This is not your father’s Stadium Club!

24 07 2008

A couple of month’s ago I was asked, along with several other card bloggers to support the ‘Bring Back Stadium Club‘ campaign. I have to say to Ryan from Trader Crack’s, congratulations you succeeded! At least that appears to be the case after reading the breaking story from Fielder’s Choice. Great job to Dave for the reporting and for his blog in general, which gets my vote for “Rookie Blog of the Year”.

Here is the part that floored me, though:

Price: $225 a box

EVERY BOX contains:
12 Autographed Cards; including 6 Rookie Autos!
1 Hobby Exclusive Yankee Relic Card!
12 numbered* Rookie Cards!
12 numbered* Parallel cards!

It appears that Stadium Club is going straight for the jugular of Upper Deck SPx and might have a great shot at winning this fight but that’s a bit too high for me. Don’t get me wrong, I trust Topps will put out a great product (barring redemptions) but I am not going to pay over $200 for a box when it costs $50 to fill my gas tank these days.

You know, it would have been great if Topps used the Stadium Club brand to bring something great back into the hobby.  Maybe a Masterpieces-like feel good product with great base cards and beautiful relics. Unfortunately, all they did is bring ‘Triple Threads Lite’ to the masses and made their product available only to a select few who can afford it. The rest of us will just have to scour eBay looking for the cards we like.

Shame Topps, shame….

Actions

Information

8 responses

24 07 2008
chemgod

Why aren’t the card companies getting it. With it costing 50-70 bucks to fill up a car, $225 for a box of baseball cards is ridiculous. Are you telling me that those autographs are going to be worth $20 each? I think not!

24 07 2008
The Infamous Tatiana

It only cost you $50 bucks to fill up the Mustang? It costs me $65.00 + to fill up my Nissan Altima.

24 07 2008
Chris Harris

Just when I thought Topps was beginning to get their shit together with A&G, they pull this.

Hopefully, Topps will have enough sense to make a retail version without the gimmicks.

24 07 2008
Gellman

This isnt suprising considering that both Basketball and Football will cost the same. Topps is lacking in high end products and they are losing out big time, they are bringing this in because they know the name attracts, not because they want to relive the glory days.

24 07 2008
dayf

Anything over $100 a box isn’t on my radar. I’ll pick up a blaster of the retail version though and wish that it was Bowman Heritage.

24 07 2008
Jeff W

When I heard it was coming back I thought good photography was back, meaning great base cards. Instead we get another dose of high price based on no new ideas and flooding the market with parallels and autos.

24 07 2008
Hoiles

You can get last year’s Ultra SE boxes for around $35 now… hopefully the “suggested” price for Stadium Club will similarly prove to be unrealistic.

24 07 2008
dodgerfaninomaha

I wish topps would make all products affordable for the collectors who only spend a reasonable amount on cards.

Leave a Reply

