sidebar to show they support Sports Cards Uncensored (link). Rather than respond to the issue, Beckett has decided to mock Fielder’s Choice by creating their own version of the image and putting it in their sidebar. At first I thought this was somewhat humorous  but by just tossing it up on their site without explanation it shows that they do hear your complaints and just don’t give a rat’s ass about them.

Sign #2

Beckett Media has been busy stroking all the pro-Beckett blogs by leaving comments accusing me of misquoting them in this post I wrote last week. Sorry Eric, but I took a screen capture of your exact comment and what I believed was the single most important aspect of it. I didn’t change anything about it or add anything to it (minus the Chris Olds watermark).

Sign #1

This is perhaps the most satisfying sign of all. This weekend I wrote what was perhaps the most popular single blog of the week exposing Razor Entertainment and Beckett Media. It showed what a real collector who isn’t paid off by a company will more than likely pull from a product that was busted on Beckett’s Box Busters.

4,000+ views and 27 comments later, Beckett Media responds with a “random” bust of one of their forum users. Considering there is about 20 people left on their message boards, this was clearly an attempt to save the product (and their reputation). Good try Eric but it’s clear at least on the Internet that this product and your box breaks are pure shit and everyone knows it.

Actions

Information

50 responses

22 12 2008
Gellman

This is the best article yet.

22 12 2008
Paul

Are your personal opinions re: Beckett the reason they removed your blog from the list of blogs on their site? It seemed that at about the same time that happened they added many more too…

22 12 2008
Mario A.

I noticed that they removed my link (which was there for over a year) and then brought it back and then a week later removed it for good.

My problems with Beckett began with some backstabbing maneuvers they pulled about a month ago.

22 12 2008
Dave

Wow, Mario, Beckett definitely picked the wrong guy to be enemies with when they pissed you off! With your huge number of readers, you have have a ton of power to make people see everything that’s wrong with Beckett, and it’s awesome that you’re using that power to fight for what’s right. Me as the CEO of Beckett? That’s an interesting thought. I do hate the company the way that it currently exists, but if I was their CEO, I could fire all the douche bags, restore the integrity that Dr. James Beckett used to bring to the company, and make Beckett serve the interests of collectors. That might not be so bad 🙂

22 12 2008
Newspaperman

Mario, I’m assuming they have chosen not to publically and directly respond to this stuff because they are running a business over there and to do so would hurt their bottom line.

Any type of comments made in public will affect business. And while one could argue that their practices are already hurting the company’s bottom line, there is still a segment of the hobby that has no idea about your relationship with Beckett, the opinions of Adam Gellman or anyone else who has disdain for the company, so they are still buying Beckett products.

If Beckett were to come out and post several blogs responding to all criticism, particularly by you or Gellman, then the company would be opening itself up to even more criticism, particularly by those who had no knowledge of the issues in the past. From a business standpoint, it does not make a bunch of sense.

And don’t construe this comment as me being completely pro-Beckett. This comment was made only to give people an idea as to why companies may chose NOT to respond to all criticism.

22 12 2008
Mario A.

Ben, I understand what you are saying but isn’t creating a mock version of Dave’s banner doing just that?

22 12 2008
Jeff W

I hope Beckett posts aren’t going to be up all the time now. It’s one thing to expose them, it’s quite another to force feed your opinion.

22 12 2008
Mario A.

Of course not. I felt it was important to bring up all these factors into one post. Sometimes I catch myself posting back to back to back on a particular subject (ex. Jose Canseco) and then I switch it up.

I already have a huge completely different post written and waiting in the wings for around 6 PM Eastern time. The only thing I will force feed the readers of Wax Heaven is how awesome Pinnacle Brands was. 🙂

22 12 2008
Newspaperman

Yes and no. It’s an inside dig at Adam’s efforts to rally the troops. The only people who get that are those who have been paying attention to situation.

It’s not like they wrote an editorial in the magazine (or on the home of Beckett.com) blasting anti-Beckett efforts by bloggers. Now that would be some serious shit.

That little logo is their way of letting bloggers know they are aware of the criticism and aware of the anti-Beckett movement. It’s also their way of saying they are not going anywhere …

T

22 12 2008
Ross

Yeah I agree with Jeff its getting old. Until you guys start blaming the companies that support Beckett and allow them to operate the way they do not much is going to change.

22 12 2008
Motherscratcher23

The biggest shame of the whole thing is it doesn’t have to be like this. If Beckett had the fortitude and the vision to do it, they could change the things that need to be changed and contuinue to be one of the most important parts of the hobby. It’s right there for them.

But they won’t. Somebody else will, though. It’s inevitable. Eventually no one will care any more about them because they are wrong about so much. It may take a while, but it will happen. And it doesn’t have to.

22 12 2008
Newspaperman

The way I see things, the prime criticism is the Box Breaks right now. Until they go to a hobby shop and buy the boxes right off the shelf like every other collector they will forever be open to criticism about the pulls … GOOD OR BAD.

The moment they open a bad box, everyone will again cry foul and say they had to open the token poor box every once in a while. The only way to rectify this is to purchase product from the shelf and do not have a company rep sitting there grinning like they have a hand in the cookie jar.

I never understood the purpose fo a spokesman sitting there while opening the product. I’m sure it’s part of the deal (free wax = face time on video) but it’s crap. It’s no different than when Ken Goldin used to show his shit-eating grin on Shop at Home while Don and Eddy busted their loaded garbage on TV.

I don’t hate Beckett like many others, but I do think the box busting is a bit shady. Hell, I’d love to see Beckett do Blaster Breaks and video the whole process …

22 12 2008
Fuji

excellent article… i agree 100%.

22 12 2008
Gellman

“I hope Beckett posts aren’t going to be up all the time now. It’s one thing to expose them, it’s quite another to force feed your opinion.”

Force feed? Cmon. No one is FORCING you to read this. Its Mario’s Wax Heaven, not Jeff’s. Feel free to start your own blog and run it however you want, I mean that in a non-threatening fashion. Hell, Ill even link to you even if you dont agree with me on ideas.

22 12 2008
freeandylaroche

You obviously have your reasons for opposing Beckett, but trying to belittle and marginalize people who disagree with you by suggesting they’re not “well-liked?” What the heck is that all about? Is this a popularity contest?

I don’t think there’s anyone out there who thinks Beckett is flawless and perfect. But it’s really frustrating seeing what I feel is a non-issue dramatized into something much more. So what if Beckett gets loaded boxes? It’s ridiculous, strange, and obviously reeks of illegitimacy, but that doesn’t affect a collector such as myself (and there obviously are plenty more like me) who isn’t chasing after the big hits. And if there’s ANYONE out there who assumes the box he’s gonna break is going to be exactly like the ones Beckett gets, well, you know what they say about selling bridges.

I understand your frustration, but I’d appreciate not being lumped into some ill-conceived category because I don’t have the same collecting motives you do. As you yourself note, there are plenty of collectors who don’t at all have a problem with using Beckett for what it is – a reference point.

And in the end, if you have such a problem with Topps/UD/Donruss et. al. sending Beckett loaded boxes, then stop supporting them. Isn’t that the heart of the matter here? Why bother complaining about Beckett getting loaded boxes? Why not complain about the manufacturers sending them loaded boxes in the first place? Where is the Topps boycott? The Donruss boycott?

22 12 2008
Newspaperman

FreeAndy: Excellent comment, I feel the same way about many of the things you brought up, particularly the boycott of manufacturers who appear to be acting unethically. I suggested the same thing a few days ago on another blog.

22 12 2008
Dave

Freeandylaroche, I think that Mario was saying that Beckett was not well-liked by many folks online, not that bloggers who support Beckett are not well-liked.

22 12 2008
Mario A.

Correct.

I like all blogs regardless of their views on Beckett.

22 12 2008
Newspaperman

Adam (Gellman) … speaking of force feed, can’t the same argument you used here be applied to all things Beckett?

No one is forcing anyone to believe or buy anything that comes from the Good Ol’ Boys in Texas. Clearly you and others feel that Beckett offers a product that is not important, and feel the company itself is involved in chicanery that is unethical. If you feel that way, wash your hands of the situation.

In saying this, I am not suggesting no one write about Beckett or share their opinions (good or bad). All of this is important discussion.

But continuing to mention the name of a product/company that you are trying to stay away from, or discredit to a point that others will follow you in the fight, is somewhat counter productive.

All this Beckett talk in the last five days has done nothing but drum up interest again. I’d bet that if we looked at the daily stats for Beckett.com, they’ve been higher in the last week or so than they had been in the same time frame prior.

22 12 2008
dubble

I understand being upset with Beckett, but agree that the real outrage should be toward the companies providing the boxes. When Mario started receiving free product, many people were skeptical. If Upper Deck had sent loaded boxes to Mario, should he have sent them back and not posted the results here? If Upper Deck had sent a box or two with a ridiculous hit, would we then be boycotting Wax Heaven for this?

22 12 2008
Mario A.

You don’t have to worry about me receiving any loaded boxes from U.D. anytime soon. Beckett has made it so I no longer get any more exclusives or boxes to review. It’s called threats and Beckett does them regularly to get what they want.

22 12 2008
Chris Gilmore

“You don’t have to worry about me receiving any loaded boxes from U.D. anytime soon. Beckett has made it so I no longer get any more exclusives or boxes to review. It’s called threats and Beckett does them regularly to get what they want.”

What in the world makes you come to that conclusion. I am sorry Mario, but that just does not pass any plausibility test. Yes, they may not like you, but if you are suggesting that they went as far as to actually lean on Carlin or Melia in order to get them to quit sending you product to review then you are probably mistaken. I review product, regularly. I know how the system works. I also know that beckett doesn’t give two craps about you reviewing product from upper deck.

Publish this comment or not, it is a very true an unbiased opinion.

22 12 2008
Jason ballew

Wait, so you’re saying that UD is no longer sponsoring you because of Beckett?

Seriously, if this could be proven, that would be …. huge.

Now, on the entire thing? I fully blame the card companies as well as Beckett. It’s quite possibly collusion and fraudulent.

Granted, I’m not Mario or Adam, so it’s not like I have card companies or Beckett paying attention to me. At least, not that I know of. However, I’ve got a video box b reak and a video response to the issue coming up, probably tonight.

22 12 2008
Mario A.

I know for a fact they do care what I do and were none too pleased that I broke the 2009 Upper Deck preview. I have the emails to prove it.

I don’t pretend to know what kind of inner workings and connections you have at Freedom Cardboard but don’t pretend like you have the slightest idea about what goes on at Wax Heaven. I was asked by a certain party not to discuss the details but as time passes I will simply post picture proof of how much Beckett was/is out to blackball me.

22 12 2008
Tom the Ripper

dude, you gotta post that. it would be freaking awesome!

22 12 2008
Mario A.

Tom, I will in due time. It’s what started everything for me as far as being anti-Beckett. Up until that point, I was friends with quite a few of those guys.

22 12 2008
Peter

Well, this certainly is an interesting turn of events.

I agree with Jason, if Mario has proof of this it would definitely be huge for those of us who are card collector bloggers…a huge step in the wrong direction.

22 12 2008
Eric Slette

Wow, Beckett pressured Upper Deck into no longer sending you stuff? Fuck them. That’s fucking weak, and shows that they’re either incredibly petty, incredibly insecure, or incredibly guilty of receiving loaded boxes. Not that I really should have to begin with, but I will now never buy a Beckett publication again, and I am debating contacting their customer service department.

22 12 2008
Chris Gilmore

I never said I know the inner workings of your site. I said I know how UD and beckett generally does business. Don’t put words in my mouth.

22 12 2008
Mario A.

Just because the companies work with you in a a certain way doesn’t mean they do it the same way with me. Regardless of your opinion on the matter, I have the proof, it will be public soon and that is all that matters.

P.S – What made you think I wouldn’t approve your comment?

22 12 2008
Chris Gilmore

Some bloggers don’t approve of comments they don’t agree with. I am not specifically talking about you, but it does happen.

22 12 2008
Mario A.

You and I have different views but at the same time you have never come off as disrespectful. The only comments I don’t approve are the racist ones (which I get more than you’d think) and those that are just full of hate.

22 12 2008
Dave

Wow – I am stunned. After Mario goes public with his proof, I hope that the Beckett apologists out there will tone down their defenses of those Beckett scumbags.

22 12 2008
Chris Gilmore

Eh, there is no need or room for racism in today’s society.

But back to topic. Beckett is what it is. They are the old guard hanging onto an environment that has drastically changed. They know this, that is evident by their wanting to change their website to make it look more like a social networking site, and the hiring of certain personnel to run a blog and interact with collectors. They are doing all they can to hold on as long as they can, and if you or I were running the show over there I doubt we would do much different. I think calling them evil is a bit of an overstatement, especially when you and they basically have the same goals. If the hobby gets to be more popular, they stand to gain as much as anyone. If the hobby gets to be more popular, your site becomes more popular. Now listen, I am not saying lets get behind every single little thing they do, or fanboy them into oblivion, but the constant bashing seems to be counter productive. We all have the same basic goal, I think sometimes we need to remember that.

22 12 2008
Gellman

“Some bloggers don’t approve of comments they don’t agree with. I am not specifically talking about you, but it does happen.”

That was an accident, I meant to approve your comment on the Beckett break, but I accidentally deleted it and couldnt get it back. I mean, why wouldnt I? I approved the fat joke ones.

Totally my bad, sorry.

22 12 2008
Gellman

“Some bloggers don’t approve of comments they don’t agree with. I am not specifically talking about you, but it does happen.”

That was an accident, I meant to approve your comment on the Beckett break, but I accidentally deleted it and couldnt get it back. I mean, why wouldnt I? I approved the fat joke ones.

Totally my bad, sorry.

23 12 2008
Tony G.

I looked at all this stuff you said and you lied more than one time.

One- The Beckett guy didnt say what you implied in your post from the other day and now you didnt post the right thing in this post.

Two- Upper Deck doesn’t give in to pressure form anyone. I know three guys there very well and they laughed at this claim. I will eat my words if you can prove that but I know you cant. You are just looking for hits.

This is a joke.

23 12 2008
Mario A.

Hi “Tony”.

Consider my Jose Canseco press conference post was linked by Deadspin.com, trust me when I tell you that I don’t need the “hits”.

In fact, they have been the biggest referrer for two days now as is usually the case when the link to me.

23 12 2008
dubble

The Topps Sterling bust ended up being…well a bust. Autographed Jim Palmer being the best card. I guess Topps mixed up the loaded box and sent it out accidentally to a distributor. The horror!

23 12 2008
balboa

What a website being paid off? that seems to be the norm for websites lately…

cough razor cough

I hear brian from razor is claiming they will be hand sorting that garbage letterman product, funny he said the same thing with the draft garbage 4 months ago on the razor fanboy nation bbs. And the sorting is AWFUL I guess after beckett pulls 4 letterman from 4 boxes he will then not address this and move on to razors next original idea “gimmick”.

23 12 2008
Mario A.

Guys, just want to let you know that I appreciate all the emails I have been receiving. I won’t be able to respond to them until later tonight but….

I am working on a new sponsorship deal with a company that has zero affiliations with the Hobby and just sells boxes and cases. If it works out I will be able to review a lot of boxes from Topps which would be a lot of fun.

If for whatever reason the deal falls through and I start the new year without a sponsor it won’t be the end of the world. Wax Heaven blew up because of my commentary. I only began reporting on news as a bonus. I can always go back to commentaries and not have to worry about dealing with the political side of the Hobby.

It’s meant to be fun and I don’t want to forget that.

23 12 2008
Chris

“Some bloggers don’t approve of comments they don’t agree with. I am not specifically talking about you, but it does happen.”

That was an accident, I meant to approve your comment on the Beckett break, but I accidentally deleted it and couldnt get it back. I mean, why wouldnt I? I approved the fat joke ones.

Totally my bad, sorry.”

Not you Gellman

You are probably the most ballsy blogger out there. You take everything strait up.

23 12 2008
Chris

Hi “Tony”.

Consider my Jose Canseco press conference post was linked by Deadspin.com, trust me when I tell you that I don’t need the “hits”.

In fact, they have been the biggest referrer for two days now as is usually the case when the link to me.

If I get one million hits on my website, I want 2 million. 🙂

There is no such thing as too big.

23 12 2008
Jeff W

Gellman brother, nobody forces me to read this is right on. I was expressing my opinion that I would be disappointed to see this blog go down the angry/agenda route, many others including yours would be great without it. This is the only blog I read regularly for that reason (besides the very good writing, photos etc) and this post just didn’t do it for me. I won’t start a blog, I’m not an internet super hero.

23 12 2008
Bryan

brother, you summed it up perfectly when you said, “they do hear your complaints and just don’t give a rat’s ass about them.”

You hit the nail on the head.

23 12 2008
Ross

freeandylaroche said:

“And in the end, if you have such a problem with Topps/UD/Donruss et. al. sending Beckett loaded boxes, then stop supporting them. Isn’t that the heart of the matter here? Why bother complaining about Beckett getting loaded boxes? Why not complain about the manufacturers sending them loaded boxes in the first place? Where is the Topps boycott? The Donruss boycott?”

That’s all I have been trying to say with my posts related to Beckett on Boxbusters and it appears some have mislabeled me and or my blog as a “Beckett apologists” People need to realize that Beckett could not be doing the things everyone is complaining about without the support it receives from the big three. Just because I don’t want to whine and moan and make up silly graphics about them doesn’t mean I support what they do. It just means I think your fight would be better served if you took your problems with Beckett to Topps/Donruss/UD and the others paying the bills and maybe did so in more of a professional manner. How serious can you expect to be taken when half of your rants contain a ridiculous amount of cuss words and silly threats? Like the “banner” Beckett put up in “response” to the one that was made by Dave….. do you really think that is an accomplishment? I view it as Beckett making fun of the “call to arms” and all the other nonsense going on lately.

23 12 2008
JRJ

Newspaperman – You’re position on criticism responses isn’t entirely correct. In the past, company’s turned the other way to anything web related. Today, companies monitor everything on the web and should react accordingly – that may be direct emails or answering some questions on blogs.

It’s being a part of an online community. Beckett used to be pretty active in responding to posts on other blogs and building a community by answering critics and contributing on other blogs on various subjects. For whatever reason, that ended this summer.

They can’t answer every critic, but I think they should be more active.

23 12 2008
Gellman

“How serious can you expect to be taken when half of your rants contain a ridiculous amount of cuss words and silly threats?”

I AM THUPER CEREAL.

Manbearpig is out there and we need to get him.

23 12 2008
Ross

Man Gellman maybe you should consider doing standup or something because you are just too original!! Or perhaps maybe something more manly since you can cuss and make fun of people. It surely cant require anything with much thought required. Instead of a childish response why not attempt to post something that requires some thought sometime?

23 12 2008
Mario A.

Alright guys, time to move on. I am done discussing Beckett, Upper Deck, or any other Hobby-related politics. I just wrote five blogs in a matter of a few hours for collectors to check out.

Enjoy! 🙂




