Mutant Freak of the Day

11 05 2008

Previous Mutants: Ghost Rider, Thanos, Thor, Hulk, Spider-Man

I haven’t done one of these in almost two weeks and not by lack of interest. It’s been insanely busy at work lately which means that every time I get caught on WordPress is one step closer from me being out the door. I have done my best by taking lunch breaks at my desk and writing during my alloted hour but since it’s the weekend, I finally have some time to get back to business. Once I am done with this set I will move on to Classic’s 1989 WWF set that is going to be loaned to Wax Heaven for a couple of weeks. I plan to do a “Card of the Day” feature 3-4 times per week, if possible.

The Silver Surfer

I will be honest in saying that I never really liked Fantastic Four. I don’t have anything against them but it’s just that X-Men had Wolverine and Gambit and fought villians like Sabretooth and Sentinels. How could the Thing and Mr. Fantastic or whatever compete with that? Having only collected comics for one year in 1993, I can say that the Silver Surfer was one of my favorite Marvel heroes, at least for that year.

I have watched almost every single comic book movie but since Daredevil have been suspicious of the newer ones. I avoided the Ghost Rider flick and stayed away from Fantastic Four but couldn’t resist the sequel once I found out the Surfer would be in it. Let’s just say that I was not let down. Ultimately, I didn’t like any of the characters from the film except for Silver Surfer and Jessica Alba’s character (and only cause she looked amazing). My one big disappointment was that Galactus looked nothing like this, and instead looked more like the Nothing from the Neverending Story. What a shame!


Actions

Information

2 responses

12 05 2008
Gellman

I think the Silver Surfer is one of the most interesting characters in the Marvel U. His tragic nature and almighty power are such a microcosm of a lot of the superhero totem that it makes actual mythical characters like Thor and Mephisto look like they are poorly concieved.

21 08 2009
jesse

I have this card!

Leave a Reply

