Don’t believe the hype!

20 06 2008

In 2007 the entire hobby world fell in love with a guy named Joba Chamberlain and his Bowman Chrome Rookie Autograph. Meanwhile, in that same set was another rookie auto that for the most part went unnoticed, that of Tim Lincecum.

Perhaps it was because his name wasn’t as cool as “Joba” or maybe it’s because he didn’t play on the almighty New York Yankees but it seems for every one informed collector who picked up Lincecum’s rookies, there was ten guys all under 21 drooling over “Jobamania”.

Well, we are almost halfway done with the 2008 season and Joba and Tim have completely changed positions. While Chamberlain has been juggled from the bullpen to the rotation, his record is a measly 1-2 while Lincecum, a starter from the beginning is an aesthetically-pleasing 8-1 with a 2.21 ERA and a contender for the Cy Young Award.

It also goes to show you that despite the hobby hype that drowns over common sense, it does not pay off to invest in an unproven rookie, ever. I am not calling Joba the next Todd Van Poppel but there are some “fans” who honestly believed that he would somehow win 30+ games in 2008 last year.

The crazy thing is that it happened again in June with Jay Bruce. You wouldn’t believe how many Reds fans in the stands at the Marlins game were expecting him to hit .400 or crank out 50 home runs by season’s end. Well, it’s been less than 30 games and Bruce is hitting just under .320 with 4-home runs. There are a couple of no-name Marlins like Cody Ross and Jorge Cantu that put those numbers to shame.

I hate to say it but, “I TOLD YOU SO“.

I have a video dedication for the guys who fell for the enormous hype of Jay Bruce. It’s from Weird Al Yankovich, not to mention the Transformers: The Movie soundtrack. The 80’s version that didn’t suck, not the new, terrible version put out last year. Blah!

If the video doesn’t work, CLICK HERE.


Actions

Information

9 responses

20 06 2008
Lennart

W-L doesn’t mean much. Did you skip Joba’s ERA on purpose? Yes, I am a Yankees fan.

20 06 2008
Grant

You believed the Jay Bruce hype once, going 3-3 who didn’t? I’m reminded of the 6th post in May’s “Best of WaxHeaven”…

20 06 2008
Mario A.

That list was for making for of the Jay Bruce addicts on Beckett…

20 06 2008
Mario A.

Lennart, unless you are 2-10 with an ERA of 2.22 than wins doesn’t mean much but while Joba’s 2.36 is spectacular, Tim’s ERA of 2.21 is not only better but even more impressive considering he has pitched A LOT more innings than Joba.

20 06 2008
Tony - The Football Card Blog

I thought Transformers (in 2007) was fantastic, compared to what I expected it to be, given that it was Michael Bay.

As for the Jay Bruce/Cody Ross/Jorge Cantu comparison, I hope you’re not really saying you would take Ross (and his .209 average) over Bruce. And Cantu has played in almost three times as many games (70 to 23), and is hittig under .290, to Bruce’s .318. They hype for him may have been (still is?) overblown, but I’d take Bruce over Cantu and Ross any day of the week.

As for Joba, right on. The hype there is ridiculous. If he was wearing any other uniform (other than one with a ugly red B on it), we wouldn’t even know who he is yet.

20 06 2008
Laurens

Joba looks like he’s on his way to becoming a stud starting pitcher, much to the chagrin of those who said his long-term future was going to be a closer.

The Yankees are getting better, Joba as a starter has been pitching better and there will be ‘I told you so,’ unless Joba completely implodes.

For collectors/speculators, Joba will make much more of an impact in New York, than Tim Lincecum playing in San Francisco.

21 06 2008
Dave

Mario, can you give me a hand? I’ve fallen and I can’t get up! I have fallen for the “hype” of Jay Bruce. I really do think that he can be one of the great players of the next decade, and maybe more.

I don’t consider myself to be a “prospector”, but if I had to pick the cards of two rookies to invest in, I’d pick Bruce and Longoria. Of course, Longoria is on my favorite team so I collect him anyway. I wouldn’t go out of my way for a Bruce card, though I’ll be redeeming my #2 Topps Finest Redemption for one.

As for Joba, I don’t like him at all. I like Lincecum, but you never know if young pitchers can stay healthy and consistent over the long haul.

22 06 2008
Brad

Ha ha. don’t lie. You were on Joba’s jock like everyone else. You were a rube who was fooled like the rest. I on the other hand am better than you hayseeds and called this from the start.

23 06 2008
Mario A.

Brad, you must of made a fortune with your hundreds of cases per month…

Leave a Reply

