The making of a “Hair Cut”

6 06 2008

North Las Vegas, NV (June 6, 2008 ) – When Martin Welling, Upper Deck’s vice president of Creative Services, first heard about the company’s new line of insert cards featuring cut autographs and actual hair from historic personalities, he was very excited. He remained enthusiastic about the release of these highly collectible cards until he learned he would be the one assembling them.

The documents the autographs came from were extremely rare and valuable and the legendary locks of hair used with the cards are irreplaceable. Upper Deck realized great care would need to be taken and Welling seemed the obvious choice for the task with years of experience in trading card production. Most importantly, he is known for his steady hands.

One of the first cards he set out to assemble was of the famous Native American leader of the Apache tribe, Geronimo. First the hair strand was carefully encapsulated in the card and second came the moment to add the signature. Welling’s hands gracefully applied the signature to the card perfectly. From there the top piece was carefully shifted over locking the hair and signature in place.

“I was surprised by the level of reverence we felt, even keeping our voices down during the assembly process,” said Welling. “I don’t know if it was out of respect to the legendary individuals or if it was tied to the extremely delicate nature of the assembly. I do know I’m glad it’s over and I’m even more pleased with how amazing the cards turned out.”

After the cards were assembled the cards were carefully trimmed to their final size and a “1-of-1” marking was added.

“We didn’t want to take any chances with something potentially happening to the cards as they are inserted into packs,” said Jason Masherah, Upper Deck Baseball Brand manager. “We used exchange cards for them so we can send them immediately to the lucky collector who pulls them.”

Ten total “Hair Cuts” cards are available in 2008 SP Legendary Baseball which releases June 11. The product carries a suggested retail price of $9.99 per four-card pack.


Actions

Information

9 responses

6 06 2008
Geo

“I was surprised by the level of reverence we felt, even keeping our voices down during the assembly process. It was really surprising considering we’re nothing more than greedy, disgusting pigs,” said Welling. “I don’t know if it was out of respect to the legendary individuals or if it was tied to the extremely delicate nature of the assembly, or perhaps I knew more suckers would buy these history raping sets. I do know I’m glad it’s over and I’m even more pleased with how amazing the cards turned out. Seeing the profits roll in, it sure will be worth the price of my soul.”

Fixed.

6 06 2008
Charlie

I see I’m not the only one who gets e-mails form UD🙂

6 06 2008
darkship

I don’t care if it’s fixed or not!! I’d love to pull one of those. I’m going to a case brreak party of SP Cuts once it comes out and I hope to get one of them!! Wish me luck🙂

6 06 2008
dayf

Geo wins the internet.

From: Dayf
To: Geo
______________________
| coupon |
| good for |
| 1 FREE internet |
| (no cash value) |
|_____________________|

6 06 2008
Gellman

You know what sucks? Not only are they destroying some of the most rare documents out there, but they arent even including the entire strand of hair! Thats dumb. If you are going to go all out gross, go all out, dont be a little b*tch and shaft us 90% of the piece of hair.

LOL, what a weird argument to make…my apologies.

6 06 2008
fakehorsemuffins

I for one am building my super secret DNA machine here in my house. My plan you ask??
Im selling everything i own so i can buy one of every hair cut card out there them im going to create a super human out of all of the diffrent DNA, once my super human grows hair then im going to kill my super human create my own card company and produce a base set of super DNA hair cut cards!! Loose retail per pack is going to be around $19,000 per pack, well in line with prices of other products.. Anyone want to preorder a case?? ill send you my paypal info!!

6 06 2008
Geo

Gellman that is an excellent point. I mean who doesn’t want to see something like a smudge of ashes from the ovens of Auschwitz or something like that?

If you’re going to be money whores, might as well go that extra mile.

6 06 2008
SportsLocker

Great story – thanks for posting. That was a good read.

22 02 2011
markus

I pulled this exact one…..best day of my life……

Leave a Reply

