They tried to make me go to rehab

22 01 2008

I said no, no, no.

Baseball Card rehab, that is.

Just when it looked like things could not get any better my world crashed down on me, financially. Apparently, I have not made a car payment in a couple of months. Also, my student loans haven’t been getting paid as well. It looks as if I will not be buying any ’08 wax until my payments get back on track. This really sucks because I was planning on getting a box of Bowman’s Best on the 30th of January but instead I have to make two car payments that day just to keep from getting my car repo’d.

As far as school, I was going to the Art Institute of Ft. Lauderdale for Video Production. I am thinking of maybe switching over to Photography and maybe getting my foot in the door of sports photography. Hopefully one day I can be that guy on the field snapping photos of Jose Canseco and selling it to Upper Deck. Oh, you didn’t hear? Jose is coming back!

So stay tuned to Wax Heaven. I might not be able to buy the newest, high-end products in 2008 but I am always plotting and there are still plenty of big surprises on the horizon….just no Bowman’s Best.


Actions

Information

11 responses

22 01 2008
onbaseautos

I feel like I need rehab to sometimes. I have an addictive personality. I feel like I need to buy cards all the time. If I had got into cards again before wife and kids came along, I would be in big trouble. Knowing I have to feed the kids keeps me grounded. It still doesn’t keep me from thinking about it.

23 01 2008
JRJ

Just another case of the man keeping us down!
http://sportslocker.blogspot.com/

23 01 2008
Steve G.

You’re not the only one. I’m about a month behind on my student loans, but I only have 1 more payment on my car and it is mine.

23 01 2008
whatthehellme

My wife tells me that if I put the same amount of time, effort and money in to the family as i did my cards, we would basically have the perfect life-It’s a little dramatic, but not entirely false.
Collecting is an addiction sometimes-thats tough to admit.
I find myself on Ebay everyday at least 5 times a day checking the “newly listed” portion of my favorite auction catagories, looking for the latest and greatest card that maybe no one else has seen yet.
And is there anyone else out there who has had a couple of drinks and then got on Ebay??!!
Never good!!

23 01 2008
whatthehellme

Let’s not forget how many times we have raced our significant others to the mail box to get our cards before they do-so there is no evidence and no explaining to to about how much you may have spent on those cards……..

23 01 2008
Mario C.

Oh man, I am glad that I am not the only one.
The way it looks now, I will be lucky to buy any wax during the first 6 months of 2008!

23 01 2008
whatthehellme

Yeah, I made a couple big Canseco Auto purchases to start the year, now I am in a card funds hole for the next little bit……But I still look everyday…

23 01 2008
Mario C.

I saw one of them, an autograph, right?
Yeah, I was watching that one.
Didn’t expect it to sell that high.

23 01 2008
whatthehellme

That makes two of us!!

24 01 2008
The Infamous Tatiana

A little rehab is a good thing. Just know I will help as much as I can until we get through this rough patch. Just give me lots of TLC, and this time… I don’t want some gay album.

20 03 2008
Rich

I just came across this post. I graduated from the Art Institute of Pittsburgh’s video production program. I also have thought about going back to school for photography. Weird.

Leave a Reply

