My first eBay heartbreak

9 01 2008

When one door closes, another one opens.

I have always believed that when you want something you have to do whatever it takes to get it. For example, a few years back I was shooting a video with a friend who attends an art school and met this tall, gorgeous woman who put Angelina Jolie to shame. I did not know anything about her except that she had a fiancee who went to my friend’s school. Unfortunately, love had knocked on my door and there was no choice for me but to answer it. What I did not know is that this mysterious woman’s fiancee was not only a drug addict, but also a cheat. This tug of war went down like the 1989 World Series, me being the Oakland A’s and he being the San Fransisco Giants. It was a sweep, baby!

Well it’s two years later and we are now married and have a beautiful baby boy. I also now have the responsibility of proving food & shelter for not only myself but for two others and that doesn’t always allow for me to splurge on my vices like I once was able to. Somehow, thanks to Tatiana and my job, I was able to bust 20 boxes of wax in 2007. I would have liked to do 50! Every little bit of money I have left after paying bills goes to a wax box or two so it goes without saying that I do not have much spending money for a place like eBay because then I would probably end up in the poor house. Well, it just so happens that I had $21 on my Pay Pal account so I went to look for some nice Andrew Millers that I might be able to land in my collection when I stumbled upon what might be the #1 Andrew Miller card from 2007.

Not only does his autograph and picture look excellent but he is paired with a much more highly sought-after prospect by the name of Tim Lincecum. Luckily, the opening bid was low and with 4 days left it looked like it might sell for under $10. Luck would not be on my side however, by night time it was up to $51, way out of my range. This is where my “do or die” attitude got the best of me. For Christmas, Tatiana bought me a beautiful Fossil watch called the “Bentley” which allowed me to retire my 6-month old Ecko Unlimited watch that cost me $200. I decided to throw it up on eBay for 3 days instead of the usual 5 for $50 knowing that it would sell and I would have enough for the Lincecum and perhaps a couple of Jose Canseco cards!

Much to my dismay, the watch went cold. Out of desperation I put the opening bid at $30 hoping for some kind of crazy bidding war and again, nothing. Finally, one the third and final day it sold for $30 with 7 freakin’ people watching the auction. I was $2 away from the Andrew Miller card I wanted AND I sold my watch at way below after market value. Oh well, you win some and you lose some.

…and then this card came up on eBay this morning;


Actions

Information

3 responses

9 01 2008
Steve G.

EBay is your best friend and your worst enemy. I have, unfortunately been in similar positions on eBay in the past. After many lean times, as a direct result of this, I’ve learned to set a limit and stick with it. In fact, that led me to opening my own eBay store, so I could sell off what I don’t want and get what I do. It’s not perfect, but I’ve got it down to where the PayPal balance pays for almost everything.

10 01 2008
Joey

Ebay has been a thorn in my side this year. Between the constant testing they have been doing on the site to increased fees and store visibility being tinkered with I finally threw in the towel on my store at the end of December.

10 01 2008
morineko

Well, at least you still have one watch?

(Is Tim Lincecum still considered a prospect? Or is he the Giants’ #3 starter? I know, I know, he looks like he’s 12, but.)

Leave a Reply

