Book value means nothing online

9 04 2008

Pardon me if I caught on a little too late. Last night while surfing a baseball card forum I found a fellow Andrew Miller fan, as energetic and enthusiastic as anyone could be. He went to the forum for the specific purpose of finding new Andrew Miller cards to add to his collection. One by one, collectors would post a comment offering this card and that card and what they expected in return. He would respond with excitement with each and every possible trade until one for an ’07 Bowman Chrome Orange Refractor Andrew Miller. The owner of the card wanted the Beckett book value and the Andrew Miller collector almost had a heart attack. “How dare you ask me to pay the going rate for a rare, valuable and low-numbered rookie card of a hot prospect?”

How could I expect any less? You can download entire music collections for free, watch full-length movies straight from your media player, and can exchange thousands of expensive programs for nothing, so why should baseball cards be any different? It seems that all the printed price guides will never be in tune with the eBay and Naxcom’s of the online world. So will there ever be a day that you can average 70% or more of your money back on baseball cards? I mean, I could buy baseball cards for the rest of my life but the truth is that the money well is running low and adding a little cash to the Pay Pal by selling a few cards on eBay wouldn’t hurt. Should I just hang on to my collection of Michael Bourne autographs until he’s a Hall of Famer and then cash in?


Actions

Information

4 responses

9 04 2008
Joe

Get rid of the Bourn cards. He is leading the league in steals now but who really cares? Low avg and runs and no rbi. You will only get money from a Phillie completist or an Astro fan.

9 04 2008
Cliff

I’ve been buying cards on eBay for 5 or 6 years now. The Beckett book value means nothing. I don’t think they take eBay into account at all. I have never paid close to book value on eBay.

Another thing, I noticed years ago that when a particular player’s card goes down in price, typically all of his cards go down. And pretty much by the same price. How is this possible? Take a player who was considered an unlisted star last year is now considered a semistar this year. Especially some long established player with say 10 years of playing time. There would be literally 1000s of cards by that player. How could so many of this player’s cards be sold in a year that all of his cards would drop in value.

To me, Beckett’s main value is that is’s a good listing of cards. The prices are meaningless.

10 04 2008
houstoncollector

<—- Astros Fan.

10 04 2008
chemgod

As a fan of game used cards, I buy cards on eBay all the time (probably 500 this year alone) I can tell you, that If I don’t get the card for 1/10th of book, I don’t buy it. The best cards are worth 50 cents on the dollar, good cards are worth 20 cents on the dollar and everything else should be right about 10 cents on the dollar.

Just my 2 cents🙂

Leave a Reply

