2008 U.D Masterpieces preview!

12 06 2008

Perhaps my true favorite product from 2007 after SPx, Upper Deck Masterpieces is coming soon and below is a few product details with some of the cards. You can download the entire checklist by clicking HERE.

Product Details:

$6.99 per pack

6 cards per pack, 12 packs per box, 16 boxes per case

The base set includes just 90 cards with an extra 30 short prints. All autographs are on-card so no worries about seeing those ugly stickers. In each box you are going to get 6 short prints, one autograph, and one game-used relic.

This year’s autographs for Masterpieces include Ken Griffey Jr., Alex Rodriguez, Nolan Ryan, Albert Pujols, and Cal Ripken Jr. among many others.


Actions

Information

11 responses

12 06 2008
Matt

Absolutely insane number of parallels aside, Masterpieces are some good looking cards.

12 06 2008
Dave

Sweet! I also loved ’07 Masterpieces. It looks like the base set design is pretty much the same though. And $6.99 for a 4-card pack? That’s a lot more than last year. Oh well, still looks good.

12 06 2008
tastelikedirt

That Papelbon card totally rules!

12 06 2008
Gellman

I dont care how good this product was last year, did you see how many parallels there are for every single card? I think I might shoot myself in the face.

Plus the names are so awful that the guy who made them should be slapped. Pinot? Hades? Cmon!

12 06 2008
Gellman

Also, the “stroke of genius” set better not include Hideki Matsui if you catch my drift.

12 06 2008
Mario A.

Gellman, with names like that it should have been listed on the back of the cards cause I just could not tell them apart. I have a blue border Andrew Miller….that’s all I know.

At least I think it’s blue.

12 06 2008
JBob

I think this is at least one of the best looking sets sets upper deck puts out, even if it is a little pricey.

12 06 2008
darkship

I’ve got the complete base set of ’07 and I think the ’08 set will look real nice behind it in the binder!! Can’t wait to get a box of these!

12 06 2008
PAB

I loved 07 Masterpieces and hope to put the 08 set together. I’m a little disapointed about the price, the short prints (just make it a 120 card base set), and the fact that there is a Barry Zito card. I’m not the biggest Giant’s fan in the world and realize that Topps has the licensing agreement with Bonds, but come on at least put out a card of Willie Mays, Willie McCovey, or one of my personal favorite’s Will Clark.

13 06 2008
dayf

$6.99 per pack Hobby and probably $2.99 a pack retail. Guess who’ll be buying blasters again. The short prints bum me out though. It was nice to have one great looking set to collect where I didn’t have to go crazy chasing short prints.

Is Papelbon about to turn into the Incredible Hulk on that card?

14 06 2008
Joe

Nolan sporting the first jersey t-shirt I bought as a kid. Man I miss the rainbow unis.

Leave a Reply

