The 500th post!

5 04 2008

Last Saturday Wax Heaven hit 100,000 unique page views. As excited as I was, I decided to keep it on the down low because I knew something even bigger was coming. This is officially, the 500th blog post since the debut of the site. Unofficially, it’s more like 520 but a few blogs came and went (I deleted them) so here we are. I am a stats addict so I should point out that there are 1,973 comments so there is another milestone coming very soon (hopefully). I feel like Barry Bonds today, hitting all these milestones almost all at once. I just hope that I don’t end up like he did, unemployed and hated.

So to celebrate #500, here are the first scans of one of the most popular posts at Wax Heaven, “I am an idiot!” Some people didn’t actually believe I bought these things so this should be enough proof. For the record, in the auction photo the chocolates looked almost edible. In person however, the chocolates look just one level below toxic. I still plan to do something creative with these things, despite the Infamous Tatiana’s threats of tossing them in the dump. Guys, these chocolate bars represents baseball history to me and many others. When these things were produced, Jose Canseco was above and beyond better than anyone else in the Majors. How could I just throw them away…?

CLICK HERE FOR A HIGH RESOLUTION SCAN!


Actions

Information

9 responses

6 04 2008
Justin

I guess the real challenge now would to be finding that poster, huh? I still like these as a collector. You have to assume that they would be moderately rare as most people would not save them. Not to throw gas on the fire, but you have to imagine these would be more collectible historically than a beanie bear.

6 04 2008
OC

I’ve still got a box of Jeter & Canseco that will be headed your way sometime this week.

~OC

6 04 2008
Ben Keeler

Congrats on the milestone.

Those Canseco bars are great!

6 04 2008
The Infamous Tatiana

How could you just throw them away? You just shouldn’t have bought them! They are 20 year old chocolate for the love of God! You even put them in the fridge in hopes of “salvaging” them…. Right….
All you have done now is made me toss our good food in fear that everything has been contaminated.
The chocolate even smells funny!

Gross.😦

6 04 2008
Cliff

Congrats on the 500 post milestone. I’m approaching only my 50th so I admire your tenacity.

7 04 2008
JT

Mario, I understand you. I have two boxes of Kraft Macaroni & Cheese from around 1987 or 88; the reason they are saved (and unopened) are because of the cards on the boxes. One has Eric Davis and Jose Canseco, the other has two players that I can’t remember at the moment. Of course, pasta doesn’t start to stink when it remains uncooked in the box. But still, I understand you.

7 04 2008
Mario A.

Thanks for the kind words, guys.

7 04 2008
Brandon Cacek

Crongrats on the 500th post. I’m looking forward to the next 500.

7 04 2008
JBob

“Feel the Power”, could that wrapper have seen into the future and predicted it’s own fate?

Leave a Reply

