Has Topps ruined Finest?

1 04 2008

I was dying for a couple of boxes of 2008 Topps Finest, so much so that I had my money saved up for an entire case before my car was stolen. Well, as it turns out…losing my car might have been the best thing because Topps has included autographs of the “Rip Girls” from the cheesy Topps TV box breaks.

I will still get a box but if I pull one of these auto’s instead of a real baseball player I will be extremely disappointed. The word right now is that these are bonus autographs inserted randomly and not a replacement for actual autographs. That has not been confirmed by Topps just yet, though.

You can check out the eBay auctions here, here, and here.


Actions

Information

14 responses

1 04 2008
dayf

(checks the calendar)

(checks recent sell sheets)

(doesn’t know what to think)

1 04 2008
Chris Harris

To answer the rhetorical question posted in the title of the post: No, Topps hasn’t ruined Finest. It already was ruined. Finest has ceased to be a collectible product for years now — especially since it went to autographed base set gimmicked RCs.

It would be kind of funny though if Alan Narz filmed a “Rip Party” and pulled an AU of himself.

Junkie: You’re right. I don’t know what to think. Maybe Topps is trying to gimmick its way to oblivion?

1 04 2008
Waxbreaker

I don’t know how to feel about finest… I called my local hobby shop to see when they would be in. Turns out they got in today so I went and picked up a “master box”. As a new collector I enjoyed the chrome refractor base cards and some of the team favorites look neat. As far as the parallels go i thought that the green and blue (I’m sure the red also) look really cheesy. However I was able to snag a gold Dice k numbered to 50. Its fun to get autos but it sucks when you cant sell the ones you don’t want for more than a buck. Fell free to take a look at scans and a review at waxbreaker.blogspot.com. I’ll be putting it up after practice.

-Spud

1 04 2008
o62omega

i can think of a few interesting relic cards !!!

1 04 2008
dayf

So it’s *not* an April Fools Day joke? Seriously? If I buy I box of this stuff I might get an autograph of the “Rip Master!!!”?

I’m going back to bed.

Never should have got up today.

P.S. Happy 100K hit, Mario.

2 04 2008
Rob

Ok

So what’s next?

Cut auto’s of the factory workers from Topps?

Give me a break!

2 04 2008
houstoncollector

*shrug* It’s yet another product I will buy very little of, for the simple fact that I don’t have hundreds of dollars of disposable income every month.

They keep talking about making it for the kids, but outside of Opening Day and First Pitch, they don’t give a crap about the kids, it’s all about the prospectors, which is why there’s so many variations and ‘hits’.

Granted, the good part of that is that usually AU/GU of my guys can be had pretty cheap on the Bay😀

2 04 2008
Jeremy

I hear the rip girl auto cards are in addition to the other guaranteed autos it the master boxes.

So if you pull a rip girl auto you should still pull another player auto from a differnt pack in the minibox.

2 04 2008
JBob

So help me god if they end up in topps triple threads I quit collecting cards! I don’t know if i’d be ok with my kid pulled one of these blonde dimwits’ cards. It’s pretty much objectifing women and setting unrealistic standards. *steps down from soapbox*

2 04 2008
Mario A.

They should put the Infamous Tatiana Heavenly Vixen in Upper Deck! As a bonus, though….not as a replacement.

2 04 2008
JBob

If you think topps screwed that up look at thier website for the “Uzi” 08 card. total hoax, thanks topps.

14 05 2008
im a dude

im sorry…whT AN EFFING JOKE. UNREAL. THIS IS WHY I DONT BUST WAX ANYMORE. IM NOT EVEN ADDICTED ANYMORE

22 05 2008
Matt

“The Rip Girls, and Rip Master”. WHAT!!!! I will not even buy a book of TOPPS Finest out of feer of getting those Cards. Are these real people? Is this some kind of really bad joke? Please can someone tell me why Finest wastest thier time with these losers.

5 06 2008
garrett

dont worry… it gets worse. i busted a box of this to find an autograph MISSING. i received 2 autos plus a rookie redemption… what do i do

Leave a Reply

