Have you or anyone you know…

22 02 2008

ever been a victim of ‘Hobby Shop Ridicule’?

My name is Mario Alejandro and I have suffered through H.S.R for the last twenty years of my life. In the late 80’s, every single baseball card store I ever walked into never failed to make a joke about my favorite player.

1989 – Florida Sports Cards

Mario [age 10] – Excuse me, sir….do you have any Jose Canseco singles?

Owner [age 40+] – You mean to tell me you collect that jerk? Yeah, I got two or three, right next to huge stack of Darry Strawberry cards. That guy is going places!

That is just an example of the pain I went through as a kid, teenager, and yes, even as an adult, anytime I would walk into a baseball card store and ask the owner if he by some miracle, carried cards of Jose Canseco. Over the years, after a ball bounced off his head, he destroyed his arm pitching, got arrested 2-3 times, and bounced around from team to team, the reactions got worse and worse. It seems like I am destined to go through this ordeal, even years after Jose’s last game. Why couldn’t I just collect Ken Griffey Jr.?

I know I am not alone here. There has to be someone else in this hobby who has gone through the same struggles that I have endured. If you are that one guy who was snatching up those Michael Vick cards after his arrest, I want to hear from you. If you are that one collector looking for every card ever made of Tony Philips, now is your time to speak! Or if you love Albert Belle & Barry Bonds and don’t care what the world thinks of you, this is your forum.

I don’t want to be the only one suffering from H.S.R any longer.


Actions

Information

7 responses

22 02 2008
Joe

Let’s just say I collected Barry Larkin along the southern border of Brave’s Territory. I have even had to put up with the Brady Anderson type questions after his “Monster” season of 1996.

22 02 2008
JRJ

The hobby shops are going extinct and they have no one to blame but themselves. (I’m generalizing here) Each one I’ve been to over the years is full of a pompus owner behind the counter who claims to be the only expert, rarely negotiates below Beckett book value, and doesn’t care what your opinions are.

A hobby shop should be more than a place to buy a pack. It should be a place to discuss the hobby, the sports, and state opinions.

I think that’s why they are going away and cool blogs like Wax Heaven are growing.
http://sportslocker.blogspot.com/

22 02 2008
cardjunk

Back in the 80’s I really wanted cards of Bob Uecker and the card shop I went to looked at me like I was a Martian. I’d ask and they wouldn’t have a clue who I was talking about even though he was all over TV at the time. It kills me too, because I could have picked them up for 25-50 cents instead of the 20-50 bucks they seem to go for now.

There was also a shop owner who would tease me about collecting Falcons at Georgia Bulldog players as well. “A Falcon and Bulldog fan? In GEORGIA?? No way!” He was a really cool guy though so I happily put up with the abuse.

22 02 2008
whatthehellme

Having Jose Canseco as your favorite player, you have to listen to alot of shit at the card shops–I had enough of it, I started taunting the naysayers telling them about the amazing cards I sold to get new Canseco cards-cards that they wanted, but since they didn’t like Canseco, they had nothing I wanted.
That would irritate the shit out of people.

22 02 2008
JT

I’ve had some shop owners snicker when I buy “oddball” sets, like the old Topps All-Star glossy cards that came in cello packs. I got both the 1983 and 1984 sets, I think a buck each. Were they worth it? To me they were, and that’s all that matters.

23 02 2008
Brian

big Braves fan here… the usual, Chipper, Smoltzie, Glavine and Maddux in their day… but my super collection is………. Adam LaRoche.
I get odd looks then, and usually a “Who?”. Not many baseball fans up here in Calgary.

16 05 2008
stampman12345

I collect Michael Vick because he was my Dad’s favorite player and I collect Doug drabek and Bobby Thigpen along with Jim Everett and people look at me like they have no idea who I am talking about. My card store owner lets me know if a decent card set or box is coming and nholds it for me. Some card store owners do look out for their customers but some make the hobby hard for us people that dont have mega bucks to spend.

Leave a Reply

