What is your “dream card”?

21 01 2008

We all have dreams. Unfortunately, due to life’s daily challenges we can’t all have what we want, when we want it. As a child madly obsessed with Jose Canseco all I ever wanted was his 1986 Donruss Rated Rookie. Unfortunately, the card booked for as high as $180 and never went below $80 until the mid-90’s, when I was able to pick one up for $10.

Today I have a great job but I have car payments, food to put on the table, and bills to pay. I can’t go out and buy a box of 2007 Bowman’s Best, the nicest-looking product of 2007. I wish I could. That being said, by showing a little responsibility and with the help of ‘Dave’, the guy who finds me rare Jose Canseco cards weekly at ‘Earth 2 Comic’, my baseball card store, I might soon be able to get my hands on my very own “dream card”, a 2005 Bowman Chrome Draft of none other than 2007 Rookie of the Year, Ryan ‘The Hebrew Hammer’ Braun.

Sure, I collect Andrew Miller but no one excites me more in baseball than Ryan Braun. First of all, he hit 34 home runs and 97 R.B.I  last year in just 113 games. What could he have done in a full season? My theory is that he would have broken Mark Mcgwire’s record of home runs by a rookie. That’s right, he would have hit 50 or more. Now, I’m not saying he will be hitting 61 any time soon but one thing I am predicting is that in 2008 he will out-homer last year’s Home Run King, Prince Fielder. Look at his numbers, folks. 200 hits, 20 stolen bases, and a .330 average is also not out of the question.

That is why the card picture below is my “dream card”. What is yours?


Actions

Information

16 responses

21 01 2008
dayf

My #1 dream card would be a 1954 Topps Hank Aaron rookie. #1a would be a King Kelly card from one of the 19th century sets.

A dream card that I might actually be able to afford is the 1940 Play Ball card of Casey Stengel when he was the manager of the Braves.

21 01 2008
Todd

I really want a George Brett Topps rookie from 1975. In good condition! I have most of his other cards just haven’t been able to pull the trigger for this one yet.

21 01 2008
oljoe73

I have never really thought of it as a dream card but having these two from T 206

Miller Huggins Hands At Mouth
Milller Huggins Portrait

would make my century. But I will settle for a 1963 Pete Rose

21 01 2008
JT

Pete Rose’s rookie card (1963 Topps), Mickey Mantle (1952 Topps), Ken Griffey Jr (1989 Upper Deck). I never have had the money for those cards.

21 01 2008
whitesoxcards

The Shoeless Joe Jackson bat card.

21 01 2008
Scott

Wow, that’s an excellent question. Any Babe Ruth relic card would be sweet. Trying to think of a card that, to my knowledge hasn’t been made, a Ruth relic with a jersey, glove and bat swatch, along with an autograph would be the ultimate.

21 01 2008
Ryan Cracknell

1997 Pinnacle TOTALLY Certified Platinum Gold #57 John Jaha.

I know, it’s not a sexy card but it’s one that I’ve seen only pop up once in my ten years of collecting Jaha. Gotta love those wacky late-1990s Pinnacle sets and they’re crazier parallels. Thankfully he retired right before Donruss got their license back.

22 01 2008
The Hub

To be able to hold a 1992 Bowman, Dickie Thon card close to my heart would be a dream come true. I believe eBay has one for 35 cents. A Jose Oquendo card would be pretty sweet as well.

22 01 2008
dayf

Dude, follow your dreams… buy that Dickie Thon card! You can also buy a lot of 4 Left Behind books for 99 cents at the same time and save on shipping.

22 01 2008
Russ

’54 Hank Aaron rookie
T206 Ty Cobb
’91 UD Hank Aaron Heroes Auto
and I’m about to buy the one card that has eluded me all these years because it was always way out of my price range 1989 UD Griffey RC

22 01 2008
scott

As of right now there is a BGS 9 2003 Bowmans Best Hanley Ramirez Red Auto on ebay. I wish I could get that to put next to my BGS 9 Bowman Chrome Gold Refractor and BGS 9 Tribute Gold.

22 01 2008
Tim Getsch

My favorite player is Orel Hershiser, and my favorite card of his is the 2001 Topps Archives Auto. It is a reprint of his 85 Topps rookie with a beautifully legible autograph. This was one of the first cards I won off eBay when I got back into collecting in 2003 after taking a 7 year break that started when I ran out of money in college. Now I have started a thriving online community that is striving to become the safest and easiest way to buy and sell sports cards. http://www.checkoutmycards.com

22 01 2008
Mario C.

Tim, I have checked out your site. When I get some funds in Pay Pal I want to scoop up all those Canseco singles you guys have.

23 01 2008
whatthehellme

Whats up guys, this is my first blog on this site-
I collect Jose Canseco cards and there are a few dream cards-
2004 Playoff materials tandem combo Arod/Canseco game used bat /10
2005 Sweet Spot Classic Signatures Black Stitch 1/1
Always look for them, never find em-Very frustrating

24 01 2008
Joel

’84 Donruss Don Mattingly. I always wanted that card as a kid. I’m starting to get back into collecting again since giving up in the early 90’s. I’m going to eventually get this card to fulfill my childhood dream.

24 01 2008
The Infamous Tatiana

Any Derek Jeter Auto. The 2007 Sweet Spots auto on a game used baseball would be amazing.

Leave a Reply

