Andrew Miller shuts down the Braves?

24 04 2008

For the first time in five attempts this season, Andrew Miller has won a baseball game for the Florida Marlins. His previous poor outings had ravaged his hobby hype so much that his autographs were going for $5-$8 a piece on eBay and usually no higher. I am not like other fans who enjoy being able to pick up a cheap cards when a player’s numbers go down, though. I’d rather see Miller live up to the potential he has and have his cards skyrocket again even if that means I can’t afford most of the nicer ones.

I am a little worried about Miller’s hits given up (39) compared to innings pitched (22.7), though. It’s also a little scary that he has allowed 21 runs but all should work itself out once Andrew gets in the groove. Hopefully by the end of May we should have a line-up that looks a bit like this: Hanley Ramirez, Dan Uggla, Jeremy Hermida, Mike Jacobs, Cameron Maybin, & Josh Willingham, among a couple of others. I hate to say it since it’s so early in the season but with a batting line-up like that, it’s clear to everyone that we are now contenders. It’s an insane reality considering Alex Rodriguez makes more money than our entire team but that’s the way it works out sometimes. Now if only Fredi Gonzalez would let Luis Gonzalez start every other game. I have a feeling with more at-bats he could easily be a 20-home run guy for the team. Unfortunately, there is just nowhere to put him.

Now back to Andrew Miller. Every time he wins a game I am going to feature one of his cards from my collection. The first win of the season means I have no choice but to feature the first Andrew Miller I have ever owned. It came in a pack of 2007 SPx that Tatiana and I busted a few months before creating Wax Heaven. It was an awesome box and I can’t wait for 2008 to come out. When I pulled it, not only did I not know who he was, I also had no clue that it had a $50 Beckett book value.


Actions

Information

2 responses

24 04 2008
dayf

You don’t have to ask, he shut us down pretty good. It looks like this is going to be one of those 12 runs one day, shut out the next years for the Braves.

24 04 2008
Fakehorsemuffins

so mario we might get 2 more “andrew wins” posts this year huh.. JK

Leave a Reply

