A message to all new sports Bloggers

9 05 2008

Yesterday I added the 92nd and 93rd link to the Sports Cards Blog Directory. I never imagined there would be so many of us in such a short period of time. My interest in the hobby returned after reading Ben Henry’s Baseball Card Blog and within a few months of becoming a daily reader bought my first pack in over a decade. A couple of months later I created Canseco Completist, which eventually became Wax Heaven and the rest is history. When I needed help promoting my blog the first person I went to was Mr. Henry himself so naturally I was pretty ticked off when I was snubbed not once but twice! Let me just put this out for anyone reading: if you are a new Blogger, have recently returned to collecting, or just have a general question about collecting—I respond to every email I receive. Don’t hesitate to drop me an email at Waxheaven@gmail.com

About five months ago when Wax Heaven finally began to take off I began to worry about all the new Sports Blogs, fearing they would take away readers I had gained but quickly came to realize the more blogs, the better. Perhaps this is blasphemy but lately I have been reading the new guys’ blogs a lot more frequent then the veterans since many of them don’t update as frequently. It’s good to get as many perspectives into this hobby as possible. No longer are we going to whisper among our collecting buddies in the back of the card store. For once, we have a voice and if you are going to try to sell us a pack of Sport Kings for $400 you can bet your ass that we will run to our computers the minute we can to post our results & opinions to keep the next guy from getting ripped off.

Finally, when you do get started don’t get discouraged if your stats aren’t exactly impressive. Looking back at the stats WordPress keeps, in the first 30 days of Wax Heaven’s existence I got 347 unique page views, which is roughly 12 visitors per day. It’s going to take some time to build a following, unless you are Beckett, Upper Deck, or some big name that is already established. Take that time to practice your style or to learning this now very complicated hobby. If you look back to some of my earlier post, they are sloppy, the grammar was terrible, and I was kind of on the fence about what to write about. It takes time, don’t burn out and in no time you will be one of the veterans coaching the new Bloggers.

By the way, I predict 150 Sports Cards Blogs by the end of the year!


Actions

Information

One response

9 05 2008
NationalsCards

Very nice post Mario. I just started my blog yesterday, and I really appreciate your kind words and the link. Thanks man! I’m sure I’ll be asking you questions here and there.

Leave a Reply

