The Baseball Card Blog Directory

22 03 2008

Over the last five months it seems almost everyone on the Internet is starting their own baseball card blog. As great as that is, I have come to realize that it is very easy to lose track of new blogs that way. I have my top 7 favorite blogs on the front of Wax Heaven but that is because I am extremely anal and if I had to add every blog link I’d probably pull all my hair out. I tried this system but it didn’t do it for me, specially now that it is hard to keep up with new links.

Finally I retired it and created the first official baseball card blog directory called simply ‘Baseball Card Blogs’. It is a new blog which might eventually get its own domain name in the near future. It has a very well-organized list of links of every single baseball card-related blog I know of separated into three sections; general, player, & team. It is also in alphabetical order. Once a week and trust me, only once per week there will be a blog spotlight added. It will feature a short paragraph and image of a blog provided by the blog owner. You can e-mail me at Waxheaven@gmail.com for consideration.

This will in no way take away from Wax Heaven’s daily content. This is not a second blog at all, but a directory to promote card blogging because I believe everyone brings something different and unique to the “blogosphere” and this is an opportunity to shine. I can’t promise you instant daily readership and 20 comments per story but it is a step in the right direction, I hope.

You can check out the directory by clicking HERE and if you’d like to see a sports card blog added, please leave a comment in this blog.


Actions

Information

6 responses

22 03 2008
chemgod

Great idea Mario, it was long overdue, hopefully it will be picked up by Yahoo and Google so that we can get even more viewers. Thanks again,
Mike

22 03 2008
Rocco

very cool idea!

22 03 2008
JT

Great idea! Definitely some sites there I wasn’t familiar with. It will make work the next two nights a little easier to bear.🙂

23 03 2008
Michael Joseph

I like the idea as well, Mario. Aggregator sites are extremely helped for virtually any topic, and baseball card collector is not an exception.

I put together a little test here for your to consider creating for yourself for the new directory blog. Have you ever messed around with the free search tool creator at Rollyo.com?

I created a test search engine and added a couple of sites. They include your blog (of course), along with the first 5 blogs listed on your site.

This is the link to the test search engine:
http://rollyo.com/mjoseph31/baseball_card_test/

It only takes a minute to register (free) and then you can create as many tools as you want. Begin here: http://rollyo.com/

Go here and type in “Derek Jeter.” No surprise to anyone, your wife is mentioned in the title of the first result.

My suggestion (and reason for writing) is to consider trying this out and seeing if it might work well for your site. You can put the link to the search tool anywhere, but I’d suggest putting it at the bottom of the Blogroll list of blogs.

The only problem is that you can only enter 25 sites for each created tool. So, you’ll need to create at least 2 of these in order to be able to search a topic on all of those sites.

If you have any questions (I’ve created a few tool here before), then feel free to give me a call. I put my cell # in the place where the email usually is, so I think you’ll be able to see it.

For what it’s worth,
m/joseph

23 03 2008
Joe

Great idea Mario! How did you ever come up with this idea?
Just kidding. This is a much better way to do the links.

23 03 2008
Wax Heaven

You certainly did bring to my attention the old links section was not working. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

