An eBay freak event

3 04 2008

Last night a baseball card sold on eBay for the insane price of $2,276.06. The card was of a current New York Met and was not a SuperFractor, Autograph, Game-Used, or even low serial-numbered by 2008’s standards. The card was a Jose Reyes 2001 Bowman Chrome Gold Refractor #’d to 99. It was however given a 10 “Pristine” grading by Beckett and it was of a player with immense potential.

Still, I just don’t see what the big deal is. He has hit .300 just once in three full seasons, never had 200 hits, and has shown very little power. Meanwhile, a guy like Hanley Ramirez had 29 home runs, 51 stolen bases, 212 hits, and a .332 average in 2007 and he barely gets any love, even in his hometown! I think I’ll save my money and get me a copy of Hanley’s 2003 Bowman Chrome Refractor autograph for under $400!


Actions

Information

12 responses

3 04 2008
Boss

Does anyone else find it ironic that the seller was Beckett Media?

3 04 2008
JBob

nope, not after i say there last UD box break, scam.

3 04 2008
Brandon Cacek

The cards are graded before they are submitted for auction. All that we do is the reseach for each of the cards submitted for auction and then list them under our ebay account for collectors . To date our feed back has not a single negative, and close to 4,000 positives. This is simply another service that we provide to collectors, again “after the card is graded” to avoid any conspiracy theories. If there is still doubt, give the process a shot with one of your own cards. Then you can tell everyone how it works.

3 04 2008
Mario A.

I didn’t even notice Beckett sold it.
I just think it went for WAY too much.

4 04 2008
JRJ

I’m a huge Mets fan, and I think Reyes is the best player on the team, but $2K for a player who hasn’t won any individual or team awards? I don’t get it.
http://sportslocker.blogspot.com/

4 04 2008
houstoncollector

Brandon, I think JBob’s reference was more to the fact that ‘Gee, it’s a 10, and Beckett’s the seller, go fig’. Not saying he’s right or anything, just explaining.

4 04 2008
Brandon Cacek

I can see that there appears to be a conflict of interest on the surface, but I assure you that the path in which a card reaches auction eliminates the possiblity of our grading department giving “generous” grades for the sake of the final outcome.
This is why I feel that this blog is one of the best out there. Good luck to all of the collectors out there and if you ever want “inside” information from Beckett please let me know.
Thanks for everything Mario. I’ll shoot you an email this morning to say hello.

4 04 2008
JBob

Not that i’m trying to rail against Beckett but… to me, if i were a company i’d try to stay out of a gray area like this. I’m not saying it’s a conspiracy, far from it. The same thing with the UD exquisite box break. Why even put yourself in the position. A restuarant reviewer would walk into a restaurant and annouce that i’m goinng to place a review in tomorrow’s city paper. Because of course they would try to provide better service and food to that individual. Just as the company grading a card would be more likely to give it a better grade, in theory, if they were going to sell it. The mere sense of possible impropriety if what bothers myself, and anyother who agree. Not that Beckett would mortgage a multi-million dollar empire to rig one eBay auction, likewise UD wouldn’t do it for one review, that would be beyond stupid, it’s just a slippery slope. And yes, I would be interested in how Becket assures that this possible fraud doesn’t occur, not that I really deserve an explaination, i’m just curious, and would rather be educated instead of a conspiracy nut.

4 04 2008
Brandon Cacek

Jbob,
I can’t speak on be half of UD regarding what they send us as far as product is concerned. What I can say is that when we recieve material from companies, they don’t typically know if we are going to use them for a break video or if we are going to use them for give aways.
Regarding the grading/auction service that we provide. I can say that when cards are submitted for grading, the graders have no idea whos card it is or what is going to happen to that card after it is graded. We pride ourselves in knowing that there are a number of other grading companies out there and in this buisness your name and credibility mean everything. To sacrafice either one would lead us down a path that is not to prosperous.
I hope that this helps you and other Wax Heaven readers out, and please feel free to ask as many questions as you would like. I’ll be honest and say that I check this blog a number of times throughout the day and I enjoy all of the posts good & bad.

4 04 2008
Mario A.

You mean good and great, right?🙂

4 04 2008
Brandon Cacek

Good/Great point!

4 04 2008
Justin

What happened to the early days of Beckett? I remember a policy in the 80’s that was not to accept advertising as they wanted no outside influences on pricing. I was appalled when after I restarted the hobby again in 2000 I found they were a major seller of sportscards. I just can’t take their values to heart when they have so much reason to overvalue. I personally would never use Beckett to value my collection or purchases. (no offense Brandon, as I honestly envy your career) I truly value everything at what I think it is worth to me. Fortunately, it seems that my auction purchases usually fall near realistic prices (which are strangely way below book). I guess I still hold a little animosity against Beckett for overpricing graded cards. Which started out as a good idea to prove authenticity in commonly reprinted and counterfeit cards, but then snowballed into a monster. I wish an upstart company would adhere to the ideals Beckett had in it’s infancy and offer a product with less influence from investors. Not to ramble, but unfortunately it has often become better to wait to purchase rookies till the ridiculous prices the prospectors jack up settle down. Beckett has contributed to that stupid craze also with it’s own prospector guides and investor’s lists. Seems to me when a company recommends it own product as an investment and then sets the value for it their is a definite conflict of interest.

Leave a Reply

