I am coming out of the closet!

29 04 2008

There is something I have been meaning to do for quite sometime now. I didn’t know how to do it but now is as good a time as any. I love Sabu. There I said it. Now we can move on, right? Wait, you don’t know who Sabu is? Well, here we go. Sabu is in the “sports entertainment” industry. By that, I mean he is a wrestler. No, not like an Olympic wrestler but more like the Hulk Hogan type. Here is the thing, Hulk Hogan was known for his body slam and a drop kick. That was all he ever did in the ring. Sabu is an innovator, an “extreme” icon, and one crazy son of …..

Anyways, Sabu’s myth continues to grow with each day that passes. He became an underground legend in a company called E.C.W which went out of business but was bought by Vince McMahon a few years ago. It is now the worst wrestling show on television and features only one E.C.W original. Don’t ever watch this version of E.C.W. Instead, check out this Sabu tribute to see some amazing moves. Some real stories about Sabu are even crazier than anything made up. For one, he had his neck broken in the ring twice (on camera), cracked his jaw in a match but continued fighting after taping it up, and there is no explaining this move he did live on Pay Per View a few years ago.

The man is nicknamed, “the homicidal, suicidal, genocidal” Sabu and for a reason. Well, I think it’s about time I pick this Topps Heritage Chrome autograph ASAP because recent news items and rumors suggest that Sabu, 43 and working independent shows after being fired by WWE is letting those “personal demons” take over his life. My favorite wrestler of all-time, “Mike Awesome” who fought alongside Sabu in the original E.C.W was found dead in 2007 after hanging himself in his home. He was having marital problems but didn’t go the Chris Benoit route. Instead, he waited till everyone left and quietly took his own life. Unfortunately, this kind of stuff happens way too frequently in the world of wrestling. I just hope Sabu has enough left in him to bring his life back on track.


Actions

Information

9 responses

29 04 2008
fakehorsemuffins

go back in and dont come out untill you get over this sabu thing here..tisk tisk tisk

30 04 2008
lonestarr

Whatchyu talkin’ ’bout fakehorsemuffins? Sabu was awesome back in the day. So was Mike Awesome, perhaps even moreso, though I preferred Masato Tanaka in their epic rivalry.

30 04 2008
The Infamous Tatiana

Eww. Wrestling is poopie.

It’s like watching a soap opera. I’m good. I’ll pass

30 04 2008
Rob

I read this site occasionally and as someone who has been friends with a pro wrestler that passed away I never thought I would read something as disgusting as “Well, I think it’s about time I pick this Topps Heritage Chrome autograph ASAP because recent news items and rumors suggest that Sabu, 43 and working independent shows after being fired by WWE is letting those “personal demons” take over his life.”

Saying you want to get a card because someone could die is a horrid horrid thing to say and I hope you rethink your post in this case.

1 05 2008
Mario A.

Rob, I write 95% of these blogs during work and sometimes don’t get an opportunity to re-read the posts before I upload them. That being said, I do think what I said was insensitive. What I meant to say was that when a wrestler passes away many times their memorabilia, mostly their autographs skyrocket in prices.

1 05 2008
Charlie

“I just hope Sabu has enough left in him to bring his life back on track.”

Maybe some people should read the whole post before commenting. Memorabilia and autographs almost always go up when the athlete/entertainer dies. Nothing wrong with telling it like it is Mario.

1 05 2008
JBob

And if i may I don’t think your intent was to buy a card in hopes that he would die so you could sell it an make a profit, but i could be wrong.

1 05 2008
Mario A.

Heck no, I just want to get it at a reasonable price. I am a big fan of Sabu.

Besides, I don’t sell to make profit. I sell to buy MORE cards.😉

1 05 2008
Rob

I can understand you thinking death = money, but why can’t you just write that you want to buy it because you are a fan of his, not that you should grab it before he causes his death. Think of a wrestler as more than just an animal, there would be outrage if people were like “Laporta is out of control, he may die, buy his autographs now!!”

Before people defend it think of people like Eddie Guererro, Louie Spicoli, Mr Perfect, Rick Rude, and the one who I think of on a daily basis Crash Holly who passed away, and left at the time a 7 year old daughter because he made one mistake. How would your family feel if people were speculating that you were going to die and they should buy your stuff now?

Leave a Reply

