$50 for an eBay reprint?

23 04 2008

I absolutely love the underdog. While most people today are filling up their collection with Derek Jeter, Albert Pujols, and Ichiro Suzuki, I am doing everything I can to get my hands on another Andrew Miller or Ozzie Canseco baseball card. As a kid, Nolan Ryan was one of my favorites growing up but to me it was the other Met that I always felt got the short-end of the stick. I am talking about Tom Seaver, who wins the award for “Least Likely To Be Named An Underdog”. I mean, on paper Seaver was probably a better all-around pitcher but in the hobby only one man could live up to unbelievable hype and that man was Nolan Ryan.

Seaver won 20 or more games 5 times, won the Cy Young three times, and was in the top 10 in the M.V.P voting 4 different times in his 20-year career. Nolan on the other hand played 27 years, struck out over 5,000 batters, and threw 7 no-hitters. Game over. So as much as I like Tom Seaver, why did one of his rookie cards just sell on eBay for close to $50 when it clearly stated (sort of) that it was a reprint not once but twice? Also, why did close to 20 people bid on it? Am I missing something? Should I print out some 1986 Donruss Rated Rookie Jose Canseco cards and start throwing them up on eBay?


Actions

Information

7 responses

23 04 2008
JBob

can that man spell? seriously, and look at his other auctions, most of the cards were selling for similar rates.

23 04 2008
Dave

I wouldn’t call it a reprint as much as a COUNTERFEIT card! I’m sure that the buyer is planning to pass it off as a real card to some unsuspecting victim and get even more than $50 for the card. This is a prime example of why I only buy graded older cards.

23 04 2008
chemgod

It does say reprint, but it’s not an authorized reprint, so it’s definitely illegal and no where on the card does it say reprint, which is also illegal. I’ve seen Jordan cards going for that kind of money, This is obviously someone who wants unscrupulous people to buy his cards, then re-sell them as originals.

23 04 2008
JBob

Look at the feedback too, people calling him a scammer, and in his earlier listings he didn’t even mention that they were reprints.

23 04 2008
Charlie

Why hasn’t anyone reported him to eBay or Topps for illegal activity?? And who the hell are these people paying those prices for reprints?? Although, I’ve seen plenty of people paying 2 or 3 times retail price for retail blasters you can pick up at wal-mart all day long. That’s why people quote P.T. Barnum to this day🙂

23 04 2008
dayf

Wow, fake, fake, fake. And obviously fake too. Plus nine dollars shipping!!! Now, I’ll pay a few bucks for a good quality reprint of a card I’ll never otherwise get, but this is just scam city, USA.

24 04 2008
JBob

That was a good point so i sent a report off the eBay to attempt to get this scammer shut down.

Leave a Reply

