Heavenly Collections – Babe Ruth

26 01 2008

I’ll say one thing about Francis, he has testicular fortitude. After all, when choosing a player to collect most of us go for the hometown hero or home run slugger of the moment. He on the other hand chose the all-time greatest, Babe Ruth! In just a decade of collecting he has managed to bring in 41 game-used Babe Ruth cards into his collection, all of which can be found in his bucket.

As you can see here, I am just trying to get my hands on one of these bad boys before 2010 rolls around.


Actions

Information

7 responses

26 01 2008
whatthehellme

From one player collector to another—you have an amazing collection!!!!!!!
Those are some really great cards.
One thing people fail to realize with a collection like this is that you most likely had to fight for every card in your collection, and you won!
There is unseen desire and will that lays behind the scenes of every player collection out there-escpecially Babe Ruth.
Congratulations on your collection and thank you for displaying it on this website, it deserves to be admired.

26 01 2008
francisjniskey

Thanks for the comment. It is greatly appreciated. If I ever get bored I may start scanning the vintage and newer cards I have of his. It will be a very time consuming effort but I think it will be worth it. I am like a little kid every time I get a new Ruth for the collection. I am more then happy to share them with everyone. Thanks Again

26 01 2008
whatthehellme

Francis, I have a collection of Jose Canseco cards-141 different autograph cards, 180+ game used cards, and 12 1/1s-It took me almost 6 months to scan every card into the computer and make a DVD slideshow.
Yes, it is very time consuming but it is worth every second when you have the finished product.
Good luck with the scanning.

26 01 2008
The Infamous Tatiana

I am IN LOVE with the Throwback Generations card. Wow. The Babe, Donnie Baseball, and Jeter all on one card. *melts*

26 01 2008
francisjniskey

whatthehellme- I think I’ll give it a shot and start little by little the next time I am off of work

theinfamoustatiana- That is also one of my favorite cards. I think the theme behind it is that they were all Captains on the Yankees. There is another one I have been trying to pick up that came out the following year that is a triple game used of Babe Ruth, Ted Williams, and Willie Mays from the same set. I love those Multi-player game used.

27 01 2008
The Infamous Tatiana

I happen to be a huge fan of Derek Jeter, so that’s the secret behind my love for that card. It is… wow. It’s just really nice. If you happen to find a double of it, toss it my way.😉

16 09 2008
Babe Ruth Baseball Cards

That is indeed an amazing collection. I am a collector, too

Leave a Reply

