2008 Upper Deck review

1 03 2008

“Jaw-dropping photography”

I returned to collecting in late 2007 when Upper Deck’s flagship release had come and gone. To be quite honest, I wasn’t very pleased with ’07 Upper Deck but catching glimpses of cards from other bloggers who busted ’08 had me dying for a box of my own to bust. Having finally arrived to the only near-by hobby shop in my area, I busted my first 2008 release of the year.

Design: B+

I remember last year’s product having great photography but being somewhat held back by a white/silver border on each card. Well, the good news is the borders are gone and the photography is spectacular. The bad news? You can’t read the name on the cards as quickly as you should.

Price: A-

For $69 you get all the stars, nice inserts, and best of all, three guaranteed “hits”. A lot of people complain about over-priced hobby boxes but this one is perfect. I could bust a box of Upper Deck for the next 50 years of my life and never get tired. The “hits” were a little questionable, though…but I wasn’t expecting Ken Griffey Jr. or Albert Pujols, either.

Pulls: A

I could not say a bad thing about this section. I got all the stars, prospects, and even some classic players (Babe Ruth). The hits weren’t the best, but Grady Sizemore is a great player, for sure…just not something to write home about.

Overall: A-

What a great way to start my 2008 collecting! Beautiful photography, great insert design, all the big name players, and tons of cards to add to my collection. I am extremely happy with this purchase.

TO SEE A FULL SCAN OF THE PULLS, CLICK HERE


Actions

Information

2 responses

1 03 2008
morineko

Dude, you pulled J.J. Hardy and Grady Sizemore. I wouldn’t complain. (My pulls, IIRC, were Takashi Saito and Chin-Lung Hu. Must scan…later….)

2 03 2008
JT

I don’t like the ’08 Upper Deck. I really really don’t.

Leave a Reply

