The Bench 1, Beckett Message Board 0

20 02 2008

I am shocked that even with close to 1,000 posts under my belt at the Beckett Media Message Boards, I still have to walk on eggshells when I post because of some of their members who live for no other reason than to ruin people’s fun and/or start flame wars in each and every topic. So while I chose to slowly walk away from B.M.B., I quickly joined another one thanks to a recommendation from a reader of Wax Heaven. What I have found so far at The Bench are people who not only love this great hobby, but are also nice, sensible human beings, something that is rare on Internet message boards.

Keeping with the theme of caring, The Bench has set a goal to collect the entire set of Upper Deck Yankee Stadium Legacy. Yes, every single one of the 7,500 cards! Once that set is complete, they plan on throwing it up on eBay and will send the proceeds to ‘The V Foundation Cancer Research‘. That is one hell of a goal and having joined The Bench this morning, you can be sure that I will help out any time I pull one of the cards.

How can you help? Register for a FREE account with The Bench and send in your Yankees Stadium Legacy cards, add them to your MySpace, and check out the official website.


Actions

Information

5 responses

20 02 2008
cardjunk

The Bench is a good board. It doesn’t have all the drama of other boards. I’ve had an account there for quite a while but I don’t check it as much as I should.

20 02 2008
1st40/40

well now that your on the bench we can strike a deal for them Jeter’s you wanted and any Canseco I have you need for whatever Canseco you have I need.. gotta get my 20 trades in on there so I can have the option to post sale threads…

20 02 2008
JRJ

I think the Beckett blog has suffered since Elon left a couple of months ago. They do about one post a week now… at the most.
http://sportslocker.blogspot.com/

6 08 2008
Brad Wackerlin

Mario,

Check out what is happening at:
beckettmb.proboards55.com/index.cgi

Lots of old board members are getting together and creating their own board. It’s going great so far, over 400 members in 3 days. Just like the old Beckett board, but with some improvements too.

The Bench is great, but as a former Beckett boarder, you’re going to like this site a lot! Hope to see you there soon.

6 08 2010
biorSette

Houston, TX – The Houston Texans signed Andre Johnson to a two-year contract extension on Thursday, a see to that, according to the Houston Account, makes him the highest paid major receiver in the NFL.

Johnson, 29, led the NFL in receiving yards the last two seasons and had five years and $35 million remaining on his existing contract.

The Chronicle reported the extension to be quality $38.5 million, including $13 million guaranteed. On normal, Johnson resolution now turn $10.5 million per year over the next seven seasons, not including display incentives.

“I without exception said I wanted to act since one cooperate, and to be gifted to give representing the Houston Texans to my healthy trade is a tremendous honor,” Johnson said. “I always said I wanted to be business of something special, and I knew that coming to a late classification, things were growing to be a little raucous in the creation, and with it I have a hunch like things are engaging that turn with a view us.”

The University of Miami-Florida work has fagged out his entire seven-year pursuit in Houston after the Texans selected him with the third overall pick in the 2003 NFL Draft.

Johnson has recorded back-to-back 1,500-yard receiving seasons, including a 101-catch, 1,569-yard operations last year. He also scored nine touchdowns in 2009 to up his craft mount up to to 42 TDs in 102 games.

“After the mould two years, no person has played to the level that this infantile man has as protracted that I’ve been round, other than the same other cat,” said nut coach Gary Kubiak. “What he’s been doing has been special, and there’s a plight more to come. So, that’s prospering to be exciting.”

He has caught 587 passes for 7,948 yards over the course of his calling, no more than two of the numerous confederate records he owns.

Leave a Reply

