My sports photography tryouts!

27 04 2008

We were unable to get someone to babysit our son on Saturday for the Jupiter Hammerheads game but made it out bright and early for Sunday’s affair. “Fakehorsemuffins”, an avid Marlins fan and Wax Heaven reader showed up for a few innings and even gave us some awesome Marlins goodies. Thanks Erick! Keep an eye on your mailbox next week.

Not having attended a daytime baseball game my entire life, I wore all black and Tatiana for some reason wore a red sweater. The photography ended in the 5th inning when we could no longer withstand the Florida sun but we stayed all the way to the end and watched as the Hammerheads took the Daytona Cubs to town for a 10-0 victory. Below is a few of the photos taken by yours truly, except for one.

In another post someone mentioned I should take some action shots. I spent the entire afternoon doing just that. Next time around I am going to be on the field for the Hammerheads game, that is a promise. Does anyone think I deserve at least one shot on the Florida Marlins field for just one game? So far all my leads have dried up. It seems I am going to have to keep trying until someone gives me my “call-up” to the bigs.

Roger Dean Stadium is a beautiful facility

…but security is kind of non-existent.

Getting on the field before the game was a breeze

…selling out to Topps, not so easy!

Former big leaguer Scott Eyre didn’t do so well…

…neither did his replacement!

When Daytona put up a rally…

the pitching shut them down!

Starting pitcher Kyle Winters…

…was unstoppable! He is now 3-1 with a 1.23 ERA

Logan Morrison, age 20 – 1st base

This kid is the future of the Florida Marlins

3 home runs, 16 RBI, .341 average on the season

He doesn’t just pull the ball, either

Dante Brinkley puts the ball on the catchers head!


Actions

Information

17 responses

28 04 2008
fakehorsemuffins

WOW!! they all turned out great! nice to meet you both we had a great time and dinner here turned out great!!..see ya soon

28 04 2008
Brandon

What are you shooting with? What camera? It looks like that’s your next obstacle. The action looks great, but to get that more “professional” appearance to the photos, you are going to need a camera/lens that will allow you to shoot with a wide aperture (to get a photo that is sharp on the subject but the background is blurred) but still have a fast shutter speed to stop the fast motion of the pitching or batting motion. If you can borrow/rent (some camera shops will rent cameras and lenses fairly inexpensively) some equipment for the next game, I would try to do that to really step up the output. It’s getting there, but you really want to be able to show the Marlins or a media organization that you are a professional quality photographer so they will grant you a press pass. Go for it! Good luck and congrats on some good stuff this time! The last 3 are nice🙂

28 04 2008
Charlie

Those did turn out really well. Sad to hear about Eyre’s performance though. Still waiting for him to come back to the big league club. Injuries are a biotch.

28 04 2008
cameramano

I agree with Brandon. What are you shooting with? A fast lens and a good camera make a world of difference. photo.net is a great source of information on what might suit you well – tutorials and such. The site doesn’t sell products – just serves as a community hub for photographers.

28 04 2008
chemgod

Nice shots Mario!

28 04 2008
The Infamous Tatiana

A good photographer can take wonderful photographs with a disposable camera. It isn’t the camera that makes the photograph, it’s the photographer. That is like saying a baseball player needs to use a specific brand of bats to be talented. You either go the talent or you don’t. Some crummy object won’t make you better.
I do believe that Mario should invest in a camera that will allow him to use multiple lenses, because at this time he doesn’t have that ability with this camera, but I don’t think he needs to run to BestBuy and buy a $5,000.00 camera and a $1,500.00 lens, either.

Great photos, babe.🙂

28 04 2008
Charlie

If you are really interested in upgrading your camera, there are some very affordable and nice cameras with interchangable lenses at Best Buy for $300-500. I know I spend more than that in a year on my card hobby, so if you’re really serious about something a $500 investment isn’t too terrible.

28 04 2008
Brandon

Tatiana,

What you’re saying is very true…for some types of photography. Some of my photo work is done with a Holga which is basically a toy camera that is made of plastic with a plastic lens, leaks light, costs about $25, uses film (not digital), etc., but if you know what you’re doing you can take really amazing looking photographs. I use it when I’m looking for a more “artistic” style of photography. If that’s the look you’re going for, you can use that type of camera.

On the other hand, what Mario is obviously going for is professional quality sports photography. The equipment needed to produce those photographs is not disposable cameras. But you definitely also do not need to “run to BestBuy and buy a $5,000.00 camera and a $1,500.00 lens.” You can shoot “good” photos with a point and shoot camera, but if you want to be seen as a professional photographer, your portfolio has to include the type of photographs that those looking at it are going to want to see.

Take a look at this from a recent Miami Herald article about a Prince Fielder home run for example:
http://tinyurl.com/6kotje
The sharp focus on Fielder…blurred background emphasizes the subject and makes it “pop” out of the background. I’m just saying it’s what they’re going to look for, but you don’t have to spend thousands to get that, and you don’t HAVE to have it, but it’s what a news organization or the Marlins are used to seeing and are likely going to want to see if they’re going to hand out a press pass.

And again, if this isn’t a career move, but just something you want to do as a one time thing to try it out, seriously look into renting or borrowing equipment. Make some calls to camera shops in town and see if they rent equipment…you might be able to find one that will rent a nice camera/lens combo for very little and you’ll be able to get the photos you want without spending money you don’t really need to. I know there’s at least one or two places here in town where I live that do this.

I hope I’m not coming off as a jerk or anything…I’m trying to be helpful. I’m just giving the advice I’d give my photo students if they came to me with this same project. But you didn’t have to pay for the 3 hrs of university credit🙂

Brandon

28 04 2008
Mario A.

Heck no, Brandon! I appreciate all your comments. I didn’t even know what you meant until I pulled out some cards and noticed 100% of them have blurred backgrounds. I am going to see if my Sony H-9 has the ability to do that.

Thanks,
Mario A.

28 04 2008
Brandon

Cool man, I didn’t want to step on your toes or anything. Just trying to throw out some helpful advice whenever I can.

What you’re looking for is the f-stop or f-number of the lens on any camera/lens you’re looking at. The smaller the f/number, the wider the aperture (the opening in the lens) is, and that’s a good thing. A wide aperture will make the background more blurry when your subject is in focus. So what you really want is something that goes down to around f/2.8 for sports photography.

Check out this Wikipedia entry for a good explanation on f-numbers:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/F-number
If you scroll down about half way to the section on “Effects on image quality” they have a really good example that shows the difference between f/32 and f/5 on the same picture that pretty much explains what I’m trying to say.

Good luck!
Brandon

28 04 2008
The Infamous Tatiana

I don’t feel that you are coming off as a jerk. I guess we just have different opinions. I am obviously not telling Mario to drill a small hole into an oatmeal can and use a pinhole camera; I just think it would be ridiculous to spend a load of money on something that would not be a career. Mario doesn’t own a point and shoot camera. I just wish you could see the photographs that he has taken. Some of them definitely outshine that Prince Fielder photograph. I have a Nikon N75 (film) and with a simple switch of the lens, I could capture that same photo of Prince, perhaps even better, if given the opportunity. Equipment does help in some cases, but it doesn’t have to be the “state of the art”, most “high tech”, or even most “expensive”.
Maybe it’s just that every teacher has different methods in photography. I was instructed by someone that believes it is the person behind the lens that captures the photograph, not the object being used.
Thanks for your input, I know Mario really appreciates it.
Babe, if you are going to “upgrade”, I would definitely invest in a Nikon.🙂

29 04 2008
Brandon

I definitely agree with you there. You don’t need “state of the art” or “high tech” when it comes to photography, especially if you’re willing to work with film instead of digital. And it is definitely the person behind the camera that makes the photo in most cases…you have to be able to capture that moment. But there is still a certain “look” to a standard professional sports photo that you are only going to be able to achieve with a wide aperture and fast shutter speed.

All I’m saying is that you need SOMETHING (film, digital, whatever) that allows you to change f/stop and shutter speed. If you have a Nikon N75 already, you don’t need anything else! I didn’t know y’all had one of those! That’s perfect! Don’t know what lens(es) you have for it, but the body will work just fine. The only trade off is that you’re not going to be able to see immediately what you shoot like you would with digital, and you have to pay for processing. Still, that’s a nice camera…no need to pay hundreds/thousands for anything else.

If you don’t have a nice lens to go along with it though, you still might want to look into borrowing/renting one for the day when you shoot a game with the N75.

29 04 2008
Mario A.

Hey Brandon, this is one of the photos I took about a year ago before I got into sports photography. Look it has a blurry background and I didn’t even do it on purpose, it just happened. I guess I need to learn all my camera settings before the next game.

29 04 2008
The Infamous Tatiana

Luckily, I come from a long line of photographers, so I have plenty of lenses that I can use from my father, which is why I never invested in any. Mario’s camera does have the ability to change f/stop, shutter speed, etc. He just needs to learn how to use it correctly. I think the main problem was that Mario wasn’t focusing on getting the perfect photo that day, he was just trying to get the swing! He just needs some more practice.🙂

29 04 2008
Brandon

Mario – Sweet dragonfly photo! Definitely test out what your camera can do…it probably has more settings than you even realize. Or if you can’t get the results you want, move to the film one that Tatiana has and try that…it sounds like it would be perfect. Some of the action shots from the last game were already nice…just trying to get you to step up to the next level🙂

Tatiana – I didn’t realize that y’all already had the equipment necessary…sounds like you’re all set! Just get Mario to practice a couple of times with the equipment you have…doesn’t even have to be a baseball game, just the kids running around in the yard will do. Something with fast action so you get the hang of using the camera/lenses along with the f/stop, shutter speed, etc. See what kind of results you get back when the film is processed (or if it’s digital, you’ll know right away) and then try it out and the next game. I’m looking forward to seeing the results!

13 05 2008
TOM MORRISON

Nice pics, we don’t make it to a lot of his games. Dad has to work, thanks for the shots.

T

13 05 2008
Mario A.

T, I have more if you are interested. Email me at Waxheaven@gmail.com and I will give you wallpaper-sized shots of Logan.

Also, we should be going back sometime soon to get some new shots. Glad you enjoyed!

-Mario A.

Leave a Reply

