2007 SP Authentic

2 12 2007

“It’s about damn time!”

I went into my card shop with no other plans but to buy some Ultra Pro pages and came out with a hobby box of SP Authentic, one of the most appealing releases of the year, well at least for me. I fell in love with these cards when I saw their ad in Beckett but didn’t expect I would be getting one because of having to save for the holidays but the price was right so I took a chance and boy did it pay off!

Design – B – Maybe I am being a little nice because the base cards are really plain to me and the ‘Authentic Inserts’ that came one per pack were ugly and cheap-looking. What saves the design grade for SP Authentic are the gorgeous ‘By The Letter’ autographs/memorabilia cards.

Price – B –  Some might disagree but for $110 you get more than enough for any collector. Not only do you get two ‘By The Letter’ autographs but you get TONS of cards. A third “hit” would of scored the price an ‘A’.

Pulls – A – Man, I am so happy with my ‘By The Letters’ autographed Ryan Braun #’d to just 50. I also came away with most of today’s super stars so all and all it was an excellent box.

Overall – B – I wanted to give it a perfect grade but the design with the exception of the ‘By The Letter’ inserts was a bit uninspired. I recommend this release to anyone who can afford it, specially if you can find it under $100.

TO SEE THE FULL SCAN CLICK HERE


Actions

Information

6 responses

2 12 2007
Gleb

Wow, looked like a great box. Ryan braun pull must have been super jewish sexy, I’ll look into this and see if i can get a box a bit cheap(card stores around me/ebay?_?)

2 12 2007
Mario C.

Good luck!

Yeah, Ryan was my first ever nice “hit” so I was maybe a little too excited…

24 07 2008
Anonymous

Are the letter patches game- used?

24 07 2008
Mario A.

They are made specifically for the cards, so no.

26 12 2008
Anonymous

what was your other hit?

26 12 2008
Mario A.

It was so long ago I don’t remember except that it was junk.

Leave a Reply

