Mutant Freak of the Day

16 04 2008

This evening I walked over to a sub shop for lunch but was distracted by a used book store on the way. Instead of spending $10 on a tiny sub I went inside to see what kind of goodies I could find. Of course, I found no baseball cards or baseball-related books but I did find a case with what appears to be an entire set of Marvel Masterpieces. To be honest, I don’t know what year they are from but for just .50 cents I could not pass it up. Starting today I am going to be featuring a card per day until the set is complete or at least until all the cool ones have all been scanned. You know no one wants to see a scan of Banshee or Jubilee.

Oh, and in case anyone is curious—I collected comic books for all of one summer in 1993 when all these crazy, over-produced, shinny covers were the rage of their industry. I lost interest around the time of X-O ManOWar #0. Anyways, here is the first card of everyone’s favorite motorcycle-ridin’ skeleton named Johnny Blaze. No, not that Johnny Blaze. Anyways, this character was cool up until the point someone thought it would be a good idea to make a movie and have Nicolas Cage star in it. Big mistake, guys. Big, big, big mistake.

You can see the full scan HERE.


Actions

Information

5 responses

17 04 2008
Paul R.Destralo/CEO of DDoubleplay Sports

Nice Find! I believe these boxes where numbered to 350,000 made by Skybox six cards per pack and a total of 105 cards per set.But they also have a really cool five card subset.
Skybox called them Bonus cards)

1-D THING vs HULK
2-D SILVER SURFER vs THANOS
3-D WOLVERINE vs SABRETOOTH
4-D SPIDER-MAN vs VENOM
5-D CAPTAIN AMERICA vs RED SKULL.

17 04 2008
fakehorsemuffins

I loved these when i was a kid! They got toploaders and everything, nice way back find

17 04 2008
Charlie

I actually requested 4 boxes of 1993 for Christmas one year. I think I completed 2 sets, and they were thrown away by my parents years later.

17 04 2008
JT

I liked the Ghost Rider movie.:/

17 04 2008
darkship

Gotta say Mario, Jubilee was always one of my favorites, very underestimated!

Leave a Reply

