Wax Heaven expansion?

7 02 2008

Lately I have been considering adding Basketball & Football to the menu at Wax Heaven. At the same time, it’s hard to ignore Golf as a serious contender of Sports Card coverage when cards like THIS keep making headlines. The card is a Sport Royalty insert from 2007 Goudey, add to the fact that it’s an authentic signature of superstar Tiger Woods and watch as the bidding explodes.

I pulled a Nolan Ryan Sports Royalty, minus an auto and it books for a surprising $25. With 23 bids and 2 days left, you can expect the card to hit $20,000 by the end of the auction. Simply amazing….one of these cards could have paid for my car, student loan, and 100 boxes of ’08 baseball wax.


Actions

Information

7 responses

7 02 2008
Russ

This is surprising because the last one of these I saw that sold was in Dec. for “only” $11,500.

8 02 2008
Greg A.

I say GO for the football (and golf). I’m not much for hoops myself, but I still have some 79-80 Topps in decent shape to trade…

8 02 2008
JT

Just remember that expansion hurt baseball. Keep that in mind.

8 02 2008
Mario C.

Good point, JT.

I think instead of a full expansion I will do occasional posts about other posts when the time is right. For example, the Eli post after the Super Bowl.

8 02 2008
whatthehellme

Thats probably the way to go.
Most of us are here because of the baseball talk, occasional off topics have been cool, but there is enough to talk about in baseball nowadays.

11 02 2008
Golf Club Rental

Wow, that’s amazing! I’m not privy to all that’s going on in the sports card industry, but those are some sweet looking cards. Are the prices per pack reasonable?

11 02 2008
Mario C.

That specific card came from a pack of 2007 Upper Deck Goudey. I bought an entire box with maybe 16 packs for $110. My luck wasn’t as good as that guy’s, though.😦

Here is the review;

https://completist.wordpress.com/2008/01/18/2007-upper-deck-goudey/

Leave a Reply

