Wrestling cards have come a long way!

4 12 2007

Back in the late 80’s and early 90’s my baseball card collection was threatened by WWF wrestling cards. The cards featured all the legendary superstars; Andre the Giant, Ultimate Warrior, and yes, even Hulk Hogan. Unfortunately, the cards only lasted a couple of years and they were never continued.

Well, it’s been almost twenty years and baseball cards of today are easily the best of the best when it comes to collecting and I have moved on from wrestling, with the exception of catching WWE Raw once in a blue moon to see who is the latest wrestler to die. This morning I was on eBay and was shocked what came up when I searched for the ‘Suicidal, Homicidal, Genocidal Sabu’.

Apparently Topps has been putting out some great wrestling cards that include not just worn patches of the best of the best but also certified autographs and refractors/superfractors! I would have never imagined the day you could pull out an autographed Hulk Hogan or Shawn Michaels card.

Perhaps my biggest shock came when I saw the autographed Topps release of child-killer Chris Benoit. It’s funny to me that I always felt bad for Chris for the fact that he was so short in a world of giants. I would have never imagined he could do something so horrific.

Unless I can get a box of something Chrome for under $50 I just don’t know if I will ever get back into wrestling cards. It still seems like an unproven market with lots of junk auto’s from Divas and bums no one cares about. I mean, if I am going to go out and waste my money it will be on Bowman Chrome, where you might pull the next Joba Chamberlain and/or the next baseball burnout turned real estate agent or part time carpenter.


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

