Worst box breaks…ever.

26 02 2008

A Collector from North Carolina and reader of Wax Heaven recently went to his local shop which he has frequented for close to a decade and bought a box of 2008 Topps jumbo (2 guaranteed relics), a box of 2007 Bowman Draft Picks & Prospects (1 guaranteed autograph), and a box of 2007 Bowman Chrome (one guaranteed autograph) and busted all three boxes at the store—and pulled a total of 0 hits. Nothing at all, not even a Michael Bourn auto that is in every single box ever made in 2007. To make matters worse, his box of Bowman Chrome & Bowman Draft Picks & Prospects had a total of 3 refractors between them. You know, this might be the worst luck ever in the history of busting wax.

After contacting Topps’ customer service, a package was sent to his home the following week which contained three autographs, a missing relic, and even better…21 Bowman Draft Picks & Prospects refractors of players like Jay Bruce, Cameron Maybin, Evan Longoria, and others.

For once, I believe the big companies got it right. Instead of giving another collector the run-around, they fixed the error and kept another long-time collector from giving up on the hobby. Great job, Topps! I hope that other company is reading.


Actions

Information

10 responses

26 02 2008
The Infamous Tatiana

That is pretty poopie luck, but at least Topps did the right thing. What I wanna know is, how did the manage to screw up on all 3 boxes? Damn.

Topps did screw up majorly for 2008. Their design for series one and Topps Chrome is horrible. I am looking forward to Upper Deck.🙂

26 02 2008
whatthehellme

I agree that the Topps design is bogus this year-It looks like something you might pull from a cereal box.

That is crazy that Topps did that for him-that is the kind of story that will keep people collecting.

26 02 2008
Joe

Hey! I like Michael Bourn and think he will be a very nice player for the Stros this season…

26 02 2008
Mario C.

Joe, where the heck where you when I was trying to get rid of this lot?

https://completist.wordpress.com/2008/01/25/saying-goodbye-to-michael-bourn/

26 02 2008
Tony - The Football Card Blog

I’ve had luck with Donruss sending some jersey cards after I didn’t get any in a couple boxes (I had already thrown out the first box, so I didn’t have the batch #, and when I bought another box so I had a batch # to send, I got another box without the jersey card)–they weren’t as good of cards as Topps sent, but they were responsive. They also said that they would fix an autograph card that I got without the autograph–although I never sent that in.

26 02 2008
cardjunk

Lousy quality control but great customer service – big ups to Topps on this one.

26 02 2008
Steve G.

Good for him! I’m glad somebody is getting results from Topps. It’s better luck than I’ve had with Topps lately. The Darren Clarke saga is still unanswered by them.

27 02 2008
Justin

Boy, those boxes better have been still in the Topps shrink wrap or I would have been mighty suspicious of that dealer. I could see one box, but three in a row? That’s an incredible string of bad luck.

27 02 2008
Joey

Wow, three boxes back to back to back with no pulls. That sounds like it might be some kind of record.

27 02 2008
Jbob

Hmm… Almost make you wonder more about the store that sold them.

Leave a Reply

