Redemption Blues

13 06 2008

It’s not often you are lucky enough to pull an autograph from a player you collect but that’s exactly what happened more than 6 months ago when I bought a box of 2007 ’52 Topps Rookie Cup Edition and one of my autographs was a redemption of Andrew Miller.

Well, today I received the results of my first-ever Redemption and it is a replacement. Talk about bad Karma. Not only that, the card is not exactly worth much on eBay so I am guessing it’s somewhere in the neighborhood of a $10.00 card or maybe $15. If I’m wrong, please correct me.

I am going to try my best to trade the thing for something worthwhile.


Actions

Information

13 responses

14 06 2008
sam

what i would do is contact topps and demand for something of greater or equal value to the Andrew Miller Autograph

14 06 2008
dayf

Ugh, that’s terrible. I’d definitely contact Topps about that. I’ve only got a replacement for a redemption one time and I got a jersey, autograph and a pack of Stadium Club instead of an Eddie Belfour stick piece. The only thing going for that card is that it’s a red parallel.

14 06 2008
madding

Wow… that’s just shameful on their part. Topps has some serious problems.

14 06 2008
Bryan

I would be upset if I didn’t get the player I wanted , but maybe the other card will be worth something since it’s in red ink and #’d

14 06 2008
Brian

wow. I would flip out. Seriously.
Why can’t the baseball card manufacturers learn form the non-sports companies. They never disappoint fans/collectors. Topps and UD… not so much.

14 06 2008
Mario A.

I am also waiting on a Bowman Draft Picks & Prospects Ross Detwiller.

14 06 2008
Mario A.

I’ll give them a call on Monday. If not, I’ll just sell it on eBay and get $10 from guys looking to complete the Red Auto set. I heard they bid pretty high on them even if it is…..this guy.

14 06 2008
chemgod

You know whats funny, is that, it’s not like Miller isn’t signing anything.

14 06 2008
Jbob

I love the “circumstances beyond our control” part. Then exactly who is in control of the quality at Topps. Certainly Mario isn’t, Topps isn’t, so no one is i guess, boo topps, and i’m saying boo-urns.

14 06 2008
ormly

i have had about 10 redemptions sent into topps in the past year. i have gotten 1 that has been fully redeemed. the others were garbage replacements along with the same note. don’t expect any topps redemption to be fullfilled completely

14 06 2008
Will Entrekin

Yeah, I was going to say the same thing: contact Topps. I’d also mention you have a blog (they won’t want negative publicity). Ask to speak to PR or something, and if it turns out they really can’t get an Andrew Miller signed card, show them what such cards sell for and see if you can’t get a case (or at least a box) out of the deal. Or something else uber-special.

I wouldn’t sit quietly, though. It’s bad business. Makes people less likely to buy Topps, and Topps won’t want that.

15 06 2008
Gellman

Ouch man, I cant believe that. UD will be allowing people to select redemption replacements online so that things like this will hopefully not happen anymore.

21 08 2008
Jeff

Leave a Reply

