Wax Heaven is closing its doors

10 06 2008

This morning I had an epiphany.

I love baseball cards but I am officially over it.

I returned to the Hobby in mid-2007 and began writing at rate never seen before. It’s been less than ten months at the helm of Wax Heaven and in that time I am within reach of 800 blogs written. Think about that for a second. That’s insane.

The truth is that while I am a collector at heart, my passion lies in writing and photography. Someday I’d like to have my articles and photography published in Sports Illustrated and ESPN Magazine. I have many goals to accomplish and just not enough time in the day.

The writing is on the wall. I came in to the Sports Cards Blogosphere with two goals in mind and accomplished both of them so now is the perfect time to move on. I may never be able to build the kind of following that Wax Heaven provided but that is a risk worth taking. A coward dies a thousand deaths, the brave die but once.

On July 1st, 2008 Waxheaven.com will cease to operate. Occasionally there will be video or two added but nothing like today. I implore every single reader who has ever enjoyed Wax Heaven to give the new format an opportunity to win you over. Getting a baseball card collector to read a site about baseball shouldn’t be that difficult but you never know…

Stay tuned for more updates. If you have any questions, feel free to leave a comment or send me an e-mail. The minute the new site is ready Waxheaven.com will be re-directed to it. The name will be announced in the next couple of days.

Respectfully Yours,

Mario Alejandro

Photo by Mario Alejandro


Actions

Information

11 responses

10 06 2008
sam

does this mean your not collectinng or that your not blogging about collecting?

10 06 2008
James B. Anama

Are you nuts???

Mario, you are one of the more eloquent writers in the hobby blogosphere. It is a shame that you’re changing the focus of the blog. But as long as your heart is in the right place, and you plan on staying in the baseball field, I understand. You can only write about the hobby so much, it’s the game that keeps us in it in the first place.

I’ll still be reading, regardless. Good luck.

And the countdown begins.

Sincerely,

JayBee Anama
http://www.bdj610bbcblog.blogspot.com

10 06 2008
dayf

Wow, good luck with the new endeavor. Are you going to keep the archives up for posterity?

10 06 2008
tastelikedirt

Say it ain’t so Mario.

10 06 2008
whitesoxcards

Interesting. 2007 seems to be the explosion of the baseball card blogs. 2008 seems to be the demolition. I’ll be waiting to see what the next project is.

10 06 2008
Andrew Chrisman

sorry to see this. i visited everyday to see what was going on.

10 06 2008
Joe

Dude! As soon as I get back you decide to cut tails.
You are like Bugs Bunny going against the Gashouse Gorillas here. Hitting one out constantly while making readers do double takes.
Good luck on the writing and photography. I’ll be sure to check back.
By the way, I also read that Ben on Baseball Card Blog is hanging up the keyboard also. Is this collusion? We might have to file an anti-trust suit.

11 06 2008
Gellman

Mario, the blogosphere will miss you in your card collecting blog, but the sports blogosphere has gained a great writer. Good luck man!

11 06 2008
Larry the sewingmachineguy

I will miss the crazy stuff that you point out on eBay. I really enjoy this blog.

11 06 2008
jv

Wax Heaven will truly be missed! My wife and I both felt like this was coming though over the last week.

Honestly, Mario, you’re out of your element now…in a good way. I think that it’s time for you to move up to the big leagues and try your hand at moving into the professional arena. You’re too talented to lead (or follow) the pack of card collecting blogs out there. I think you’re meant for more than that.

Good luck to you and rest assured, if you get me the link to where ever you’re going then I promise you’ve got at least one reader for life. Thanks for giving us Wax Heaven!!

(wonder who’ll step up and fill the cleats now that Ben AND Mario are both retiring? If you wanna read one guys shameless attempt at taking up the mantle, head over to Treasure Never Buried at http://jv33.wordpress.com/ shameless plug, I know, I’m sorry…haha)

11 06 2008
JBob

This is the part where i’d be telling you that you’re crazy but the drama’s already over so i shall just commend you on your wise decision to keep wax heaven open. And continue to give me an excuse to do nothing for 15-30 minutes a day while on a computer. The nation loves wax heaven.

Leave a Reply

