The Top 5 Oddballs of all-time

25 02 2008

Last week I wrote a piece about “Oddball” brands and the prejudice collectors who own such cards face in trade negotiations. You can read my piece here. Once again, David from Cardboard Junkie has opened up his vast collection of baseball cards & knowledge and has put together the definitive, official top 5 Oddballs of all-time exclusively for Wax Heaven. So without further ado;

#5 – 1981-1988 Drake’s Big Hitters

A nice regional set full of sluggers that was originally inserted in packs of snack cakes. The sets have a cool oddball feel to them on the front, but have the classic Topps backs.

#4 – 1982 K-Mart Box Set

This was one of the first victims of the mass overproduction of baseball cards in the 80’s. On the other hand, everyone had at least one set and the classic Topps cards were a great lesson in card history.

#3 – 1988 Panini Stickers

The best designed sticker set of the 80’s hands down. The design was attractive and actually had the players name on the front so there was no guessing who it was. There were also special foil team stickers, lots of detailed stats and information in the album and best of all, no tiny half stickers.

#2 – 1988 Pacific Legends

A very simple design puts the focus on the player and not the card. The set is packed with both superstars and fan favorites, and the Mickey Mantle card was selling like mad for 25 bucks each at a card show I attended in the late 80’s.

#1 – 1983 Donruss Action All-Stars

In my opinion, the best design of a card in the 80’s. The double sized card is able to hold both a huge portrait and an action snapshot, and the maroon borders and gray background with the repeating team name is better than anything else by far from that time period. The statistics on the back are also king sized and incredibly detailed, something that really meant something in the days before the internet.

Agree or disagree with this list? Did we forget your favorite oddball?
Cardjunk has busted a pack of Panini Stickers at A Pack A Day for this blog. You can check it out HERE.

Actions

Information

8 responses

25 02 2008
Greg A.

OK who wants some ’83 AAStars? I got a pile of ’em for trade! 🙂 All but a few players available!

25 02 2008
jasonhartigan

I have all too many of the Pacific Legends. They sat on a shelf where i got cards when i was little. Looking at them now, there not so bad, but i never could get a trade for any of them in the day.

25 02 2008
Joe

You hit both of my top picks 82 K-Mart and 83 Action All-Stars. I bought 5 boxes worth of those 83 cards when they came out. Every time I cut some grass or did odd jobs around my town I bought packs.

GregA. get in touch with me on my site about any Reds cards you have for trade.
http://redscards.blogspot.com

25 02 2008
Hoiles

The Pacific Legends set was awesome, great introduction to old-timers and history. Where else can you get cards of Ruth, Aaron, Mantle and “legends” such as Virgil Trucks and Joel Horlen in the same set, all for under 20 bucks? Absolutely horrid airbrushing on some of the black-and-white photos, though.

25 02 2008
mmosley

I proudly had 4 out of the 5. No Pacific legends for me. If it wasn’t at K-Mart, I didn’t get it.

27 02 2008
Justin

The Permagraphics credit cards from 81-83 will always be my favorite. Followed by the many years of Kellogg’s 3-D cards. I loved those and still do. However, I remember cutting down a set of those K-mart specials so it seemed I really had the cards I wished I could afford. Unfortunately, I was eight in 82′ and my dollar a week allowance kept me short on that 62′ Mantle.

27 02 2008
cardjunk

Ha! Someone else out there cut out the Topps cards on their K-Mart set! I thought I was the only one goofy enough to do that. That’s AWESOME!

27 02 2008
ManOfSteal

What a great list! I knew that Rickey was included in most of these sets, so you inspired me to create a post on the Rickey cards in your top 5, which I just put up tonight.

Leave a Reply

