The war against…pack searching?

17 01 2008

We collectors are very passionate about our hobby. When a product fails to meet standards we write about it on our blogs, post topics at on-line message boards, and pretty much do whatever we can to make sure others don’t have to suffer going through, for example, a $400 pack of Sport Kings. With that being said, there is a phenomenon known as “pack searching” that has turned about 95% of the collecting world into a blood-thirsty mob.

Personally, I understand why pack searching would hurt the hobby. Let’s say my son, when he is old enough wants to begin collecting like his old (but still sexy) dad. Let’s say he goes out with mom to Target and buys three packs of Upper Deck Masterpieces and in those boxes a 40-year old Comic Book Guy-type had been there just minutes earlier and pack searched long enough to find all the “hits”. My son loses out and instead pulls a bunch of base cards. Will that be the end of the world? Probably not.

Personally, unless I am a set-builder there is absolutely no reason for me to buy retail. If you buy your cards from Target you are taking that risk and you should understand it. You should also know that someone might have come earlier and pulled the “hits” without cheating. It’s a double-edged sword. If you want to play, you have to pay and go with Hobby.

Check out these two funny topics. One is a guy that was “disgusted” by a YouTube video that shows how to pack search and the other is an idiot who came to the Beckett Message boards and bragged about pack searching and pulling two autographs. When people called him out on it, he edited him message but that did not stop the mob.

So what is your opinion on pack searchers?

Douchebag, anyone...?

(real picture of the YouTube pack searcher)


Actions

Information

32 responses

17 01 2008
Steve G.

That video made me ill. It’s guys like this that are making the hobby go south.

17 01 2008
Hoiles

Oh, it’s sleazy and pretty loserish but the way the hobby is with such an emphasis on serial-numbered cards it’s bound to happen. A reason why if I get something at the local Target it’s just the blasters.

17 01 2008
Mario C.

Looking at his picture, it’s hard to feel anger towards him….he looks like such a douche.

17 01 2008
dayf

“Picture the look on a 6-year old’s face when he goes into Target, spends his Christmas money on baseball cards, and gets absolutely nothing.”

This from a guy with a rainbow of X-fractors in their sig.

In the grand scheme of things, I’ll take pack searchers over internet drama queens any day of the week.

17 01 2008
packsearcher

THIS DUDE ROCKS!!!!! AND SCREW YOU MARIO. YOU ASSES REALLY NEED A LIFE.LMMFAO!!!

17 01 2008
packsearcher

copyrighted picture.better remove it. or law suit will follow.

17 01 2008
Mario C.

SUE ME, PACK SEARCHER

17 01 2008
chemgod

It’s funny I just touched on this today in my blog. I call them pack touchers (kinda like kid touchers). I said that there is a special place in hell for them.

17 01 2008
Todd

I hate Pack searchers, I used to do it but got out of the habit when I realized it really isn’t fair to the kid who is spending is hard earned money of a pack or two and might get something good. A curse on those who still do search!!

17 01 2008
packsearcher

I THINK MARIO NEEDS TO PULL HIS PANTIES FROM THE CRACK OF HIS BUTT. IM GLAD I PISS YOU PEOPLE OFF THIS MUCH. NOT ONLY AM I HELPING LITTLE KIDS AND OTHERS FIND STUFF THAT NORMALLY THEY WOULD HAVE NO CHANCE AT. I GET HUNDREDS OF EMAILS A DAY WANTING HELP BECAUSE PEOPLE ARE TIRED OF THE HOBBY CRAP. 100 BUCKS A BOX AND DONT GET 10 BUCKS WORTH OF PRODUCT. ITS NOT LIKE IM THE ONLY ONE DOING IT. BEHIND ME ARE THOUSANDS OF OTHERS. THE HOBBY WAS RUINED WHEN UPPER DECK WANTED TO CHARGE 150.00 FOR 1 PACK OF CARDS. AND AS FOR ME TAKING FROM KIDS, MY SON WILL GET “EVERYTHING” WHEN HE IS OLD ENOUGH.

17 01 2008
Mario C.

Panties from the crack of my ass? I was having fun. You threatened to sue and then blocked me on MySpace.
🙂

17 01 2008
packsearcher

I DID BLOCK YOU. I HATE STUPID PEOPLE. AND YOU FOR SURE DO NOT KNOW WHAT A LAWYER CAN DO TO A SMALL TIME DICK HOLE SUCH AS YOURSELF.

17 01 2008
Mario C.

By any chance, does your lawyer look like this;

17 01 2008
packsearcher

I CANT GET OVER THIS. LOL. “REAL PICTURE OF PACK SEARCHER” OMG IM ROLLIN. I KEEP EXPECTING “MORE DETAILS ON OUR 6 OCLOCK EDITION.HAHAHAHAHA

17 01 2008
Gleb

Packsearcher your a lowlife creep, your pic looks like a joke from an 80’s, and I could tell how bitter and confused you really are.
Do less threatening and go move out of your parents basement.

17 01 2008
packsearcher

ANOTHER HATER..HMM GO FIGURE. LIVE IN MOMS BASEMENT? LOL. THATS MY LINE. HOW COULD I BE BITTER WITH ALL THE FANTASTIC PULLS I HAVE AND DIDNT HAVE TO PAY FOR A CRAPPY HOBBY BOX. AND FYI. THE PIC IS RECENT AND THE 80s ROCKED. MORE LADIES THEN YOU WILL EVER KNOW. NOW TALK AMONGST YOURSELVES.LOL.

17 01 2008
Mario C.

I CANT GET OVER THIS. LOL. “REAL PICTURE OF PACK SEARCHER

The reason I put that it is real because readers of Wax Heaven probably can’t believe that anyone in 2008 can look like such a douchebag on purpose.

17 01 2008
packsearcher

LAME COMEBACK. IN CASE YOU HAVE NOT NOTICED THE LADIES LOVE US GUYS WITH LONG HAIR. SECONDLY ANYONE THAT GOES TO ALL THIS TROUBLE FOR UM….SPORTS CARDS. REALLY SHOULD THINK ABOUT GROWING HIS HAIR AND MAYBE GETTING A LADY BECAUSE YOU HAVE NO LIFE. I AM FLATTERED BUT DAMN DUDE. I DONT EVEN KNOW WHERE TO GO WITH THIS NOW.LOL. ENJOY YOUR PAGE.

17 01 2008
chemgod

Nobody like a mullet! I think kidtoucher ooops… I mean packsearcher, does this to impress the kids. It’s the modern age and offering candy just won’t do.

17 01 2008
packsearcher

SCREW YOU RUMPLE FORESKIN. I HAVE MY OWN KIDS AND STUPID COMMENTS LIKE THAT COULD GET YOU BITCH SLAPPED.

17 01 2008
packsearcher

AND ITS NOT A MULLET. ALL 1 LENGTH FOR THE LADIES TO GRAB ONTO.

17 01 2008
dave

That’s it, packsearcher. Teach your kids to cheat. Those are the kind of skills that you need to be a real winner in life.

Nobody has a problem with the theory of screwing over the card companies. That’s not the point. Its screwing over other collectors that people have a problem with. Of course, if people are looking for hits, they are idiots for buying loose packs at Target, but for many kids, thats the only option they have.

I have a seven month old son. When I teach him about collecting, I could care less about hits. My first step will be getting a few cheap boxes of 1987 Topps or 1989 Donruss and putting together a few sets. For kids, that’s what the hobby should really be about anyway.

17 01 2008
chemgod

Clearly I touched a nerve with that last post. At least it’s better, you know between me touching a nerve and him touching a kid. Good news Mario this comment thread might get you listed in the WordPress dashboard.

17 01 2008
packsearcher

THIS WILL BE MY LAST COMMENT ON THIS RETARDED ASS PAGE.I WILL KEEP PACK SEARCHING FOR MANY YEARS TO COME AND NO ONE CAN DO SQUAT ABOUT IT.IT MAY EVEN PAY FOR MY BOYS COLLEGE IF NEED BE. EXCELS PEOPLE SEARCH BOXES WHILE PUTTING PRODUCTS OUT IN THESE TARGETS AND SHOPKOS AND SO ON.. I USED TO FOLLOW 1 REP AROUND TOWN AND HE WOULD LET ME PICK ALL THE PRODUCTS AND ID GIVE HIM ALL THE HOCKEY STUFF BECAUSE HE WAS AN AAA HOCKEY PLAYER. I GOT SOME BAD ASS STUFF . I ALSO SPOKE WITH A REP IN SOUTHERN FLORIDA WHO OFFERED ME A JOB AND SAID EMPLOYEES ARE ALLOWED TO PICK PRODUCTS. I MAY END UP STOCKING YOUR SHELVES.LOL. GET OVER IT. ITS NOT THE END OF THE WORLD. FOR WHAT THESE CARD COMPANIES PAY FOR AN ACTUAL JERSEY IM SURE THEY MAKE A 1,000,000.00 PERCENT PROFIT. AND HOBBY STORE OWNERS ARE JUST THE PAWNS IN THE WHOLE DEAL.

17 01 2008
The Infamous Tatiana

Sweetheart,
I see you mentioned you had a son. I am sure your dick has never been touched by anyone but you, much less has seen the light of day. You are with out a doubt over thirty and still a virgin, and if you are in fact, not a virgin, it’s only because your very own mommy took it from you. Long hair is hot, but only a mother could love a face like yours.
As far as the pack searching, I don’t care. Truly. I don’t. For me, opening packs is all about the experience. I don’t care if I pull a relic card with Al Gore’s pubic hair. It’s no big deal. I feel like a kid when I open packs… watch our video box breaks if you want to see a 21 yr old woman turn into a 5 yr old within 10 seconds. Seriously, if you want to spend your entire life inside of Target feeling up on packs to see which one is a little thicker, go for it, dude. No one is gonna stop you. I sure as hell am not. I wouldn’t get anywhere near you. Hell, I wouln’t touch you with a 50ft pole. Your lucky I am even responding to your nonsense. In real life, I wouldn’t even know you exsist. So all these “women” you supposedly bang…. tell your mommy it’s okay. We all know what goes on between you two at night.

17 01 2008
chemgod

Whoa that is some seriously twisted logic. I bet he copies DVDs, steals cable (or satellite) TV, uses his modified gaming system to play copied games and uses his neighbor’s WiFi instead of paying for his own. Father of the year award. I’m also guessing divorced or never married if he has a kid but allows multiple girls to “use” his mullet.

17 01 2008
chemgod

Wow!!! Nice post Tatiana!

17 01 2008
The Infamous Tatiana

So much for the previous reply being your last post. Someone’s a little touchy. I’d show you how I look, but I don’t want to make you prematurely ejaculate in your pants. Phone sex, no sweetheart, I have far too much talent for that. A 50ft pole to your dick? No one ever mentioned that. I meant you in general. I probably couldn’t even find your dick, little white boys like you have microscopic ones. My 2 yr old is packing more heat than you.
I’m also certain I didn’t mention an orgasm when opening cards. I said I felt like a kid.
What is it with you and relating sex and children together? The next Michael Jackson? Jesus.
FYI, lovey: I enjoy being a cunt. Sorry if you can’t handle it.
Looking forward to your reply, deary. KISSES!!!!!!!!!🙂

17 01 2008
packsearcher

NUFF SAID!!!!!

17 01 2008
chemgod

This is certainly making my afternoon go by faster🙂

17 01 2008
Joe

I hate being late to the party. I have searched packs before. It is easy. I once did it in a hobby shop unconsiously. Two packs left and I was rubbing them with my fingers while talking to the owner. He got a puzzled look and asked what I was doing. I smiled and bought a pack. It had a Barry Larkin bat card. I then bought the other. Nothing. Go in around 10am and no one cares. I am cheap. So what? I do not do it all the time. Just sporadically. Being mad at people who do it is like being mad at someone who figures out how to pitch to A Rod. That is my humble opinion.

And yes, the 80’s rocked. It is no longer the 80’s.

Lionel Huntz? EPIC!

And Tatiana – that thing about small wee wees on white boys (except packsearcher obviously) is a myth. I will give you my girlfriend’s email so she can dish the dirt with you. Smootches!

17 01 2008
Mario C.

*yawn*

This guy is no smooth ladies man if all he does is hang out at Target next to the kiddies, which he seems to enjoy quite a bit.

I think it’s time to retire this topic. Pack Searcher, good luck with your music😉 , ahh, that’s too funny.

Seriously, no more drama. We have better things to do.




