One box of Allen & Ginter = 22 RIP cards

20 07 2008

A man in Taiwan who bought two Hobby boxes of 2008 Allen & Ginter came away with perhaps the best pulls of 2008, not counting dead presidents and hair. Of course, this is the Internet so it can’t be truly verified but he has provided the image below.

My question is simple: are Rip cards case hits? if so, will 21 cases now not include Rip cards? If that’s the case, it’s yet another strike on the reputation of Topps Company.

Now, on another note: What the heck is so great about Rip cards? Doesn’t Topps Opening Day do the very same thing with their cards? I guess it’s just the crush that collectors have with A & G that drives this madness.

Actions

Information

12 responses

20 07 2008
Charlie

Opening day has flapper cards. Rip cards are supposed to 1 per case because…

HOBBY EXCLUSIVE RIP CARDS
· Collectible Rip Card Exteriors
· Rip Card Interiors
o1 1 of 1 Dick Perez Original Sketches – all 1/1
o2 Allen & Ginter Red Autographs – #’d to 10
o3 Allen & Ginter Mini Exclusives – #’d to 10
o4 Allen & Ginter Mini Wood Exclusives – all 1/1

20 07 2008
Charlie

I’d also kinda like to know how the hell he got his boxes already. There’s not that much of a time difference between here and Asia. Is it already Wednesday there?

20 07 2008
rosschrisman2003

thats crazy. i would never buy a sealed rip card off the internet. just because people use lights to see whats inside.

20 07 2008
Smith

I have only bought 1 hobby box of A&G (last year) and was disappointed for the amount that was paid. Yes, I got my guaranteed hits but I would have hoped to have done better than Brian Roberts and Scott Podsednik GU cards as my hits. Sure I know that A&G isn’t all about the hits…its a set-building product, but for $100+ I would expect more bang for the buck. One positive about this product is that it does provides lots of base cards unlike many higher end sets now where you get 30 cards (at most) and pay $120…

This year I plan to buy a blaster or 2 of A&G because the cards do look nice and I like them….I just don’t wanna drop $100+ on a box. If the price was more reasonable I wouldn’t hesitate about buying a box of this as it is a fun break, just to pricey for the end result IMO.

20 07 2008
dayf

They must have mixed up the Taiwan shipment with the Beckett shipment…

People are crazy over the rip cards because inside the card is a mini card. It can be autographed or made of wood or be the actual sketch from Dick Perez for the filler cards. Usually they are a short printed regular mini card which is still big bucks because all of the people trying to make a complete set out there.

20 07 2008
Jeff W

You have got to be kidding. I hope its just a hot box and there aren’t 21 rip free cases.

21 07 2008
Garrett Barnes

I love A & G! Most beautiful cards ever. In my eyes worth every penny.

21 07 2008
Mike Hawk

22 rip cards in one box is nothing.. did you see the 200+ rip cards in TWO cases of AG busted in Taiwan?!?!?!

http://www.blowoutcards.com/forums/baseball/10701-g-crazy-case-1xx-rip-cards.html

21 07 2008
Charlie

If this is true, it’s pretty sickening. However, I would really like to see one shred of evidence that shows they pulled these from actual boxes.

My problem with believing this is that they just show us pics of the rip cards. No empty boxes, no opened packs.

Don’t you think maybe after they had pulled a dozen or so from one case, they MAYBE would have stopped to try and find a video camera, or some other way to document the legitimacy of this.

After reading this, I’ve checked out several stories of similar occurences with other serial #’d refractors, et al. Funny how this always seems to happen in Asia.

21 07 2008
Gellman

Wasnt it last year where some cases had like 8 -10 autos and others had 1 or none? A and G collation has always been a joke. Either way, this is a little extreme.

21 07 2008
Charlie

The best thing about all of this is that there are only 6 rip cards for sale on eBay right now, so where are all of these? You would think they’d try to unload them right away.

Although, the 6 for sale are all in Taiwan, as are most of the 14 autos currently for sale. I’d really like to know what that’s all about.

All this BS aside, I’m still getting my boxes. My local hobby is selling them for $88!! That’s the first time all year that his price has been competitive with eBay. I can’t wait. This is the first Hobby Box I’ve been excited about in almost 2 months.

4 01 2009
Eric VT

I know the Box of A&G I got for Xmas I pulled 2 Rip cards a Miguel Cabrera and a James shields. I never expected the 2nd one after the first I thoguht that was it I was stunned to see a second. I also thought it was 1 per case. I guess not

Leave a Reply

