2008 Topps Heritage review

1 03 2008

“You damn sneaky bastards!”

Okay, the same company that robbed me of a relic last year pulled the wool over my eyes yet again. In the box, I pulled what I first thought was a game-used bat of the legendary Mickey Mantle. Blinded by excitement, not to sell and make big bucks but from hitting collecting gold, it turns out the actual card is an “authentic stadium seat”. Oh my, I could rant about this for the next week but instead will enjoy the other cards I pulled, including my second Andrew Miller of the year.

Design: B

Like I wrote in my Topps Heritage preview months ago, I didn’t see what was so great about the 1959 design then, and holding the cards in my hands, I still don’t. It is still a great looking set, don’t get me wrong. I loved the Chrome cards in the pack the most and would have loved to pull a couple of Refractors.

Price: B

$74.99 for a ton of cards and one relic or autograph “on average” is not the best deal in the world. Of course, many pay less than that but the review is for this specific box. For that price, a guaranteed relic or autograph per box would have raised the score one grade level.

Pulls: A

I pulled a couple more doubles than I would have liked but getting two hits instead of none at all really helped this box. There is some kind of rush to get all the short print cards and I imagine I pulled a few but really that does not appeal to me much. I pulled all the big stars, a couple of hits and some nice inserts, and to me that is all that matters.
Overall: B

Yes, Upper Deck scored higher than Heritage but it is still a whole grade higher than last year’s effort and to be completely honest, 2007 looked a lot nicer than  ’08 does. It still is a great grade for this product and you can bet I will be first in line for next year’s product, if they choose to continue the line.


Actions

Information

3 responses

3 03 2008
jasonhartigan

Oh well, so it’s not a bat but it’s still way F-ing cool.

14 03 2008
alan niester

is it just me, or are some of the photographs in this set kinda weird?

13 04 2008
Jim Wyroba

I really Love the 2008 Topps Heritage. I own the real 1959 Topps set of 572 cards. Topps tries to make some the photos look like vintage pictures like in 1959. You would think that with 500 cards s few guys like Curtis Granderson (20-20-20-20) or Kenny Rogers could of had a card. I hate the team cards that include that useless strip with the team name or logo. The tigers team has had that crap the last three years at it looks LAME. There are too many short prints. check out some tigers cards at: http://members.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewUserPage&userid=tigerjim13

Leave a Reply

