Giving up on Mike Rabelo

24 06 2008

I came into the 2008 season excited for many reasons. Obviously Andrew Miller was the main one but for some reason I was expecting big things from another one of Miller’s former teammates in Detroit, Mike Rabelo. Perhaps the reason was because I didn’t think Matt Treanor was much of a catcher. Boy, was I wrong.

This season has been a disaster so far for Mike and it seems to have hit a low-point after being demoted to Triple-A Albuquerque today. So where did it go all wrong for the guy who was suppose to be our full-time catcher? Well, for starters he just couldn ‘t hit. In 109 at-bats he was hitting .202 and that’s with a full opportunity to play early in the season.

Not just that but the guy we all counted out, Matt Treanor, actually found his stroke at the plate and continued to do something Mike knows nothing about, be nice to the fans. I cannot tell you how many times the Infamous Tatiana has called Mike’s name for something as simple as a wave and has gotten ignored. I can’t remember the exact number but I do know the percentage of times she’s been ignored, 100% of the time.

In every single game we have attended not once have I seen Mike in a good mood and signing for the kids. I have seen Marlins superstar Dan Uggla and Hanley Ramirez sign multiple times, not to mention Mike Jacobs, Josh Willingham, Andrew Miller, and countless others but never Mike. Heck, we even called him once after a game when all anyone cared about was getting Ken Griffey Jr.’s attention and can say 99% of the crowd was after Griffey. The 1% was Tatiana and I hoping for an autograph or at the very least a photo for Wax Heaven.

As you can imagine, we got shut out once more. Well, Mike’s on the Isotopes now and I am guessing my good friend Kris from Cards in the Attic will have better luck getting Mike’s signature on a card. If not, he could always write a scathing blog about it. I know I would.

Mike Rabelo 2007 Bowman Gold Autograph


Actions

Information

4 responses

24 06 2008
Dave

Sounds like bad karma for Mike Rabelo.

I can’t wait for the start of the Rays vs. Marlins series tonight! Are you going to any of the games? Let’s Go Rays🙂

25 06 2008
Mario A.

Sorry, no weekday games cause of work. We are off on weekends and have tickets for Saturday’s game vs. the Diamondbacks!!!

25 06 2008
Dave

What a game tonight! Rays win even though Percy was trying to give it away. Even my wife was at the edge of her seat in the 9th.

25 06 2008
The Infamous Tatiana

I had a meltdown in the 8th. Freaking bull pen.😦

Leave a Reply

