Another ‘Bumgarner’ sighting in California

27 12 2007

It’s just a couple of days until 2008 and I am dying for a baseball card fix. White Sox Cards blog came through for Christmas but I need something in the way of Wax. I was thinking of busting another box of Bowman Chrome now that my local shop, Earth 2 Comics have the hobby boxes at $80.  So while waiting for payday I start scouring through eBay to see what the big pulls from that release are going for when I run into a Bowman Draft Pick card of Madison Bumgarner. I know, terribly name but check out the card itself!

I have always dreamed of becoming a big league baseball player and someday having some kid or grown adult marvel through their collection of Mario Alejandro cards but unfortunately, I have a non-baseball player name and it could never be. Thankfully, I have my baseball card blog which is almost just as good (cue sarcasm). Anyways, a rookie card can make or break you. For example, look at Griffey Jr.’s 1989 Upper Deck rookie card. It is a perfect photograph of the “kid” that has survived it all and is nearing 600 home runs and a certain first ballot Hall of Fame entry. On the other hand, look at Jose Canseco’s 1986 Donruss Rated Rookie. It is a miserable close-up of a 21-year old with a 12-year old’s facial hair growth and a look of confusion. See? A rookie card can make or break you so what does this do for Madison Bumgarner?


Actions

Information

10 responses

27 12 2007
Kevin Bumgarner

Well first that is a picture of a pitcher “right at the release point” for those of you who can’t explain it, it is called TORQUE. That would be described as someone putting a lot of effort, and stress into what you are doing. He will be fine no matter, if we get our kicks at the expense of an 18 year old kid or not. And by the way I think his name is pretty cool. Then again I would, I AM HIS DAD. Thanks for noticing.

27 12 2007
Mario C.

🙂

Thanks for the comment. It was satire. I am certain he will do alright and his cards are selling for hundreds of dollars on eBay already. You should be proud.

28 12 2007
John Setzler

That’s not an out-of-the-ordinary face at all for Madison. I photographed him through his high school and American Legion baseball career and saw it all the time… What you see is what you get, and He’s a great pitcher…

28 12 2007
dayf

Geez, you attract a lot of touchy people on this blog. I thought this was hilarious. I never get hate mail😦

28 12 2007
The Infamous Tatiana

Bumgarner, eh?
Thank GOD it’s not my name. I hate it. But then again, I’M NOT HIS DAD.
What a horrible face. If I pulled this card, I would cringe in horror… and then post it on Ebay. Hey, why not? I’d get rid of an ugly card and make a buck.
And if an 18 year old can’t handle critism or a little jab here and there… he will never make it… anywhere.

28 12 2007
Adam G.

More than anything, this card illustrates 4 fundamental points that may make or break Bumgarner:
1)Release point
2)Arm angle
3)Leg plant
4)”Go-get-’em” factor

Let’s start with the first point. Release point is good, not too high, not too low. Second point, arm angle seems to be 3/4, which can exert extra strain on a pitcher’s arm, but at 18 it’s a little late to mess with these types of things. Third, the leg plant looks stiff, so loosen up Madison with that leg plant. Extend that leg out just a little more, don’t keep the knee so tight, and your arm will last longer, you’ll get more extension on your follow through, and your fastball will look 2-3 mph faster than it really is. Finally, I like the look on his face because it demonstrates a competitive nature and a willingness to put everything on the line.
This card may or may not have the makings of a classic, but it’s a lot better than some other cards I’ve seen. Congrats to Madison Bumgarner and family. Good luck.

28 12 2007
John Setzler

It’s not hate mail🙂 Since Madison is a local, I just follow posts that are made about him🙂

30 12 2007
dmoody

take notice…madison didn’t respond…he could care less what you poor people write…he is the one with the right attitude…he doesn’t have to talk……hahaha

11 03 2008
Eddie Webb

I think the card is awesome. He is showing lots of effort in this pitch. By the way, Kevin, if you are reading this…Congrats!!!! My Girlfriend’s nephew played with your boy prior to high school. I would be very proud. I hope to catch him in Vegas in AAA. I will try to see him in San Jose during the summer.

9 09 2009
iamjoecollector

MadisonB: Make em say uhhhh!
MarioA: Uhhhh!

MadisonB: Na na na na
MarioA: Na na na na

Can’t believe they go their panties in a twist over your little post.

Leave a Reply

