Here’s to 2008!

29 12 2007

I can’t believe 2007 is almost behind us. It’s been one hell of a ride, for me personally & professionally. In my spare time I began collecting baseball cards again and even created a baseball card-related blog. I don’t know how long this ride will be but I hope to make Wax Heaven the #1 sport cards blog in 2008. I am leaving to Orlando in a few hours and won’t return till early Tuesday morning, 2008. I hope every single reader and friend of Wax Heaven has a happy & prosperous new year. If you find yourself with spare time and find no updates for a couple of days, check out the archives. There are tons of posts (almost 200), product reviews, and video box breaks to keep you entertained for at least 14 1/2 minutes.

I can’t wait till 2008! It will be my first full year following baseball since 2001. I am excited to learn the new names, players, & stars. I also can’t wait to start opening up 2008 product so Upper Deck & Topps…how about a little discount on the wax? For the new year my three baseball-related goals are as follow;

Manny Ramirez – I hope Manny, coming off an excellent World Series performance gets his groove back. His 2006 & 2007 stats were scary, specially in the power department. I hope Manny just had an off year and is not entering full decline. I would like him to have another 2-3 good years before he retires and hell, a run at Hack Wilson’s RBI record would be a nice swan song for one of the most unique players of all-time!

Andrew Miller – I’ve had my eye on this guy month’s before he was traded to my home team simply because he is an extremely tall South Paw who just might be the second-coming of Randy Johnson. I hope that despite his inexperience and young age he finds himself a spot on the rotation of what will more than likely be the worst team in baseball next year, the Florida Marlins.

The Florida Marlins – This might be hard to explain properly but I hope the Marlins have their worst year as far as their record & attendance is concerned. It is time for those bastards owners to pack up and move to another state that will actually appreciate baseball. All South Florida is concerned about is their washboard abs and tans. There is not enough love for this great team and we deserve to lose them forever. Florida is just not a baseball town and it breaks my heart. I do not want to see another Cabrera-Willis-like trade ever again.


Actions

Information

One response

29 12 2007
Dylan

First, I would like to say thank you for Wax Heaven. I look forward to getting home from work everyday and seeing updates. It is now the only baseball card blog I have on my Safari bookmark bar. I hate when you don’t update it every couple hours or so, but hey I guess I have to understand…

Second, you’re going to love following baseball this year. Two years ago I got back in it while playing fantasy baseball and I’m now deeeeeeeeeep into following every team, player, and move made. Check out http://rotoworld.com/content/home_MLB.aspx for tons of player moves and a good baseball board. When I’m not here, I’m usually there.

Third, have fun in Orlando!

Leave a Reply

