Show me your bad autographs!

18 01 2008

I wrote a little blog near the end of the work day yesterday about a horrific-looking Sweet Spot signature and seem to have hit a nerve amongst collectors.

Russ, from the House of Cardboard pointed to my homeboy Manny Ramirez’ horrible penmanship. I have pulled a sample auto from eBay to see what he was talking about since I have no Manny sigs. In my opinion, it is not great but very unique, much like Manny.

Chris, a long-time reader but first-time commenter pointed to a forgotten classic from 1989 Bowman. He looks a little different today but check out Ozzie Guillen and his sloppy autograph, that is if you can find the little mess somewhere on that over-sized card!

My vote for all-time worst autograph comes from 2007 Bowman Chrome and a Red Sox player by the name of Carlos Fernadez-Oliva. Now, I came to America at 7 years-old and could not speak a lick of English but the one thing I did know how to do was sign my name so that can’t be Oliva’s excuse. Of course, if he turns out to be the next Manny Ramirez it really won’t matter how he signs his name.

If you have more bad autographs, send them my way and I will post them!


Actions

Information

2 responses

18 01 2008
Russ

That’s an earlier version of his sig and I even think that’s good. He had a really really nice one in the beginning around 1991 and it’s devolved since then. The thing is, since he joined the red sox and really in the past 2 to 3 years, it literally has become an “M” and a scribble that kind of looks like a lower case “g”.

18 01 2008
dayf

Here’s a link to my Castillo scribble:
http://tinyurl.com/39qfbj
I’ll look around and see if I have any worse.

Leave a Reply

